We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambiance”

Gennaro's Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Gennaro's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #165 of 453 Restaurants in Glendale
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: With a menu of classic Northern Italian cuisine, our chef will prepare an exquisite feast to satisfy every guest in your party while accommodating any dietary need including vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free and low-sodium. Compliment your meal with a selection from our extensive wine list including many fine Italian wines and over twenty wines offered by the glass. Let us prepare your favorite cocktail from our full bar or enjoy a refreshing drink from our Specialty Cocktail menu. Unwind with a drink by our fireplace and then feel at home in our classically decorated dining room or get some fresh air at one of our outside tables. From a romantic dinner for two to a quiet business meeting, whatever your reason for coming in we will make your experience memorable. Ask about our private dining and catering packages. Delivery available locally. Happy hour Monday through Friday from 5pm to 7pm. Live music Friday and Saturday from 7pm to 9pm.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Three business associates and myself walked here from the Hilton based on recommendation from the valet. Very slow night (Monday) maybe only three other groups where there. Wonderful classical guitarist was playing, which provided a great background music. Not so loud we couldn't have a conversation. Service was slow, so be prepared to have long conversation. I have a feeling this is deliberate, so patrons can enjoy a relaxing non-pressured feeling. Highly recommend the veal medallions and Peroni beer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LanceM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    3
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale
2 reviews
“This is by far the best Italian dining experience in Glendale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is by far the best Italian dining experience in Glendale. My girlfriend has been several times, but we ate there this past week for my first time and I was more than impressed! The ambiance of Gennaro's takes you back to a restaurant setting that belongs in Goodfellows... low light, cozy, family-style Italian-white-tablecloth seating and decor abound. The place buzzes with the murmur of casual conversation, mixed with animated banter and the satisfied sounds of satiated customers. We started off with the Fresh Melon & Prosciutto Di Parma, which is a unique and delicious appetizer of three freshly cut cantaloupe melons, draped in warm prosciutto... delicious! We shared the special of the day, which was a Chilean Sea Bass and also shared the Fettucine Verde, Calinga. Both were cooked to perfection, and the alfredo sauce (appropriately so) was the best I have ever had. Oh, how could I forget to mention the buttery garlic toast, which although it is supposed to be brought out first, was forgotten until our entrees arrived. This may sound like a mistake, but I was grateful, because the temptation to fill up on this delicious bread might have been to great to fully enjoy the rest of the meal. Overall a must-experience for anyone living in or visiting the Glendale area. 5-stars was an easy rating to assign to this fantastic establishment! Good luck to the new owners! Keep it on!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vlada1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average at best”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Food is average at best, service is terrible. Our waiter not customer friendly, viewed every request like a chore.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
916 reviews
596 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Quiet and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a very old school place. The service is slow however if your spending time with friends and not in a hurry you will appreciate Not being rushed. From 7-9 they have live piano music, there is a full bar, the bread is really good and the soup was amazing

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelshooter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I am picky about service and food. Especially if it's a special occasion. Gennaro's has seen it's ups and downs the last few years. I'm so happy that it is definitely on an up swing! My husband and I went to Gennaro's for our 20th wedding anniversary. We were served by Enrique. He is new and he is fantastic!!! He has personality, style, old world humor and confidence. His job is to make sure you leave happy and he takes his job seriously. He chose the Remoli Toscana 2011 wine for us. Deliciously smooth. He then chose a salad of spinach, pear and blue cheese which he split for us. We ordered the salmon and arichoke and also the scallops with capellini. Both were cooked to perfection. Gennaro's also had a wonderful Italian guitarist. He played and sang with a beautiful voice in Italian, French and Spanish. Very romantic, but not over the top at all. Simple and soothing. All in all it was a 10+ experience. This is not the Gennaro's of "last year". This new owner, Tony, partnered with waiters like Enrique and a chef that is excellent has brought this place back to life. Go and enjoy.. Fantastico!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Numberonemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gennaro's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Gennaro's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing