We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jack London Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kenwood Inn and Spa(Kenwood)(Great Value!)
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Pueblo Inn(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonoma Hotel(Sonoma)
$268
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledson Hotel(Sonoma)(Great Value!)
$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olea Hotel(Glen Ellen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
111
112
39
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
112
39
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastwine countrywolf housebenziger winerysmall poolnice furnituregourmet marketno elevatorwine tastinggreat areahot tubnice stayvillage marketnice breakfastwalking distancedowntown sonomacharming town
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 278 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

When my husband told me he booked our "wine country" hotel at a 2 Star property, I almost had a meltdown. After doing some research I decided to "keep an open mind".
Wow, I had the best surprise of our vacation. Jack London Lodge is the best kept secret in wine country! This quaint lodge is perfect if you don't want to be around a lot of people and pretention. Spotlessly clean, with "soft fluffy white towels". Even our personal bathroom items were neatly arranged upon our return to our room. The on site manager, Michelle was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. She even went out of her way to arrange some private wine tastings with the tasting fees waived. Across the street is the Village Market with a large selection of hand made sandwiches and deli items 'to go'. If you wanted to save money dining out you could bring a meal from the deli to your room or eat out near the pool. Small pool, cleaned daily was perfect for cooling off after a long day of wine tourings. The pool has full afternoon sun and comfortable lounge chairs. We will definitely be returning to this gem! I hope to make it an anual event. There is so much to do. Have Michelle tell you how to get to Trinity Drive, an adventure for sure but it takes your breath away. All thumbs up from us! Katy & Jeff Milwaukee, WI

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katy1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I visited the Jack London Lodge in mid June. The room, on the second floor, was large and comfortable, with a king sized bed and a couple of comfortable chairs. The air conditioning worked well, even though the area wasn’t used to the heat spell we received. The staff was very welcoming, from the attendant at the desk, to the bartender at the Wolf House next door.
From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with the delightful aroma of the abundant flowers. Across the parking lot was a clean pool area, dotted with tables for lounging, adjacent to an enchanted private deck behind a picket white fence, where breakfast was served in the wooded setting. (Strong coffee, delicious choices of breakfast cakes, bagels, pastries, cereals, yogurt, fruit and orange juice-included in the price.)
All in all, the lodge was a welcomed retreat in a great area to enjoy the incredible number of wineries within a short distance. Up the road was the Benziger winery, which offered an affordable tour ($15 per person) on a tram through the vineyard and caves, ending with a wine tasting. Don’t miss it!
We ate dinner at both of the local restaurants, which were a short walk over a bridge. The Glen Ellen Inn offered outside seating in a tree covered area with a fountain, or inside seating overlooking it. The food was fabulous, and the desserts were interesting. The Fig, next door, was bustling with customers. It did not have outside seating, but the food, again, was top notch. Both restaurants offered free corkage, which was refreshing for an area booming with a multitude of wine choices. We would definitely come back! A great value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJtraveler069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Location and value can't be beat! Comfortable, clean, conveniently located in beautifully serene Glen Ellen. A great place to stay again and again to enjoy relaxing, hiking, wine tasting, good eats!

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VinFille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stumbled across this little place after a poor experience in St Helena and were treated to a warm reception by Jennifer at the front desk. She made plenty of time for us to show us the rooms and gave us a great deal on the honeymoon suite without us even asking. We ended up staying another night and were given an even better deal for just being a little helpful ourselves. Seems that this sort of personal approach to the tourist business is lost, it is all about making the big money now.
The location is great, a short drive to downtown Sonoma and a billion wineries, and you get to come home to a quiet room furnished like a comfortable apartment.
Loved the little bar next door and the restaurants across the creek and we even had a poolside dinner we purchased at the grocery store across the road that was great!
Clean and comfortable rooms, very quiet and peaceful by the creek, hot tub was nice and private.
We would definitely return to the JLL, and we applaud the current owners for their personal approach to the hotel industry.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BC_Travellers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

My wife and I recently were in California on a nostalgia trip. She is a fourth generation San Franciscan now living in Minnesota. We spent several days touring the wine country in the Sonoma/Napa Valley area. We were fortunate to find and be able to spend several days at the Jack London Lodge in Glen Ellen. What a charming spot from which to visit the wine country!

Not only were the rooms clean, spacious and well-furnished, but we loved our meal at the charming bar in the historic building that is part of the complex. What a great place for groups to gather for a weekend (weddings, meetings, celebrations, etc. My wife loved the outdoor pool and large heated whirlpool.

The recommendations for wineries and nearby restaurants by the young woman, Michelle, who acted as our host, were right on target and much appreciated. I have little doubt that we will return to this Inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews