We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome B&B!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Not your typical B&B. We were escorted through the grounds to our room by the front desk. Wow! The rooms are adorable and several have little private courtyards. BKFT is included and it is delicious. Wineries from the area also host a wine and cheese 5-6pm. Cool!!! Would stay here again anytime!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dang9973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    122
    26
    14
    3
See reviews for
17
384
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
277 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Travelers looking for true 4-star service and rooms will find the Gaige House comfortable and charming but lacking in the finishing touches. When the posted rack rate on a main house room is $500, you do not expect to find a bathroom that is circa 1987. Tiled in small, square tiles with dark grout, and with a shower head straight out of Motel 6, the bathrooms lack the amenities commonly found in many 3-star properties across the country. Our room lacked a doorknob on the inside of the bathroom that could not be replaced during our midweek, two-night stay. Really. The inside of the bathroom cabinets was bare, raw wood, not painted or covered in paper. Small, but these things make a difference. These are small fixes that need to be made if the main house is going to live up to the pricey Zen suites on the property.

Should you choose the main house, opt for a room away from the front of the house, where early morning street noise (commuters and garbage trucks) can wake you up earlier than you may like. The Zen suites don't have this problem and are luxurious retreats by comparison to the main house.

The staff could also use a brush-up course in customer service. They are pleasant, to be sure, but it's that extra attention one expects to make a four-star difference. Guests are left on their own during the wine and cheese hour, when a staff member could be pouring wine, saying hello and checking in to see what they might be interested in doing or seeing. A small step, but it creates a more warm and welcoming environment.

Finally, the grounds are in need of attention, particularly the potted plants around the decks and pool. They are overgrown, lacking for a gardener, and would be easy to improve with some new plants and TLC. Used pool towels were left out all day during our visit, so lounge chairs had to be tidied by the guests instead of the staff. Why? Cleaning staff was on hand all day and a few more passes by the pool would not take any extra time or effort.

The Gaige House is charming and well-decorated, and the breakfast is exceptionally good. Their location puts you in close range for beautiful Sonoma County sights. When they decide to pay attention to the details, they will earn a return visit from us.

Room Tip: Choose a main house room away from the front of the house, or splurge on a Zen suite for true privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoladeTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Gaige House 4 times now. It is without a doubt one of the most elegant and gorgeous Inn's/ Bed & Breakfast's in California. It is close to San Francisco, Healdsburg and all the other delightful towns in wine country. The staff is top notch and does all it can to assure your stay is perfect. The rooms are divine! We have stayed in the main house and the small suites/studios. We prefer the studio/suites. Most have a small private garden with full sliding doors that open into it. They also have fireplaces to knock off the morning coolness. They have small refrigerators and stocked with coffee and water everyday. The Inn has a most wonderful breakfast included, you never go away hungry. The staff is so helpful and accommodating. In the evening there is a wine and cheese reception. A couple restaurants are within walking distance. I was trying to think of a downside or something to be aware of and I can't. On an upside (one of many) they have different cookie all day long! : ) For a special treat for you and your significant other STAY HERE!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, although the studio/suites are the best. Each have a private deck to sit on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jehesbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have always avoided bed and breakfasts because for me, they connote squeaky, uncomfortable beds with fussy linens, wallpaper and doilies. This property is absolutely amazing. The rooms are modern, luxurious and private. The pool is the perfect temperature. Everything is so well-conceived, you will want for nothing. Here are some of the many touches that will win you over: cookies available in the hallway, daily wine and cheese hour, fireplaces in the rooms, bathrobes, hammock for two under a canopy of trees in the backyard. The property is two blocks from the best restaurant in Glen Ellen, Glen Ellen Star (best dinner I've had in years) and they offer a basket of flashlights so you will be safe on the sidewalk-less road. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Last but not least, the breakfast will blow you away. Fully gourmet, delicious spreads. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was everything we were hoping for and more! The Gaige House is extremely clean and I highly recommend staying in the the Zen Suites! The room was absolutely beautiful. After a long day it was so nice to come back to this wonderful location. The Glen Ellen area is such a great place to stay while in the Sonoma area. The property sits on a beautiful piece of property with lots of trees. The location was perfect! You are a short drive to so many wonderful wineries. We also loved walking around the town of Sonoma which was a short car ride away. I also highly recommend going to Vella Cheese- the cheese that we purchased was delicious! We cannot wait to go back to the Sonoma area, as the trip was just wonderful. I guess now I have to try all of the other Four Sisters properties!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our second time to the Gaige House, also came in 2010, loved it so much we came back for a Big Birthday, with some friends. Hotel has a historic older home as the main building. There are rooms in that building, some face the back, toward the pool, have not seen them so can't comment. Might be less quiet due to activity in the main house. There are also rooms in 3 other smaller buildings. One, next to the pool (stayed there in 2010, very nice big room). The other 2 buildings are for the 2 rows of Zen suite rooms. One building is the Zen creek side, rooms 17 to 20 (or 21, not sure). Other building is for the Zen garden rooms. The Zen garden are closer to the road. The hotel is right off the road through Glen Ellen and Sonoma. Not a highway, but you can hear the traffic, so if in Zen garden rooms, traffic noise might be distracting. We were in room 17. the front door opens directly into the parking lot, which is not as nice as rooms 18 to 21, which open to this neat bamboo "wall" walkway. But, 17 does have a larger creekside garden area than the other rooms - there is a little deck right by the room, and then another little patio area that overlooks the creek. Zen suite was gorgeous, absolutely stunning, as per other reviews. Huge granite tub was great (be careful getting in and out, it's big and slippery). Huge bed, super comfy and sheets were great. Fireplace sitting area was lovely. Everything - gorgeous. Loved the pool in the backyard - not big, not small. Property tends to not have families with young kids (or maybe that was bec. we went in May), so was very relaxing to swim laps in the pool or just float around to cool down. Never had trouble getting a chaise lounge to sunbathe. Loved the outdoor mini-hot pool too, great to sit in there at night and read. Lovely roses and greenery everywhere, so pretty. Loved the breakfast too - egg choice everyday, omelette or similar, and cold ham slices. Great coffee, fresh OJ, and so many tasty little home made muffins, scones and croissants, very tasty. The relaxed wine and cheese from 5 to 7 is too. They put out some red and white wines in the front parlour, some home made cookies, and very good cheeses. No one is there to talk about the wine, but is a nice chance to relax and chat with fellow guests. The hotel is walking distance to some very nice restaurants as well, we loved that also. It's expensive to stay here, but it really is a relaxing and luxurious oasis, in a charming little town. Love it. Gave it a 4 for value, because the zen suites are maybe a bit over-priced, and a 4 for location as it is very close to the main road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaZ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a really nice stay at this lovely Inn. The decor is very Zen, which makes a nice change after all the florals and patterned carpets. Beds super comfortable and nice modern bathroom.
Great breakfast; staff very pleasant and accommodating. Nice place to stay to explore the Sonoma Valley.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolaCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
0.2 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
6.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
5.7 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
15.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 13540 Arnold Dr, Glen Ellen, CA 95442-9305 (Formerly Gaige House, a Joie de Vivre hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the Sonoma Valley hamlet of Glen Ellen, the Gaige House feels like a secret hideaway. Of course, it's not really a secret; the Gaige House is regularly recommended in Michelin and other guides, and has been listed repeatedly in Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List of the top hotels in the world. Gaige House is part of the prestigious Four Sisters Inns collection and is an elegant blend of vintage and contemporary architecture. The inn features 23 thoughtfully appointed guestrooms with a modern, Asian flair. The verdant, secluded setting along Calabaza's Creek includes an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, and is accented with delightful surprises in hidden spots: a hammock shaded with ancient oaks, a miniature pagoda in a rock garden, a gurgling fountain. After a day of visiting nearby wineries, boutiques and art galleries, return to the Gaige House to indulge in luxurious spa services provided either in-room, or outdoors in a peaceful and private cabana. All guests enjoy a complimentary, full breakfast every morning, and an afternoon wine and cheese reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaige House, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Glen Ellen
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing