We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent local restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bashan Restaurant - CLOSED

Bashan Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: American, Fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Food is delicious, this is a very small restaurant with a limited menu but the food is high-level gourmet. Love it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LAIslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
burbank, ca
Level Contributor
295 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delightful Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

It was a delicious way to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. This small restaurant had been on our list since it opened and now wonder why we waited so long. The sashimi and pork belly appetizers provided a delicious preview of the superb main courses: salmon with a crispy skin and a very tender roast duck. Outstanding presentation and service. Definitely warrants return
visits.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodhoundBurbank_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
244 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“An excellent local restaurant in LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We went to Bashan for a birthday dinner with 5 other family members. The service was superb and the food was equally the highest quality, the slow cooked pork belly, the sashimi tuna and the fish with the crusty topping come to mind. We had the wines matched which is a really nice addition. And all at a most reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Friend and I had the 7-course tasting menu. Started with 2 amuse bouche bites. Courses were sashimi rolls (delicious and fresh), scallops (perfectly done), lobster risotto (so delicious, wish there was more than a small bite of lobster though), pork belly (good but not one of the best I've had), aged steak (okay), coffee tiramisu and chocolate bread pudding that tasted like warm lava cake. I forgot one course though.

Service was very good and the food were presented beautifully. Although restaurant is small, the layout is cozy but doesn't feel too claustrophobic. We will be back to eat more of the lobster risotto and scallop dishes - yum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelmoreSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic - again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Came back to Bashan to celebrate a birthday after 10 months. We didn't think that it could be as good as the last time, but it was. Spanish squid, lobster risotto and the appetizer special of veal sweetbreads were sooooo good. For main courses we had the duck (medium rare and oh so tender), the beef cheeks (no knife necessary, melts in your mouth) and the scallops (medium rare, great flavors). The wait staff was very nice, our waitress had a great personality. We brought our own wines and she was attentive to pouring and taking care of us. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank livasida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing