We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best atmosphere, pricey”
Review of Olive & Vine - CLOSED

Olive & Vine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $75
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hill St.
Description: Olive and Vine Restaurant, nestled away in Glen Ellen, California, showcases the abundance of Sonoma County's seasonal harvests and local artisans. We are passionate about creating a perfect experience for our guests. The space is comfortable yet elegant, perfect for a romantic dinner or catching up with friends over wine and a great meal.Our favorite words: Life. Love. Food. Mangia!
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best atmosphere, pricey”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

lovely building, great staff, food was very good and portions were almost too large for just one. Being Feb 14, limited menu and expensive. John is the sommelier and he is excellent knowing how to pair what you like. Complaint if I had one is that the desserts were too rich....and definitely can be shared.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    43
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

As a restaunteur myself I cannot praise this restaurant enough very serious food carefully cooked great taste from mainly organic produce and naturally reduced sauces. Prices reasonable and the very present owners make you feel very welcome If in the dream visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jrosulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful restaurant”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The décor here is very impressive. The wine choices were better than expected. The owner of the restaurant was very attentive and made sure we were taken care of and enjoyed explaining the food. She is obviously passionate about what she does. For the meal it was really good, but not fantastic. I had the pork and my friend had the steak which she really enjoyed. There are so many choices in this area to dine, it would be difficult to say if I would return or try a different one. I think it is definitely worth going to once.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would have been 5 star if the menu offered a wider selection.”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Overall, a lovely meal with a fabulous wine steward, James, making great local recommendations. Everything we ate was quite good, but the menu is very limited and a bit on the heavy meat side. If you are a picky eater, you may have trouble here. Otherwise go and enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LZGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best restaurant in the Sonoma area”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

No reason to expect it to be this good. Of the Sonoma County restaurants we ate in on this trip, all quite good (Farmhouse, Glen Ellen Star, Glen Ellen Inn, Scopa, Chalkboard), this is the one we'll go back to. The large, high-ceilinged room is decorated in an interesting, inviting way. Tables are not too close together. Service is very professional and friendly but not too friendly. Wine list is interesting and reasonably priced. Everything we ate on 2 visits was delicious and beautifully presented The $25 prix fixe is a bargain. The husband and wife chef/sommelier/owners are more attentive and interested in their guests than I've seen anywhere. I wish it were closer to home! It would be good as a special occasion restaurant and as a neighborhood regular.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive & Vine also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing