We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing wine country getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Gaige House has a great location, away from the hustle and bustle of wine country, but not off the beaten path. It's super close to a ton of wineries and restaurants in/around Glen Ellen.

The room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. We really appreciated the B&B feel/experience - homemade cookies, attentive, knowledgeable staff, tasty breakfasts, etc. The woman at the front desk was particularly helpful when we needed some guidance on which wineries to check out in Sonoma.

The only area I docked was value, because I can't give 3.5 stars. It's hard for me to justify paying more than $100 a night to stay anywhere (I fully realize that's just being cheap and regularly pay much more than that to stay in nice/luxurious hotels). Comparing to other hotels, we found the rates to be quite reasonable.

Would certainly recommend staying at the Gaige House!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tracedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 529 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

A beautiful, peaceful respite in a perfect location. Gaige House was our favorite hotel during our 4 day stay in the Sonoma area. We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. After staying in a not-so-great hotel in Calistoga, we appreciated how truly unique and wonderful the Gaige House is. We had a creek-side room and it was huge! The bathroom was Japanese-modern with nice touches - beautiful granite tub, giant walk-in shower and the whole bathroom overlooked a small Japanese garden complete with bubbling fountain. So peaceful. In the evening, we were treated to a wine tasting in the lobby - a local, independent winery was featured. Dining and tasting rooms are all within walking distance too. Breakfast was scrumptious. I'm still thinking about the homemade scones and delicious coffee. My only wish was that the weather was warmer - we would have really enjoyed the lovely pool! We will definitely be back! Gaige House is an absolute gem in wine country.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Most beautiful and cozy room to date! The service was welcoming and it felt like conversation with friends. They knew the area and beyond and therefore full of recommendations. Glen Allen is a beautiful, sleepy town and I hope it never changes. I WILL be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Yvette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Enjoyed staying at this wonderful hotel. Very secluded, quiet and private. Breakfast was delicious.There are restaurants within walking distance and wineries in the vicinity. It was by far the most reasonably priced hotel in the Sonoma Valley.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at Gaige House during a three-night trip to Sonoma and Napa in mid-October. A very good deal through Jetsetter was enhanced hugely by an unexpected upgrade to the Gaige Suite, a very large and beautifully appointed room with a rather spectacular bathroom and large private porch. The breakfast offered limited selection but was very good; the wine and cheese hour was also very good, with extremely well-selected (though inexpensive) wines. Glen Ellen is a quiet, small, attractive town between Sonoma and Santa Rosa, with some good wineries in the vicinity (definitely close enough to Sonoma to enjoy dinner at Cafe La Haye). The drive from Glen Ellen to Oakville in Napa over the mountains was one of many trip highlights. Many thanks to the staff fo a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Gaige House was a great place to spend a quiet get away. Very clean room and outstanding breakfasts. We missed the wine tastings, but we heard from fellow visitors that they were a treat. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Last minute luck out on a room reservation. Breakfast was divine and the wine and cheese hour made a good time to meet other folks staying in the house. I stayed in the Gaige Suite. The room was big and fantastic with a private porch and big bathroom. Only complaint some early morning road noise. Will stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
0.2 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
496 reviews
6.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
658 reviews
21.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
694 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 13540 Arnold Dr, Glen Ellen, CA 95442-9305 (Formerly Gaige House, a Joie de Vivre hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range: $318 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the Sonoma Valley hamlet of Glen Ellen, the Gaige House + Ryokan feels like a secret hideaway. Of course, it's not really a secret; the Gaige House + Ryokan is regularly recommended in Michelin and other guides. Gaige House + Ryokan is part of the prestigious Four Sisters Inns collection and is an elegant blend of vintage and contemporary architecture. The verdant, secluded setting along Calabaza's Creek includes an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. All guests enjoy complimentary breakfast buffet and afternoon wine and cheese tasting as well as refreshing green tea at check-in, house-baked matcha cookies, after-dinner sake alongside the port and sherry. The spa treatment menu includes new massages, with either lemongrass or lavender infusions. Guests staying in Gaige House + Ryokan’s Zen Suites discover additional enhancements found in classic ryokans, such as the use of yukata robes, geta and zori slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaige House, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Glen Ellen
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing