We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shawerma Chicken is the best”
Review of Zankou Chicken

Zankou Chicken
Ranked #20 of 456 Restaurants in Glendale
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“Shawerma Chicken is the best”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent place to eat, and it's cheap and healthy. I always get the Shawerma Chicken Plate with humus, salad, pita and the garlic spread they give you. I eat there, and I take one to go for eating later. I can't describe it, you need to try it yourself. I will return again and again it is right down the street from my house. Awesome place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank California_Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Always love to come here for a quick bite. Love their wraps. I specially love their garlic butter. Yum.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeybunny96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding Chicken”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I understand that good cooks in Armenia are "born knowing how to roast." Surely that is true. The chicken is tender & flavorful. You can get the size of order you want from small to large at very inexpensive prices.

It comes with a garlic butter for dipping & pickled turnips as a condiment.

I am glad they finally got iced tea, my favorite drink.

You order at the counter, they will call when your order is ready which is quite fast unless there is a giant line.

Big lines are possible. There is no drive through.

There are hundreds of Zankou's all around southern California.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The chicken is tasty, but I can't say that it is any better than any chicken I've ever had. And it certainly does not justify the price. For the money, I would rather have Dinah's chicken in Glendale. However, the garlic paste is very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoReCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Armenian food and a Great price”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place has beef, chicken, and vegetarian felafel with hummus, salad and pickled turnips.
The best meal is their half chicken, but for a lunch you can get their wraps. You can get more expensive Armenian food but none better. It is fast food but fresh and tasty. The only thing fast about this food is the service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyros7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zankou Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Zankou Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing