We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three times visited and all were great”
Review of Olive & Vine - CLOSED

Olive & Vine
Price range: $30 - $75
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hill St.
Description: Olive and Vine Restaurant, nestled away in Glen Ellen, California, showcases the abundance of Sonoma County's seasonal harvests and local artisans. We are passionate about creating a perfect experience for our guests. The space is comfortable yet elegant, perfect for a romantic dinner or catching up with friends over wine and a great meal.Our favorite words: Life. Love. Food. Mangia!
Mill Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Three times visited and all were great”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Great ambiance with high ceilings and eclectic but well appointed furniture. From what I've gathered, the owners/chefs are a couple and are very entrenched in the Sonoma Valley wine scene. There is a lot of local farm to table goodness in their well-prepared meals. I definitely recommend you try if when you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbmoore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    43
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best dinner of the entire trip”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

With all the restaurants available in the Napa and Sonoma valleys, this one was a bit of a drive from Napa. But we're so glad we made the trip. Our waiter suggested a Kelham vineyard wine, and it went well with everything we ordered. The menu, though not huge, offers a wide variety of entrees - fish to pork - and although I stayed with a salad, I didn't feel as though I was settling for second best because it was absolutely delicious. We loved the ambience, the staff was available but not clingy, the meals were beautifully presented. If I didn't live so far away (Minneapolis), I'd be back on a monthly basis! What a wonderful experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreyRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food, ambiance lacking”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a great meal at Olive & Vine, focused on local, seasonal, fresh menu items. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. That's saying a lot, as the competition is tough in the small town of Glen Ellen. The owners have really tried to make the space inviting, however, the ambiance is lacking. The space just isn't cozy. We were seated by the front door of the building (not used as the restaurant entrance) and frankly it was uninviting and cold/hot as we were right on top of the heating vent. The side of the restaurant by the door was very cold. The space was constructed for retail sales, so no surprise that it is hard to make it an intimate dining experience. The restaurant has a lovely, large bar - but there was no one sitting there. If there was, the room would have had a bit more life and noise, which it needed to make it more comfortable.

I would recommend giving Olive and Vine a try if you have multiple nights in the area. Just be sure to control where you sit for the best experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular Experience!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wonderful location, setting and friendly hosts! The salads were so incredibly fresh and creatively assembled! The pork entree was delicious and the wine selection was a perfect start to a weekend in Sonoma. It felt like we were dining at a friend's home. Very special indeed!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenK20194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Faultless from start to finish”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is such a great restaurant. The menu is small and seasonal with a couple of daily specials, top quality local produce and a fantastic wine section.
It's clear that the owners have really thought about what they want to achieve not only in terms of food and wine but also having knowledgeable and friendly staff through to the decor of the building resulting in the customer getting a very pleasurable dining experience from start to finish.
It's not often that I can say every dish that came out was cooked to perfection but in Olive and Vine's case it was true.
Can't wait to go back the next time I am in the area - this could become one of my favourite restaurants anywhere in the world and I genuinely mean that - just don't tell everyone!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_P_Guin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive & Vine also viewed

Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing