We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brandwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Brandwood
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overall a great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed our 6 night stay at Brandwood very much. The rooms are well decorated with modern wood furniture and brushed stainless fittings, the bed is very comfortable, the arconditioner works very well, and the bathroom has practical. An absolute bonus is that there is a washing machine and dryer next to the ice machine just behind the front desk which is fabulous if you're away from home for a long time as we were. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Our room was lovely and quiet with no traffic noise, and occasionally you could hear some footsteps above or the odd bump next door but the aircon was enough to muffle that. Google street view currently shows a cafe and jazz grill bar below the hotel, however the cafe is gone and the hotel is apparently going to use that space to put in an elevator. The hotel is situated right next to banks and a dozen or more cafes, restaurants and bakeries, and you can get a bus two blocks away straight to the Hollywood walk of fame area. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: There is a jazz bar and grill underneath the hotel so try and get a room not right at the front. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    67
    34
    16
    17
See reviews for
34
54
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Nice location, safe area. I agree with other reviews that the stairs are a pain, but I was prepared for them and they were worth the effort. The hotel and it's furnishings were full of character with a touch of class. Room was a bit small, but had everything you needed packed in a small area. The bed was very comfortable. Location was perfect with many restaurants and shops within walking distance. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor is very quiet, but more stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here and very much enjoyed the peace and quiet. Our room was clean and comfortable. The room size itself was a bit small but like I said comfortable. The decor was nice. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The stairs and parking were kind of hard with our luggage but we expected that from the reviews. The hotel was within walking distance of a great bakery and good steakhouse! We enjoyed the evening stroll before and after dinner. Can't wait to stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexLisa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

A nice, small hotel in a good location. Many restaurants, deli, coffeehouses on the same street, just a few steps from the front door. Room was clean and nicely updated, but on the smaller side. Bathroom was actually quite large.
There are no elevators, STAIRS ONLY (two flights) to the lobby and rooms. Staff was nice, although nobody offered to help with bags at check-in or check-out. You park in the parking garage behind the hotel and can use the back door for access. To check in, park out front, or pull up to curb and have one person stay in the car while you check in. Overall a good place to stay.
Try Damon's next door for great happy-hour bar specials and food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sj-jj-houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is in the quaint downtown Glendale. This hotel has the charm of a historic hotel with the luxury and comfort of a modern "big box" hotel chain. The renovated hotel is tastefully appointed with a comfortable bed, cute bathroom and cleanliness that was above par! If we need to come back to LA we will visit again. As other reviews said, there is no elevator, but if you are able bodies this shouldn't be an issue.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Bridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I liked this hotel and can recommend it to anyone who enjoys something a bit different than the chain experience. Our room was small but clean and well appointed. We didn't make a lot of demands on the staff but they were friendly and responsive with routine matters.

The location was great with easy, non-freeway access to Downtown, Hollywood and Pasadena. If you like to travel via the freeways, then the onramp to the 134 is a couple of blocks away.

We are in our 60's and in reasonably good shape so the stairs presented absolutely no problems for us. If you have accessibility needs or just don't want to walk up a flight of stairs, then the Hotel Brandwood is probably not the place for you.

We heard no noise from the jazz bar on the first floor. Noise from the adjoining rooms was no worse than your average chain hotel in this price range.

Room Tip: Second or third floor to the back have a view of the foothills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a rewrite/downgrade of a fairly positive review I wrote over 2 years ago. Bottom line: I'm not so enthusiastic about this place as I once was.

Why? Well, I stayed here again for two nights and realized that last time I had overlooked or forgiven the negatives. For one thing, the rooms are tiny and the walls are paper thin. I could easily hear my neighbor's TV and in the morning, the shrieking whine from their shower pipes woke me up! The bathroom has no shelf or any place to put your toiletry kit (even a small plastic bag); the room I was in had no closet or hanging space other than a former TV cabinet fitted with a bar so low that even shirts dragged on the bottom. The bed is old and rather saggy and the TV is from the 1980's. The clock radio was completely broken (they gave me another when I complained). There's no elevator and Jaxx bar/venue downstairs is still noisy (patrons of that establishment leave their cigarette butts on the ground right in front of the hotel's sign - "no smoking within 20 feet of this sign".)

Of course, you can't beat the price, the free parking (hard to come by in Glendale) and the location. And the staff were fairly pleasant and helpful. But if you can afford the other hotels nearby, I'd recommend you stay at those instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room, or a room at the back, away from the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glendale hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glendale hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale
0.5 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles North / Glendale & Executive Meeting CTR
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
#2 of 15 in Glendale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 15 in Glendale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Glendale Los Angeles
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Regalodge
Rodeway Inn Regalodge
#9 of 15 in Glendale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brandwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brandwood

Property: Hotel Brandwood
Address: 339 1/2 N Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA 91203-2303
Location: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brandwood 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exceptional hospitality at the historic Hotel Brandwood in the heart of Glendale, California. Our boutique hotel is ideal for guests who value a downtown location that is convenient for both leisure and business travelers. Stylish, European-style rooms provide intimacy and charm, and a full range of amenities including free parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Brandwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandwood Hotel Glendale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing