We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost worth the trip alone”

Glen Ellen Village Market & Deli
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Almost worth the trip alone”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you're traveling anywhere closeby, you must stop at this market. It's amazing! Besides wonderful fresh produce, the breakfast bar, cheese selection, deli, olive bar, and all the other prepared foods will convince you to picnic at one of the billion wineries nearby. I would drive a long way just to shop at this market again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    50
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic deli, great for winery picnic lunches!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The deli here is worth the stop. We stopped there a total of three times while we were in the Sonoma area to pick up some lunch. We got sandwiches each time as we loved them so much, but there is so much more. There is a hot bar, salad bar, olive bar, several salads, and some other very delicious treats. The prices are very reasonable for how large the sandwiches are, and they were so kind as to take off cheese (I don't eat it) before they grilled the sandwiches. We picked up lunch three different days and brought them to different wineries (of course, only those that allowed outside food) to enjoy with some wine. Highly recommended! The Sonoma Market is the same, so stop there instead if it's closer to where you are!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minnidiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty deli with great selection”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The deli was our go to place for breakfast. We stayed across the street at The Chauvet and it was nothing to run out a grab a few breakfast burritos and coffees before going biking/touring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great market. Deli section was incredible with hot/cold food, made to order sandwiches, soups, etc. Great place to pick up picnic fare or grab a dinner and bottle of wine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great small grocery”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in a cottage rental during a recent trip to Glen Ellen, and we were able to find everything we needed for our stay at this market. Lots of great produce, wine, cheese, and a good salad bar. Very friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALibSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen Ellen Village Market & Deli also viewed

Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 

Been to Glen Ellen Village Market & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing