We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tight space, elegant food, pricey”
Review of Bashan Restaurant - CLOSED

Bashan Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: American, Fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kimberly, Idaho
Level Contributor
261 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“tight space, elegant food, pricey”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

10.9.2013 - I had the 3 course Tasting Menu. My fiancee splurged on the 5 course chef's selection with wine pairing.
My appetizer was grilled wild Spanish Octopus with Korean BBQ flavor. It was a tad too peppery for me. My main course was Roasted Duck Breast with wild rice, in a bed of Farro topped with pea shoots, chopped pecan and cherry relish. It was good. The duck was a tad salty to my liking though.
My fiancee had wild Fiji raw Albacore Tuna for appetizer. It was very delicate. His seared Main scallops garnished with Spanish chorizo and braised leeks was absolutely delicious. I couldn't stop "sampling" it. His Pork Belly "Teriyaki on crispy rice cake garnished with braised scallions and pickled apples was melt-in-the-mouth tender and flavorful. His main course was beef cured for 8 days? I took a bite just to taste, (not a big beef fan) but surprisingly impressed - it was wonderful, smoky crust on the outside, tender and juicy inside.
The final tab: $165.95 not including tips - pricey but it was for fine food, with attentive service and beautiful decor. Our server, Robert was very polished and articulate.
Bashan go all out elaborate in their food presentation - most courses come with fresh napkins on the charger. Check out my photos. Thumbs up to Bashan - 6 years now and going strong!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Kells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Grea Place, Great Food, Great Service, Lousy Hostess!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

You are greeted to this lovely restaurant by a shark of a woman who makes you want to turn around and leave. If we weren't meeting friends there, I would have. The rest of the evening was terrific.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank latool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Foodie Gem”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A delightful, cozy little neighborhood restaurant great for intimate special occasions requiring excellent cuisine provided by a first-rate chef.

Charming ambiance, no waits for a table, and attentive service.

Great value for cost, especially if fortuitously combined with the occasional GroupOn or LivingSocial promotional vouchers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A very special experience - intimate, friendly, and absolutely delicious!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Bashan is the perfect place to celebrate with friends. We've been twice and have been very satisfied and impressed each time. Most recently, three couples went for a birthday dinner. Everyone was thrilled with their choices and we each ate every morsel on our plates. We ordered: halibut, New York steak, lamb loin, the special filet mignon hamburger, spicy octopus, and duck. We took advantage of the corkage fee at $15.00 per bottle. If we had purchased one of their wines off the menu, one corkage fee would have been complimentary. The service was pleasant and very attentive. Because all three ladies were celebrating a birthday, all six of us were given a glass of champagne! We had a wonderful time and will definitely return when we want a special treat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
931 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Fine dining describes the place correctly”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were invited to a quiet family dinner at Bashan. A small but cosy place, where we could relax and be served very calmly at a good pace, carry on with the conversation without being continuously disturbed. Our server was very efficient, understood what we wanted and looked after us in a pleasant manner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing