We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Charming and relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at Olea. Kent was a fantastic concierge and gave us lots of advice for our wine tasting adventure. Olea is in the perfect location near many wineries and delicious restaurants, not to mention the included gourmet breakfast is excellent itself. Contrary to some other reviews the rooms were nicely sized, especially for the age of the hotel. Overall this is a beautiful and very comfortable place and we would definitely return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marymoomaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    45
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
341
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Nestled against the hillside in tiny Glen Ellen is a charming 12 room new (1 1/2 years old) hotel that offers the intimacy of a bed and breakfast inn. Coffee and wine are served all day in the lobby (until 9 pm) and a gourmet breakfast is served in the glassed-in porch from 8:30 - 11 am. And, when I say gourmet, I mean it. Ever had honey bourbon banana bread? It's yummy. The amenities in the room are environmentally friendly and top quality. Loved the robe and the shower head is the largest I've ever seen. There is even a switch to turn on the heated floor in the bathroom.

The location is superb and convenient for exploring the neighboring wineries in Sonoma. Sonoma Valley offers an entirely different wine country experience than Napa Valley and discovering this difference is a delightful experience. When we were there, Julie was manning the desk and overseeing the lobby activity. She is very knowledgeable about the surrounding wineries and tailors her recommendations to the guest's particular tastes.

If you are looking for a complete and comfortable getaway, The Olea Hotel will provide it.

Room Tip: There are two individual cottages available if you want even more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFTreeHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had a wonderful stay the Olea - warm, friendly service, fantastic, clean, cozy rooms, wonderful gardens and chairs/couches everywhere under the oak trees, great full breakfast, perfect job on the renovations, HDTV, wi-fi, good lighting. Staff all friendly. We would definitely recommend for couples and small groups for the occasional splurge stay and when visiting Sonoma Valley wineries. We did not partake of the hot tub due to rain but it looked inviting. They had wine out in the afternoon along with a Nepresso machine, tea and juice. We have zero negative comments and can't think of anything that needs improving (the glass top wash basin/vanity with see-thru glass was a little unnerving when you see your feet thru the sink!).

Room Tip: room 5 in the back corner upper level is furthest from the road - view of the hillside and wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobie0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay in Wine Country, a small hotel that feels like a B&B... casual and comfortable, yet with privacy and a sense of sophisticated luxury. (Full disclosure, I work for a hotel, so the owners offered me a complimentary stay. But I wouldn't write a review if every word of it weren't true!)
The property has two main buildings, one with the lobby, lounge, breakfast room and two lower units, and the other with 8 rooms on two floors. My king room had all the expected amenities of a newer hotel... flat screen tv, rain-forest shower, dual sink, etc. But there were thoughtful touches like a heated floor in the bathroom, DVD player (and free DVDs to borrow in the lounge), towels to use at the outdoor whirlpool.
For a relatively small property, the outdoor areas are wonderful. There is a wrap-around porch with seating outside each room, as well as a terrace with trees, fountain and lots of room to lounge in the shade or sun. The owners are also building a fire pit, which will be wonderful at night.
In the afternoons, they serve wine and juices in the lobby, and there was a fireplace in the adjoining lounge where you could curl up with magazines (People!!) or books from their library. So many small hotels don't have comfortable public spaces, but I could have spent hours there.
In the morning, the breakfast was huge and wonderful. I love fresh orange juice, and had at least 3 glasses. They offer a self-serve continental breakfast of yogurt, granola and (fabulous) scones as well. THEN, you go into the dining area and they serve a two course cooked breakfast... a hot biscuit with blood orange marmelade and fruit, then Eggs Florentine with hash brown potatoes. The menu apparently changes daily, so if you are staying more than one night, you won't get bored.
The staff was very good about getting me anything I needed (an ice bucket for some champagne? certainly!) and offered help with dinner reservations, wine tasting, sightseeing, etc.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms below the lobby are the largest, and also appeared to be wheelchair-accessible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFSusanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I've never stayed at a better serviced boutique hotel! The price is unbeatable for what you experience! WONDERFUL,KIND STAFF,offering to help with everything! We were able to leave our bags before checking in as to not miss our wine tastings. When we returned, they'd already put our bags in our room. We were floored! They didn't miss one detail in regard to making us feel like a million bucks. The breakfast was was one of the best I've ever had. There literally wasn't one negative to staying here. I'll recommend Olea to EVERYONE I know!

Room Tip: Stayed on upper hillside 2 queen room. Was sunny & bright. Not the quietest in regard to hearing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having read the glowing reviews , we were hopeful that this place was as wonderful as described. IT IS! It feels like both a resort and a B&B (without the floral comforter and forced conversation at a family style breakfast). Such a soothing atmosphere , attention to detail as well as a very helpful staff. The Jacuzzi feels private, the sheets, towels and toiletries are 5 star. This hotel was the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: The cottage was worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just a one night stay, but from the time we arrived and took glass of wine to the terrace and left after an amazing breakfast we just loved this gorgeous little hotel. Rooms nice ,clean and comfortable though the beds a little smaller than used to. Very attentive friendly staff offered great suggestion for local restaurants. If we find ourselves in the local again would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
6.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
5.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
9.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Property: Olea Hotel
Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd, Glen Ellen, CA 95442-8754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing