We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just dinner”
Review of Olive & Vine - CLOSED

Olive & Vine
Price range: $30 - $75
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hill St.
Description: Olive and Vine Restaurant, nestled away in Glen Ellen, California, showcases the abundance of Sonoma County's seasonal harvests and local artisans. We are passionate about creating a perfect experience for our guests. The space is comfortable yet elegant, perfect for a romantic dinner or catching up with friends over wine and a great meal.Our favorite words: Life. Love. Food. Mangia!
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“More than just dinner”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

With a party of 6 and no reservation, we were very happy to find a table at Olive & Wine. The food was good but John, the owner, really made the experience. His interest in making sure we enjoyed Wine country was sincere and accommodating. John's help was integral to our trip and I want to send everyone to enjoy the establishment of such a great small business owner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    43
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Delcious Meal”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

After a drive up from Silicon Valley, a stop at a local winery and no lunch, we opted for an early dinner at the Olive and Vine. The dining room was lit with glass chandeliers creating a warm, inviting atmosphere. There was an extensive wine list featuring local Sonoma wines. Many of the ingredients also seemed to be local - the basket of fresh assorted bread was accompanied by sweet local butter. There was an open kitchen where you could see the chef individually preparing each meal. The preparation took some time but courses were promptly delivered to the table as soon as they were ready. Our meals were very good - I had the steak fiorentino and my wife the pan seared halibut. Both were skillfully prepared and nicely presented. The waiter was excellent as were the assistants who brought out bread, butter, water, etc.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GCorr7309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy and delicious”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our last night of our 20th anniversary in this cozy but delicious restaurant in our trip to Sonoma in September. The service was outstanding and the food was incredible. This place is a must and the price for the quality of food was top notch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieB201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food - Attentive Service”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a great spot. The kitchen is open and the dining room is warm and inviting. The food was excellent. The owners are attentive and gracious. We would definitely come again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charyl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Romantic Ambiance, & Nice Owners”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I found Olive & Vine while spending a weekend wine tasting in the area. We liked the restaurant so much that we went back the next night to dine again and listen to live music. The food was fantastic and we were quite pleased with the wine list. The live music was a nice touch and such an enjoyable way to spend a rainy evening in December. The owners were delightful as well. We will definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 415LizL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive & Vine also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing