We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais du Soleil
Nearby Hotels
Kenwood Inn and Spa(Kenwood)(Great Value!)
$295
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Pueblo Inn(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonoma Hotel(Sonoma)
$180
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$240
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledson Hotel(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olea Hotel(Glen Ellen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
28
4
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
4
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing sculpturesperfect weatherhot tubbeautiful settinghorsesweddingbarn
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 36 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I discovered this charming B&B while searching for weekend lodging in Sonoma. We weren’t sure what to expect since the place was obviously not a typical “hotel.” Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the owner and his trusted canine companion, Kingston.
The ranch is surrounded by 120 acres of natural beauty including gardens, horses, deer, flowers, birds, and much more. As city dwellers, the serene environment was a welcomed treat! On our first night, we were treated to some of Tim’s homemade wine (which was fantastic), cheese and music on the outdoor patio.
We were pleasantly surprised by our experience here. Tim (the owner/proprietor/chef/renaissance man extraordinaire) is an exceptional host and conversationalist. He also makes an amazing omelet!
We stayed in the Lilac Room, which was upstairs in the main house. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet - which is exactly what we needed! The bathroom was in the hallway (not in the room), but we did not have to share it with anyone else. We slept peacefully both nights and awoke to the sound of birds and the smell of fresh coffee.
This place is not a typical hotel. If you are looking for boilerplate amenities with chain-hotel type of accommodations, then this place is not for you. However, if you are looking for rustic charm, great conversation, natural beauty, and authenticity…. Then you will love this place!
We had a wonderful weekend at Relais du Soleil and we highly recommend it for anyone looking for a truly memorable, relaxing and down-to-earth experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFJerseyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The bed and breakfast inn, Relais du Soleil, and the proprietor, Tim, offer a beautiful Sonoma country setting, excellent food, and service that makes you feel like you are staying with a favorite relative. The location is on a country road secluded in the beautiful Sonoma Valley. The inn, an early 20th Century farm house surrounded by fields, native oaks, old farm equipment, and impressive metal sculptures, offers simple basic amenities. We rented the whole place for one amazing overnight stay to celebrate my 60th birthday with my wife and six other close friends. A wonderful, multi-course dinner, showcased by open fire cooked pork loin roast, was prepared by Tim and served family style. We also took advantage of Tim's delicious Cabernet and Merlot wines. As a special offer, Tim arranged for a local band to play and we danced into the evening in the barn. A door was open to the outside where we could go stand around the fire ring taking in the beautiful starlit night. Liz and I stayed in one of the outbuilding rooms. We shared a bathroom with another room. The bed was very comfortable and, coupled with the quiet of the country, provided one of the best nights sleeps I'd had in months. In the morning a delicious homemade pancake breakfast awaited us. Relais du Soleil, while not for everyone, truly offered us a wonderful respite from a busy world. We will definitely return.
What I liked best : Tim's delicious dinner and breakfast is tied with the beautiful location.
What I liked least : The room; not exactly 5 star (but still very adequate for us), and having to share a bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed in the annex suite and found the accommodations average at best. The decor and furnishings were dated and worn, with no cohesive theme. I can see why one of the previous reviewers referred to it as a "dump." Certainly if you are expecting luxury or even upscale lodging, go elsewhere. If, however, you like offbeat and funky lodging, then give this place a shot. The grounds are bucolic and peaceful. Tim, the proprietor, is friendly and very laid back. His breakfast was really outstanding, probably the best part of the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanFranciscoSfgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Tim,

Elvira and I want to thank you for your joyous, friendly, and creative hospitality during our week long stay at the ranch. the stay experience and surrounding environment are truly a manifestation of your personality and spirit and it is wonderful. We knew from the beginning that this was going to be a different kind of experience the minute we saw the winged metal horse ( Pegasus?) as we crossed the bridge over the Calabazas Creek onto the ranch. With each passing day we grew to appreciate more and more the natural serenity and beaty of the Ranch and the spontaneity and genuine warmth of your hospitality. Not only were your personally prepared breakfasts an experience unto themselves we also preferred to take a trip to market and pick up great fresh produce, rib eye steaks, and veal chops and whip up with you a great barbequed dinner at the Ranch with your homemade wine. As we visited some of the Sonoma abd Napa wineries we spread the word of Relais du Soleil and have continued to do so since our return to Marblehead, MA. Tim, thank you for our best California experience to date and in the process we made a new and endearing friend.

Paul and Elvira

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank etc_Marblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

if you want to get away from it all in the Sonoma area, this is the place to go. Tim, the proprietor is lovely and the environment couldn't be more idyllic. There's a swimming hole with fresh mountain water, pickable wild blackberries, a lovely lawn and petanques. Plus, the breakfast is killer and Tim makes his own wine that he may even be gracious enough to share. It was some of the best we had the weekend we were up there.... so, yes, I'd say go. In fact, we're trying to figure out a good event to throw a party so we can go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katebmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews