We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional quality, local ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Transcendence Theatre Company

Transcendence Theatre Company
Ranked #9 of 29 things to do in Glen Ellen
Attraction details
Sanibel Island, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Professional quality, local ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

What a find! Our "landlord" supports this and told us about it. First, the setting, in the Jack London State Park is unique and delightful. Magical wouldn't be an overstatement. The troupe was first-tier quality and the programming was inspired. Finally, the volunteers went far beyond expectations to assist someone with a handicap. If we're back there when Transcendence is performing, we won't miss it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seriously "OFF" Broadway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

See all of the troupe here before they head back to Broadway! There are so many activities in the Wine Country these days, but if you miss this one you will be sorry! This theater company will delight every theater craving you have. The talent is exceptional, the creativity soars and the setting is extraordinary. OK enough superlatives, but it was our favorite evening experience during the entire trip! You have to see at least one event, we are definitely headed back for more.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 77DebbE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helena, CA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning setting, brimming with talent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have proudly attended several Broadway Under the Stars performances and can't wait for the next season. The energy and voices of this super-talented company coupled with the romantic ruins and vines as a backdrop at Jack London State Park makes every show magical. Such a wonderful way to spend a Sonoma summer evening...it's worth the trip!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Smish72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ellen
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another inspiring season is upon us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

From the first performance in 2012 through all the summer of 2013 the slopes of Sonoma Mountain resonated with the joyful, powerful, super talented energy of Transcendence Theatre Company. The combination of the historic setting, in Jack London State Historic Park, and the incredibly skilled cast is just quite simply unbeatable. Like to picnic? Like wine? Like the outdoors? Food trucks? Sunlight, sunset, and theatre under the stars? All these opportunities, plus the fine quality Broadway revue shows (numerous through the summer) are just part of why I love Broadway Under the Stars at Jack London Park. The other part is the compelling commitment of the entire crew, cast, and staff, a kind of transformational positivity that is so engaging. We are serious fans and hope whomever reads this comes to see the show!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elisaGlenEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing event in an fantastic setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I've been to several of these shows which have been fantastic. The level of talent blew my mind and couldn't have been in a more beautiful environment. The shows take place in the Jack London Park ruins and the best part is that a portion of the ticket price goes back to the maintenance of the park!
I'd recommend anyone attend a show (or two) if you are in the Glen Ellen area, or, it you are not, it is worth making the trip there for it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corey-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Transcendence Theatre Company also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Transcendence Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing