We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat and stay!”
Review of Glen Ellen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Ellen Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had our wedding dinner at the Glen Ellen Inn 5 years ago and they did a fantastic job. We decided to return for our anniversary and this time we stayed at the Cottages as well. Dinner was again great. And we were pleasantly surprised by the cottages. Although we had a few issues with the hot water, it was a great place to stay and we will undoubtedly stay there again next time.

Room Tip: Cottage #1 is wheel chair accessible so perhaps not the best shower. Cottage #2 seemed a bit bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyWidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 199 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

This secret cottage needs to remain a secret. When we entered cottage #2 we were immediately turned off by 2 big stains on the filthy carpet, stepping into the bathroom, I noticed cobwebs by the light and do not think anyone has stayed in this place for months, how could a cleaning person not see this!? I cringed sleeping on the bed that night and would not dare to step anywhere in the room without my shoes.....the room did have a basket of fruit and baked goods, I would not think of trying any.....got up early, left and would NEVER go back.....yuck!!! We stayed in Mendocino and Calistoga at other inns that were superb, this was certainly a zero.....

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ginger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Well I have to say I'm a little confused. Not sure if Stay1234 and the other negative review stayed in the same place I'm writing about. Right now I (and my love) are in cottage #2 and ready to hop into the jacuzzi tub. The room is very clean and very comfortable. We are here in the low season and at $140 our room seems reasonable so I have to say bravo Glen Ellen Inn, keep it up. By the way, we had both lunch and dinner at the Inn's restaurant and found both meals (as well as the service) very well prepared and presented - don't forget to try the crab potstickers!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights @ GE Inn in Oct 2013. Disappointed on multiple levels for the price and the previous solid reviews. Service in the restaurant was horrendous-- they rushed us through dinner and server appeared to be particularly unhappy. Perhaps a bad day?

The room was very dirty; e.g. cob webs, stained furniture, general disrepair. Overall it was reminiscent of a Midwest motor lodge, not an nice Napa inn. The linens were dollar store specials at best.

For nearly the same $$$, you can stay in Saint Helena @ Southbridge Inn which is absolutely gorgeous, spotlessly clean, and comes with the use of the spa and a free dynamite breakfast.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sail12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stayed at Glen Ellen Inn twice now and look forward to our next visit. The cottages are behind the restaurant (one of our favorite restaurants!) in their own private grouping, good-sized, nicely appointed, with very comfortable beds. It's a great location to use as a base for exploring the surrounding wine country. We prefer the Sonoma Valley much more than Napa Valley.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the cottages for a night while traveling throughout northern California. There are separate cottages and each have their own front patio with chairs. There is also a cute table sitting area overlooking a small brook. We stayed in room #2 which was very beautiful and had a great jacuzzi in the room as well. The bathroom is also very spacious with a large shower, sink, etc. They offer a complimentary basket of fruit, scones, and cookies which were delicious. I also recommend checking out the Glen Ellen Inn for dinner. It was delicious! We also were able to bring in a bottle of wine that we bought at a nearby winery. I cant wait to return again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I booked the hotel based on all the good reviews on Tripadvisor for our 9th anniversary on our trip to the wine country. I was hoping to enjoy the stay but was truly disappointed. We stayed at the #1 Cottage. First of, the rug underneath the bed was old and dirty in need of shampooing or just burned. Secondly, the bed cover also had seen its days. I wasn't quite sure if it gets washed after each stay and certainly not all the pillows & shams on the bed. After being quite disgusted, I went to the bathroom to take a bath, there was an used towel hanging behind the door. I knew it was used because I could see the stain. At this point, I started to question if they even clean the room before renting it out for the night. The clean towels are so old it started to shed off as you dry yourself. Needless to say, we didn't get a good night sleep since none of us are willing to cover ourselves with the questionable comforter. In the morning when we were trying to make some coffee in the coffee maker, of course, the pot was dirty. My husband and I ran out of that place as soon as we could manage and count it a haunted experience and never look back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
0.3 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
507 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
5.5 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
6.1 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.1 mi away
Jack London Lodge
Jack London Lodge
#2 of 3 in Glen Ellen
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Ellen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Ellen Inn

Address: 13670 Arnold Dr, Glen Ellen, CA
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range: $165 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bed-and-breakfast establishment known for its fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glen Ellen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Ellen Hotel Glen Ellen
Glen Ellen Inn CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing