We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May 10th 2007” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack London Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jack London Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“May 10th 2007”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

Glen Ellen was definitely a smaller town then expected, but very quaint and cute, and located conveniently close to Napa Valley. The lodge was nice, the room was furnished with antique furniture, and there was a good size TV with full cable. And, perhaps most importantly, it was very clean! The lodge has a pool and hot tub, they both were very nice looking, but it was a bit too cold for swimming when we were there. The lodge also has a restaurant and saloon, but dinner prices were higher then elsewhere in town, (there are at least 4 places open for dinner) so we ate at The Fig (which was awesome, especially the mussels & fries!) The lodge is sort of on the edge of town, but like I said, the town is small, so everything is well within walking distance. We would definitely recommend Glen Ellen and The Jack London to anyone visiting the Napa Valley, the prices are far more competitive there, and you get a lot more for your money then if you stay in the city (where we were quoted $260 to stay at the Best Western!)

  • Liked — Cleans rooms with ample accomidations for a nice stary.
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    100
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
47
130
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2007

This is a really cute little lodge. Within walking distance to a great little store that carries EVERYTHING!! There's also a nice 1 mile hike uphill to the Jack London Park. Glen Ellen is a very small quaint town. My only problem with the lodge was they use space heaters. They did the trick but I'm just not used to them.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Space heaters
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend hours at the store across the street just browsing!!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2006

Outrageous price for minimal amenities and service. Many members of the wedding party could not get to their rooms until 4pm and the formal rehearsal was at 4:30. Rooms were promised by 3 at the latest. They made no effort to get the immediate party in sooner.
For $175 a night, there were no toiletries in the room and to make matters worse, they don't open the office until 8:30 so we had to purchase shampoo from a drugstore.
The worse part is their bookkeeper who fabricates stories to defend their charges in a dispute about canceled reservations.

I've left messages twice, written to the owner, but NO response.
I would not recommend having a wedding there or even staying there at those prices.

  • Disliked — price for minimal service
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there.
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveler66Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2006

I stayed at the Jack London Lodge for 4 nights in early December. I was visiting the area on business, and one of my coworkers had heard good things about the lodge and wanted to stay there. It wasn't a bad experience, but I do not know if I would stay there again.

To start off this review, I must say that the desk manager during my stay was outstanding. He was courteous and helpful, arranged dinner reservations and even assisted in some printing tasks that we needed to complete quickly. You can't ask for better than that.

The lodge itself is in a great location in the center of Glen Ellen. There are many wineries nearby, and for a quick (but very tasty) meal, the Glen Ellen Market is just across the street. The location is fairly quiet, but the parking lot is directly adjacent to the hotel and at times can become noisy.

The lodge building is neat and attractive, but certainly looks dated. The stairs and upper walkway are wooden and conduct noise easily. For many of the rooms, there is a fairly large gap under the entrance door...a significant factor considering these doors open directly to the outside. Also, many doors feel insecure as they do not have chains and require manual locking every time one exits the room.

The interior of the guest rooms are reasonable, but lack many amenities. Many furnishings appear to be antique, which is nice. In my room, however, the headboard to the bed was unattached and simply leaned against the wall. The bed was comfortable and firm, but nothing special. Two sitting chairs and a table are provided, but they are not appropriate for working, especially if you are trying to use a notebook PC.

The rooms lack closets, but a dresser and amoire are provided. There is also a standard rack for hanging clothes, but this is adjacent to the sink area and not hidden from view or splashes.

Heating and cooling are provided by an electric oil radiator and window unit, respectively. The portable radiant heater does warm the room on very cold nights, but because it is radiant and lacks a fan it is difficult to adjust comfortably. I typically arose around 3:00AM to reduce the heat. If you are going to be gone all day in cold weather you may come back to a very cold room as it is inadvisable to leave the heater running unattended.

The bathroom was the weakest area of the guest rooms. The tub and toilet area was very small. Minimal ventilation was available, which resulted in extensive mold on the shower tile and painted ceiling. A little Tilex would have gone a long way to help, but the moldy condition did not change during my stay. For that matter, neither did the burned-out light bulb above the sink.

For the Glen Ellen and Sonoma area, the costs at the Jack London Lodge are very enticing. If the budget allows, however, I would recommend looking for something a little nicer and modern.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Decor and cleanliness of bathroom
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DrDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in June. It is in a convenient location to drive to wineries in both Napa and Sonoma, and not far from some fantastic dinner options on the Sonoma town square.

The room was ok. A bit drab with "country" decoration. It could use some sprucing up. It could also use more solid locks on the doors (we didn't have any safety issues, but it was a little disconcerting not to have a deadbolt lock or chain on the door). The bathtub and shower curtain were mildew-y. The pool and hot tub area was nice.

For our next visit to wine country, we'll likely stay closer to town area, like Calistoga or (the town of) Sonoma.

Helpful?
1 Thank AJJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Jack London Lodge to attend a wedding in Sonoma during the week of 6/21 to 6/25. The Bride and Groom had recommended three (3) sites to stay at of which the Jack London Lodge was the least expensive. I don't know what the other places looked like but the Jack London Lodge was certainly not my idea of a "first rate motel/lodge". When we arrived the A/C had not been turned on so the room was very hot. Temperature outside was in the 100 deg. range. After turning the a/c unit on I discovered that the filter had not been cleaned for some time. Later in the evening we discovered that the bathroom door had a loud squeek. Both of these instances were reported to the manager the next day with a promise that the door would be fixed as soon as possible. It was Not. Also the manager stated that the A/C unit was going to be replaced because parts were no longer available. About the only positive thing about our trip and stay at the Jack London Lodge was the continental breakfast and coffee.

We do not intend to stay at the Jack London Lodge in the future.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2006

My husband and I found the Jack London Lodge on a recent trip to Sonoma. We usually stay downtown but it's getting so noisy and crowded it feels less like a vacation each time.
Anyway, the property is almost two acres with gardens, a "saloon", and restaurant. The hotel part is at the back of the prorperty so it is well away form the street and wonderfuly quiet. There's a pool and jaccuzzi that over look a beautiful creek and you can get drinks from the bar to take back to the pool if you wish. Our room was spacious, very clean, and decorated with antiques. This is also the most reasonably priced places we've ever stayed at in the area. Other than wine tasting we almost never had to leave the property. We walked to the Wolf House for a great dinner (one of the best we've had in the area) and then finished with drinks in the bar which has a great juke box. This our new home away from home when in the wine country!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
0.3 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
6.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
2.9 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack London Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack London Lodge

Property: Jack London Lodge
Address: 13740 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jack London Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Jack London Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Glen Ellen
Jack London Lodge Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing