We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gaige House + Ryokan
Nearby Hotels
Kenwood Inn and Spa(Kenwood)(Great Value!)
$295
$285
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$397
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Pueblo Inn(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonoma Hotel(Sonoma)
$180
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledson Hotel(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olea Hotel(Glen Ellen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
371
130
27
15
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
130
27
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszen suitezen gardenthe main housecookiesb bwine and cheesesoaking tubwine countrywine hourdouble showerquichecreek sideeach eveningmeet other guestsperson showerspa serviceswalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 546 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a trip to wine country. We were SO pleasantly surprised by both Gaige House and the little town of Glen Ellen. Gaige House has a bed-and-breakfast feel, but with modern amenities, and plenty of privacy. We stayed in one of the main house rooms, #11, which you walk outside to get to. We had a private little patio area with a gate so we could sit outside our room on our own if we wanted to. Comfortable beds, GREAT double-shower heads in bathroom, and a warm fireplace. There was also a comfortable window seat so you could enjoy the foliage outside. Even though it was February and evenings got cold, we still took advantage of the hot tub outside which was perfect for unwinding with a a glass of wine. Even better, they had a wine and cheese hour in the evenings where you could meet other guests of the inn and share wine/restaraunt recommendations. Our first night we walked to a nearby restaraunt- the Fig Cafe (amazing). We thought on our second night we would want to drive somewhere else for dinner, but we just fell in love with this little town and everything in it! Breakfast was also delicious, staff was amazing and helpful!

Room Tip: Room 11(queen guest room) in the main house was perfect, with a gated little patio area to enjoy. Great value!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked a room here for our VDay getaway and we enjoyed the romantic setting. The Inn is elegantly furnished in a contemporary Asian theme. Upon arrival and check-in, we looked for their famous afternoon cookies. The chocolate chip cookies were delish. The setting was idyllic and charming. We enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese tasting. We awoke to birds chirping and found it hard to get out of the comfortable bed. The breakfast was fabulous, with a nice selection of fresh pastries, poached eggs, bread pudding, homemade jams, etc. The coffee was great. Parking was convenient and coming back from dinner at night was a breeze. Our room and bathroom was spacious. We will definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Soulfultrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights at the Gaige House in Feb 2014. We had a wonderful time!

The Gaige House is elegant, yet cozy. And it's the perfect place for a romantic weekend! The breakfast is great and there is also a small wine reception every evening!

We can absolutely recommend the Zen Suites! It's not only large and stunning, but also has the best bathing tub we've ever seen (the large grey bowls you can see on their pictures).

Room Tip: The Zen Suites are stunning! We had a creek view and it was lovely!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed at the Gaige Inn for 2 midweek nights in January 2014 and had an amazing time. The inn is located in the small town of Glen Ellen. And by small, I mean really small. That said, there are three fantastic restaurants within a 1/2 mile walk of the hotel and the inn is thoughtful enough to provide a flashlight for the walk. Side note: In my opinion, those little thoughts are the type of things that make an inn a 5 star destination.

The inn itself is a small property with a few buildings. The main building has a few rooms, as well as a nice library area (that serves wine and cheese every afternoon) and a dining room. The breakfast is very good and different each day.

We stayed in the Woodside Suite. A very nice open room with a sitting area and a gas fireplace. The bathroom was particularly impressive, with a large metal tub and shower area. There was a back patio that was very peaceful, including lounge chairs overlooking a small stream.

While this hotel is in a small town, I would highly recommend its location. It is located about halfway between the towns of Santa Rose and Sonoma. And since it is what most of you are probably interested in... I would estimate that there are at least 30 wineries within a half hour drive of this location. Very centrally located.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectricMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at the Gaige House for 3 nights right after Christmas. We had a creek side Zen suite which was one of the most beautiful rooms we have ever stayed in! A comfy bed, a fireplace, a flat screen tv, a patio and the most incredible bathroom, with an enormous soaking tub made out of a solid piece of granite! Breakfast was delicious with plenty of options and always including a warm egg dish and fresh fruit.
We enjoyed our stay so much we are returning next month! Glen Ellen is cozy and quaint, about 10 minutes from Sonoma and about 40 minutes from Napa. The Gaige house is a wonderful, relaxing oasis for couples who need a few days of luxurious relaxation!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Travelnut1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews