We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walked into the Jack London”
Review of Jack London Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jack London Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2007

We walked into the Jack London Lodge without a reservation, and were lucky to have a choice of rooms. The lady tending the front desk was most helpful. The rooms are basic but clean and spacious enough for a short stay. The hotel is just off the main road but we were not disturbed by noise at night, although during the day one could hear the trucks going by. Glen Ellen is a small rural location, so we were not concerned that the rooms were accessed via outside corridors.
There are a few super eating places nearby. Breakfast is not served out of season, but there is a good super market right opposite for a DIY job. I was surprised to read earlier reviews about rude service because we found the staff very helpful. We would have liked to stay an extra night, but they were fully booked.However,they gave us some alternatives to try.
For a short stay the Jack London Lodge was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonsieurDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Jack London Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 269 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2007

A wonderful retreat for your trip to the wine country.The room was clean ,quiet,and larger than expected with all the amenities readily available .The weather was such that we did need to use the space heater but it worked well enough to take out the nip in the air.
We especially loved the saloon and restauranr next door to unwind after a day of wine tasting and touring the area.Our 4 nights there will be long remembered and cherished.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winecountrynovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

I understand all hotels have a business to run and I'm sure it is even more difficult for Jack London given its size. However, I found the service and front desk staff at the Jack London Lodge to be rude and arrogant. We will not return or recommend this hotel to anyone. Our experience started when we pulled up to check in and was immediately "told" (not asked) to move our car for a wedding party (ironically, we were part of the wedding!) One of the employees (possibly the owner?) lurked about the property as if watching our every move. Not a very relaxing environment. The rooms are okay, but even for Napa Valley, it wasn't a very good value. Finally, we kindly requested a late check out (1 hour, not all day!) and we were told NO without hesitation. Again, that's fine, they've got another busy night to prepare for - but there are 101 ways to say NO without offending your paying guests. In short, don't stay here. Pay a little extra and I'm sure your business will be appreciated at the other places.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank LoveToTravel04USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Glen Ellen was definitely a smaller town then expected, but very quaint and cute, and located conveniently close to Napa Valley. The lodge was nice, the room was furnished with antique furniture, and there was a good size TV with full cable. And, perhaps most importantly, it was very clean! The lodge has a pool and hot tub, they both were very nice looking, but it was a bit too cold for swimming when we were there. The lodge also has a restaurant and saloon, but dinner prices were higher then elsewhere in town, (there are at least 4 places open for dinner) so we ate at The Fig (which was awesome, especially the mussels & fries!) The lodge is sort of on the edge of town, but like I said, the town is small, so everything is well within walking distance. We would definitely recommend Glen Ellen and The Jack London to anyone visiting the Napa Valley, the prices are far more competitive there, and you get a lot more for your money then if you stay in the city (where we were quoted $260 to stay at the Best Western!)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

This is a really cute little lodge. Within walking distance to a great little store that carries EVERYTHING!! There's also a nice 1 mile hike uphill to the Jack London Park. Glen Ellen is a very small quaint town. My only problem with the lodge was they use space heaters. They did the trick but I'm just not used to them.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2006

Outrageous price for minimal amenities and service. Many members of the wedding party could not get to their rooms until 4pm and the formal rehearsal was at 4:30. Rooms were promised by 3 at the latest. They made no effort to get the immediate party in sooner.
For $175 a night, there were no toiletries in the room and to make matters worse, they don't open the office until 8:30 so we had to purchase shampoo from a drugstore.
The worse part is their bookkeeper who fabricates stories to defend their charges in a dispute about canceled reservations.

I've left messages twice, written to the owner, but NO response.
I would not recommend having a wedding there or even staying there at those prices.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank traveler66Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

I stayed at the Jack London Lodge for 4 nights in early December. I was visiting the area on business, and one of my coworkers had heard good things about the lodge and wanted to stay there. It wasn't a bad experience, but I do not know if I would stay there again.

To start off this review, I must say that the desk manager during my stay was outstanding. He was courteous and helpful, arranged dinner reservations and even assisted in some printing tasks that we needed to complete quickly. You can't ask for better than that.

The lodge itself is in a great location in the center of Glen Ellen. There are many wineries nearby, and for a quick (but very tasty) meal, the Glen Ellen Market is just across the street. The location is fairly quiet, but the parking lot is directly adjacent to the hotel and at times can become noisy.

The lodge building is neat and attractive, but certainly looks dated. The stairs and upper walkway are wooden and conduct noise easily. For many of the rooms, there is a fairly large gap under the entrance door...a significant factor considering these doors open directly to the outside. Also, many doors feel insecure as they do not have chains and require manual locking every time one exits the room.

The interior of the guest rooms are reasonable, but lack many amenities. Many furnishings appear to be antique, which is nice. In my room, however, the headboard to the bed was unattached and simply leaned against the wall. The bed was comfortable and firm, but nothing special. Two sitting chairs and a table are provided, but they are not appropriate for working, especially if you are trying to use a notebook PC.

The rooms lack closets, but a dresser and amoire are provided. There is also a standard rack for hanging clothes, but this is adjacent to the sink area and not hidden from view or splashes.

Heating and cooling are provided by an electric oil radiator and window unit, respectively. The portable radiant heater does warm the room on very cold nights, but because it is radiant and lacks a fan it is difficult to adjust comfortably. I typically arose around 3:00AM to reduce the heat. If you are going to be gone all day in cold weather you may come back to a very cold room as it is inadvisable to leave the heater running unattended.

The bathroom was the weakest area of the guest rooms. The tub and toilet area was very small. Minimal ventilation was available, which resulted in extensive mold on the shower tile and painted ceiling. A little Tilex would have gone a long way to help, but the moldy condition did not change during my stay. For that matter, neither did the burned-out light bulb above the sink.

For the Glen Ellen and Sonoma area, the costs at the Jack London Lodge are very enticing. If the budget allows, however, I would recommend looking for something a little nicer and modern.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DrDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
0.3 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
496 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
658 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.8 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 mi away
Gaige House, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack London Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack London Lodge

Address: 13740 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range: $140 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jack London Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jack London Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Glen Ellen
Jack London Lodge Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing