We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but a couple weird flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Glendale
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This was my first time staying at the ESLA, and it is a very nice hotel. I was there for business for two nights, and was upgraded to 1225, a mountain view suite right in front of the elevators on the top floor. Excellent location right off the freeway, close to BUR, Studio City, downtown LA, Zoo, Hollywood Bowl and everything you want to do while in LA.

Staff is very pleasant, with the exception of the front desk which is mixed. I stood at the front desk to check in for about 5 minutes before being acknowledged or even eyeballed. Once in the room, which was clean and spacious, all was well. Only a couple things I would change:

1. TVs take forever to warm up. You think they aren't working--just turn them on and sit down and wait for a couple of minutes. They should pop on. This was an issue with both flat screen TVs--not sure if it is a Direct TV issue or what.

2. Elevators smell really bad. Like airport bathroom bad. A back office admin employee asked me in the garage elevator on her way home how things were with my stay and I mentioned "great, except the elevators all have a bad smell". She was surprised, but said she would say something. About an hour later, I returned to that elevator and it was obvious someone had sprayed it down. I was impressed she went ahead and made a call and had it fixed--albeit temporarily.

3. Breakfast average and typical for a ES--it's free and generally plentiful.

4. Happy Hour/Drinks are provided with what appears to be a full bar. Nice for many--but EVERYONE was ordering cilantro margarita drinks, and the line was really really really long, as the bartender was making them fresh. I'm sure they were good, but very annoying for those in line, especially those just wanting a beer or wine. They either need another bartender or need to cut down on the specialty drinks.

5. Internet is wired only, and not as fast as I would have liked. They were updating the internet when I checked out on 9/16, so not sure if they were increasing the wireless coverage. This is not convenient, especially in today's world with multiple wireless connections needed.

Everything else was great. It seems to be a very new hotel, with convenient, cheap (by LA standards-$15/nt) parking. I'd go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KansasCityGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

We recently returned from our trip to Southern California and enjoyed a couple nights at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and well-kept. We were on the eighth floor and didn't notice any noise from traffic, etc. The location of this hotel is awesome to enjoy all that LA offers. It's only about 15 minutes away (at most) from Griffith Observatory - we went up there both nights during our stay. Also, it's close to Hollywood. We enjoyed touring the Forest Lawn Cemetary, Hollywood walk of Fame, and I was in the Price is Right audience one afternoon. We also spent an afternoon in Beverly Hills looking at the stars homes (although most of them can't be seen well) There is an awesome park in Beverly Hills (Greystone Mansion) that was beutiful.

The breakfast was awesome here and is a definite advantage to choosing this hotel. The omelet chef will make a gigantic omelet for you, or you can have cereal, oatmeal, fruit or anything else. The happy hour was also great and we enjoyed beer/wine each night and some tasty hors d'oeurves.

The only thing I wasn't impressed with here was the gym - it's really, really small. But my wife who has travelled extensively tells me that's not unusual for an Embassy Suites.

Overall we were very pleased with this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank windsurfer5230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed at this Embassy Suites and I felt welcomed from the moment of checkin. Their customer service was amazing and we felt like home especially with their complementary breakfast. After first day the staff knew where we would sit, how many people and if we wanted coffee. We look forward to going back in April 2012.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an exterior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nelly65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I am a light sleeper so I don't like sharing a room with the kids. ;-) We typically only stay at hotels that offer 1 bedroom suites, so that my 2 kids can sleep in the living room/pull out sofa. My favorite hotels are Embassy Suites because they are reasonably price, generally look nice and because of the fantastic free hot breakfast. This hotel is located in a commercial/business district directly off the freeway, but there is a restaurant within walking distance. The decor of the hotel is beautiful. The lobby is large and open with an awesome koi pond with turtles and a few stepping stones. My kids loved it! Our room was beautiful and spacious as well. Granite sinks/expresso furniture. The gym is 24 hours and each piece of cardio equipment has an individual TV. (2 treadmills, 2 elliptical, 2 bikes, free weights). The pool was AWESOME!!! The warmest pool I have ever been in. I'm cold natured and don't really like having to get my body temp acclimated to pool temps, so I rarely use pools. The pool was unbelievably warm! The staff was nice and responsive. We were coming from the east coast so I woke up at 4:00 PST to go to the gym. There was no water in the dispenser. I called the front desk since their is a telephone in the gym and they brought water and extra towels. When we travel back to LA we will defintely always stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank areuready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel on a free certificate. The property has a very pleasant appearance and appear to be fairly new. It has rooms on either side of the isle, with one side facing the outside of the building (King rooms) and the other facing the atrium (double rooms). The double rooms are a bit cramped and narrow compared to most Embassy Suites. The two beautify flat screen TVs did not work. Signal would fade in and out and after a short while, we gave up. However, the hotel does have a wonderful breakfast. There is a parking fee of $15.

During checkin, I requested if an upgrade to a corner room would be possible. I'm a Hilton Diamond member and although an upgrade is not a privilege at Embassy Suites, when I'm travelling with my family, I ask for one to make the stay special. Typically a clerk would then check for room availability and either offer me an upgrade or state that none was available. Usually if an upgrade is available, especially late in the evening, one will be offered to me. I have been offered wonderful upgrades at hotels much better than this one. In this case, the response was rather rude. In a rather rude manner, the clerk stated that the rate for the corner rooms were $400+ per night. Perhaps she felt that my request was inappropriate and she had to take it upon herself to protect the interest of the hotel. Since her response did not directly answer my request, I have to surmise that this rather rude and untrained clerk must be having a bad evening. I was so flabbergasted by her response that I did not press further.

So, for the hotel itself I would give it a rating of 4.5, and for the service, a rating of 0, which results in a rather generous rating of 2. A service business has a responsibility to employ trained service professionals. In this case, the clerk was neither trained nor professional.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davelnca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Had the family stay here for 2 nights due to construction in our house in nearby Burbank.
The hotel was nice and I was suprised that this Embassy Suites had INTERIOR rooms with NO outside view..that was somewhat ok because we live here - not mentioned on the website.

What was NOT ok was the rude breakfast cook who referred to my wife as ( [--] and then some, in spanish) not knowing that my wife ( who is blonde with green eyes) understands spanish slang and bad words. I expressed my concern with Vincent who was great. With Glendale being a melting pot, I would suggest that the staff speak in one language and refrain form insulting their customers in a different language..Ed, Burbank [--] - looking forward to a call from the Hotel manager soon. I will also be making a corporate complaint on this- unacceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Glendale for a wedding we were attending at Occidental College on July 30, 2011. What a truly lovely hotel. Our two room suite was very comfortable and spacious. The lobby is beautiful and family friendly. They have a pond in the entry that has stepping stones to walk out and view the fish. In the morning we enjoyed a full breakfast cooked to order. Our stay at the hotel really enhanced the wedding and made it seem like a vacation weekend. Thank you Embassy Suites & staff!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale
0.1 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles North / Glendale & Executive Meeting CTR
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles - Glendale
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Brandwood
Hotel Brandwood
#7 of 18 in Glendale
181 reviews
3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Los Angeles Burbank/Downtown
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burbank Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale

Address: 800 N Central Ave, Glendale, CA 91203-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range: $181 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Los Angeles – Glendale, CA hotel provides easy access to I-134, I-101 and I-5 to get you around town. Located in downtown Glendale in the north Los Angeles area, you’ll be a few short miles from Universal Studios, Burbank and Pasadena. Business travelers will appreciate our proximity to many local corporations, in addition to daily complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and our nightly Managers Reception. Experience the warm colors, lush foliage and koi pond of our Glendale, CA hotel's atrium. Our gracious staff will introduce you to our many hotel amenities and your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Los Angeles/Glendale Hotel Glendale
Embassy Suites Glendale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing