We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Wine”

Imagery Estate Winery & Art Gallery
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the wine world, tradition often tempers creativity, individuality and imagination. But at Imagery Estate Winery, an unconventional approach inspires richly expressive wines and a wine drinking experience that entices you to broaden your palate. After a day in wine country, it can all start to blend together. 'Chard, Merlot, Cab, Pinot, Chard, Cab, blah, blah, blah. At Imagery, we're all about experimenting with new varietals, exploring little known grape regions, and shining the spotlight on wines that are usually swallowed up in big blends. Stop by for a walk in our herb and vegetable garden, a tasting, or a tour of our art gallery.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Wine”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited Imagery after we learned it was owned by the Benziger family. Very contemporary setting and excellent wine. Knowledgeable staff.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dfbrewer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    71
    25
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming winery”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What an interesting place! Staff was wonderful, wines were very nice. Great break from the larger, more formal wineries.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheri888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“"not the 'typical' winery visit"”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Yes - Imagery Winery was started by one of the Benzinger (one of our favorite lines of wine) children who wanted to do something a bit different. The artwork used in the label design are all commissioned art and they have an excellent art gallery. Instead of standing at the bar and doing the "usual" type of wine tasting - you can take your wine glass with you and brouse through the art gallery. You can also have a picnic lunch outside. Excellent experience -great wine - great time. Make sure Imagery is on your list of wine stops !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouisB1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Art and Wine”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I imagine that it's hard to distinguish yourself amonst the hundreds of delightful wineries in Sonoma/Napa, but here they do it by exhibitng a very good collection of original art based on Imagery's ongoing project to have original label art for their releases - neat!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
284 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Great port and syrah”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had never been to Sonoma Valley so this was our first stop to Imagery. This is a nice place. On top of some nice art, they have a nice gift shop and a GREAT place to pick up food like olives and salsas and cheese and crackers and such. I know there was more; I just can’t remember it all.

When we got there, I do have say that a lady there wanted nothing to do with us and virtually would not help, but a gentleman emerged by the name of Bull and he was awesome. Bull is a character with a lot of knowledge. He poured some excellent port and syrah. If you get the right kind of server, this is a great stop for a wine connoisseur.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HazelEyesFromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imagery Estate Winery & Art Gallery also viewed

Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 

Been to Imagery Estate Winery & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing