We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great service and venue

We had a really nice lady pouring for us last weekend. She was knowledgeable about the wines, and... read more

Reviewed February 12, 2019
jean m
,
Pleasant Hill, California
A unique winery that showcases both wines and olive oil in Sonoma Valley.

Wine Country doesn't get anymore iconic than the legendary B.R. Cohn Winery in Glen Ellen a few... read more

Reviewed November 25, 2018
jalfong
,
El Cerrito, California
Read all 191 reviews
  
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
100
59
18
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
100
59
18
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews br cohn doobie brothers olive oil gourmet shop music festival tasting room rock and roll memorabilia wine tasting photos and memorabilia oysters awesome venue music lovers willie nelson platinum records laid back atmosphere great wine wine club
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 191 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2019

Cohn Winery is such a fun experience. Anyone who loves music would enjoy the Cohn photo gallery. His past experience as a professional musician with the likes of Lynyrd Skynyrd, Willie Nelson, Bonnie Raitt.....fascinating! The wine was great, as was the olive oil selections. We had a glorious time and intend to visit with friends in the future.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Vaughna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelN1060, Manager at B.R. Cohn Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Hello Vaughna,

Thank you for the great review! We are so excited that you enjoyed your time at the winery. We look forward to hosting you and your friends in the future.

Cheers,
Angel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

We had a really nice lady pouring for us last weekend. She was knowledgeable about the wines, and history of the place but not boring. They allow dogs and she brought some water out for ours. There was a Cab that was really good, not a big fan of the other wines. I will be back to catch a concert!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelN1060, Manager at B.R. Cohn Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

Thank you for the review Jean! We look forward to seeing at the winery for some music this summer.

Cheers,
Angel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018

We were there in peak season, and the tasting room was crowded. However, there were plenty of staff, so the wait to do the tasting wasn't bad. We enjoyed strolling the property while we waited and looking at the olive groves. We also thoroughly enjoyed the music room, which centered on the Doobie Brothers and friends. By the time we did both of those, it was our turn for a tasting. The wine was wonderful -- especially the Cabernet! We also enjoyed the gourmet shop with the olive oil samples and other offerings made from products of the winery. It was a picture-perfect day, so we enjoyed playing cornhole on the lawn. Well, several of us played cornhole. One of us sipped wine while sitting on the terrace watching us. A good time was had by all!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelN1060, Manager at B.R. Cohn Winery, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2018

Hello Carol,

Thank you for the wonderful review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the bounty that B.R. Cohn Winery has to offer.

Cheers,
Angel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2018

Wine Country doesn't get anymore iconic than the legendary B.R. Cohn Winery in Glen Ellen a few miles north of downtown Sonoma. Founded in 1984, but they've been making grapes much longer than that, by music manager and owner Bruce Cohn, of the Doobie Brothers fame, who purchased an old dairy farm back in the 1970's. It is here, where Cohn learned how to cultivate grapes and eventually olive trees to create California's first ever single estate olive oil in over a century. The first thing you will notice upon arrival at B.R. Cohn Winery, is the spectacularly manicured landscape that surrounds the house that owner Bruce Cohn first moved into, which now serves as the tasting rooms for their wines, olive oils, and vinegar. At B.R. Cohn, they consider themselves the Rock n' Roll winery of wine country and they've lived up to that theme.

Once our tasting was over, the stellar staff at B.R. Cohn led by Katie, Reed and John offered us even more generous pours of white wine, olive oil and vinegar samples in their tasting room. I was even fortunate to be able to go on a tour of the vast grounds, led by B.R. Cohn associate Reed, where we learned about vines that have been planted for generations. We also learned that their are hot springs that run directly underneath the vines which helps to keep all the grapes and vines cool and watered. We also learned that the vinegar they sell on property are imported from Italy because you can't make wines and vinegar in the same place. We also got the chance to tour their open-air theatre that overlooks the vineyard that hosts everything from major rock concerts to movie nights. We even got to see their bird box where they host birds of prey to rid themselves of any vermin that may inhabit their vineyards. Their whole property, all ninety acres, twelve of which have the olive trees and seventy-two of which has the grapes, is sustainable and practically all environmentally friendly. B.R. Cohn is a boutique winery as they make a small amount of wine with only ten to fifteen thousand cases a year.

After heading into their festively decorated tasting room, which appropriately enough had a rock n' roll vibe to it, I headed to their olive oil tasting room, where I got the chance to sample every flavor of olive oil they have under the Sonoma sun and I bought a bottle of their signature basil garlic olive oil because I loved the savory flavors to it, as well as a jar of their Chardonnay Caramel Sauce, which I plan on dipping and pouring on everything from apples to ice cream, I don't dare waste any opportunity to utilize my purchases. Although they have a vast grove of olive oil trees, they can only produce about forty gallons of olive oil a year. So it's nice to know how much hard work and energy is put into just one bottle of their signature product. B.R. Cohn Winery is place I would take any out-of-towner or wine lover so they could experience the beauty of this property, as well as the fun and unique products like olive oils and dipping sauces. Here, there's literally something in it for everyone!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jalfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018

Highly recommend BR Cohn for the beauty of the grounds, the warm welcome of the staff, especially Dawn, and of course, the taste of the wines! We stopped in on a Wednesday afternoon (the smoke from the fires did cloud the distance for photo's) and had the place to ourselves which allowed Dawn the time to not only give us excellent information about the wines we tasted, but also about the history of the winery. An added bonus for music lovers is the tasting room dedicated to photos and memorabilia of the Doobie Bros. We even got to see them harvesting the olives from the trees, quite interesting. Make sure to text them while there and receive an added bonus of an additional pour - put us over the top to join the club! Thank you Dawn and BR Cohn - we're looking forward to our first shipment.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank edrotondophotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews