We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed dinner”
Review of Glen Ellen Star

Glen Ellen Star
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Amazing fresh foods cooked in a wood-fired oven.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Had a nice dinner at Glenn Ellen Star. Brussel sprout appetizer pricey but large serving. Tasty and fresh but more charred than I like. Chicken dish was outstanding. Perfectly cooked chicken with unique polenta. Totally enjoyed each bite. Lamb was quite rich and spicy. Service was good

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 553 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile

After we saw that this restaurant had a Michelin star we were eager to try it.
While the service was very good, the meal was good. We had the cauliflower appetizer, the brick chicken and the lamb shank. We did get the only desert which was their own ice cream and it was also okay-all right I’m not a big ice cream fan. While we expected a ‘Wow’ meal, it was good not great. Along with the above we had a ‘flask’-about 2 glasses and a glass which got us to $122, without tip.

The restaurant itself is very compact and noisy. We noticed afterwards that there is a annex that might be quieter?

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Artay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

Be sure to make reservations because it's tiny. I had the best cauliflower I've ever eaten and the lamb pasta dish was different in the most delicious way

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank booda555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

We found this place by accident a few years ago and really have enjoyed it when we travel to Glen Ellen area. I suggest anything on the menu it's all prepared right in front of you and it's exceptional all the time. Pizza is to die for.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

We had been planning to visit this restaurant for some time and finally did so on a rainy, somewhat grim Friday evening.
The vibe of this restaurant is definitely Sonoma County casual. No white tablecloths. There are two adjacent areas for diners, one a dining room with additional counter seating, and the second is essentially an annex. We were seated in the annex. The annex seemed quieter, and there was plenty of room between tables, but the music is definitely not on the “soft” side, a factor you may want to consider if hearing is an issue.
We started with the roasted brussel sprouts, a dish for which they are well-known, and the daily bread, in this case a delightful boule with hand-churned butter. Both were very good.
I ordered the steak, which came with carrots and turnip, along with a mouse of artichoke heart. It was very tasty, prepared to my order, and of relatively modest size. Good, but not great.
My wife ordered the branzino, which she reported to be the best fish she had eaten in a while. It comes (head-on), roasted and covered with a hollandaise-like sauce, thin slices of lemon and small, fried potato rounds. A definite winner.
Dessert consisted of the daily special, an almond pear tarte in a cast iron skillet. It was very good. My wife ordered but didn’t particularly care for, the peanut butter ice cream, which comes in a paper cup. There are multiple ice cream flavors offered.
Our server was excellent, very professional but friendly.
This restaurant is a good choice if you are seeking something a little out of the ordinary in a comfortable but casual setting.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Revlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen Ellen Star also viewed

Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Glen Ellen Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing