We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most wonderful place in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
“The most wonderful place in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Came here on our honeymoon and was blown away but how lovely the property is. We stayed 2 nights in the Zen Suite Creekside. GLORIOUS. Huge airy room, roaring (gas) fireplace, comfy bed, lovely little deck. And the huge granite tub! The breakfast was delicious, the staff kind - it was the best place I've stayed in ages. Book NOW.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    120
    25
    14
    3
See reviews for
16
381
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights over the Memorial Day weekend with another couple and enjoyed the Inn. Checkin was a breeze, but they stand firm on their "no early check in" policy. Our room was #1, on the second floor. It was a front facing room in the main building, and surprisingly, road noise was an issue. Trucks and cars goung by were very noticeable, unfortunately. The room itself was comfortable, the bathroom old but adequate (except the shower is about 4ft high...had to contort to wash my hair and face.)
The breakfastr was excellent. Simple and a good variety. There was a difficult couple there at the same time, and the staff handled them very well.
The location is central, and the staff very nice. The lobby living room with fireplace was a nice place tomeet or to read the paper. We didn't use the Spa, or attend the afternoon wine event. It was expensive, but everyting out here is. Would I stay again? Probably not. It was nice, but not over the top.

Room Tip: Stay away from the two room facing the street. LOUD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The location is very good. The only problem is certainly not their fault. If you plan to walk to dinner there are no sidewalks, or even roadsides. The Inn provides flashlights to make the walk more safe. The room was very nice, as was the pool. Great service and staff. A very good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BPD501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brigantine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Gaige house has it all. The people were charming ,the house was pristine, the views were breathtaking. Our breakfast was a culinary delight! The grounds offered a lovely swimming pool ,a hot tub,and a hammock under the trees. We picked up a bottle of wine ,some cheese and olives . There was a table set back near the pool in this very lush garden. Need I say more. PERFECTION !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank judith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I chose this B&B based largely on the TripAdvisor reviews. Our three-day stay there was wonderful in every respect. The rooms are spacious and decorated in a contemporary style. The breakfast was first rate. Our room had its own porch that would have come in handy had it not been a little too chilly. The Gaige House is a good 15 minutes from Sonoma Square. However, we still had several outstanding restaurant within walking distance. Also, the Benziger winery is around the corner. I could easily return to this place. However, most likely next time around we will stay near the coast. While there are no wineries near Bodega Bay, the scenery is just wonderful and I much prefer wine drinking with food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibejar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Gaige House. We stayed in the Pool Side Suite with our little pup, Bea. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. We greatly enjoyed the pancakes, french toast and variety of fruits that was served with the inclusive breakfast. Spent all weekend by the pool reading, sleeping and relaxing - hardly anyone else by the pool as they were all out exploring and wine tasting. Great location close to Fig Cafe and our new favorite restaurant, Glenn Ellen Star (could stay here longer just to eat at the GES!!!!).

Room Tip: Zen Suites are very nice and quiet but more expensive, we really liked the Pool Suite (think it is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENewberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night and loved our zen suite.....we stayed at the zen garden suite and loved the granite tub. The room was spa-like and was super cozy...breakfast was delicious, and within walking distance to town. We ate dinner at Glen Ellen Star which was fantastic. I booked our room through Snique away so we got a great deal on this l ovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiepebbles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
0.2 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
6.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
5.7 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
15.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 13540 Arnold Dr, Glen Ellen, CA 95442-9305 (Formerly Gaige House, a Joie de Vivre hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the Sonoma Valley hamlet of Glen Ellen, the Gaige House feels like a secret hideaway. Of course, it's not really a secret; the Gaige House is regularly recommended in Michelin and other guides, and has been listed repeatedly in Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List of the top hotels in the world. Gaige House is part of the prestigious Four Sisters Inns collection and is an elegant blend of vintage and contemporary architecture. The inn features 23 thoughtfully appointed guestrooms with a modern, Asian flair. The verdant, secluded setting along Calabaza's Creek includes an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, and is accented with delightful surprises in hidden spots: a hammock shaded with ancient oaks, a miniature pagoda in a rock garden, a gurgling fountain. After a day of visiting nearby wineries, boutiques and art galleries, return to the Gaige House to indulge in luxurious spa services provided either in-room, or outdoors in a peaceful and private cabana. All guests enjoy a complimentary, full breakfast every morning, and an afternoon wine and cheese reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaige House, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Glen Ellen
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing