We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Olea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first trip to wine country and booked Olea based on Tripadvisor reviews. WOW a more perfect place could not exist. The staff, accommodations, food and setting is absolutely amazing. We spent 3 nights and can't wait for our next trip to Sonoma and the Olea. Thanks Olea for making our trip special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    45
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
352
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Having been to the wine country many times this is THE place to stay. Great staff,great food,great location.great breakfasts..don't miss glen ellen star restaurant down the street. Wine and snacks all afternoon. Could not have been happier.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FloridaChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I'm not sure how to accurately describe Olea... A gem, perfect getaway, a little piece of heaven... This starts to describe our stay. We were looking for a bed and breakfast for our stay in Sonoma and I came across this hotel. I am soo glad we didn't pass up this "hotel" for a B&B. It needs to change its name to something else bc it is not a "hotel". It is a super adorable, relaxing small boutique hotel.... It's small enough to give you that bed and breakfast feel, but big enough to give you space. Have I mentioned the breakfast?? Ah-mazing!! Loved eating breakfast outside under the trees on the patio. At night they have dessert and wine waiting for you.... Just describing this place makes me want to get back on a plane from Florida and stay a few more weeks! Do not pass this place up. You will be very disappointed! I know it is a bit pricey, but worth every penny! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location is perfect for visiting Sonoma and Napa wine country. The rooms are small, but very well appointed. Perfect bed.
Three course breakfast is excellent. Wine and refreshments throughout the day and night.
People very friendly and accommodating.
Only negative is the toilet paper and the fact that there is no lid on the toilet. Not very sanitary.
Otherwise, this is a very fine property.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage or as second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ajf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicVA
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights for our 30th anniversary and wine vacation. We hated to leave. The staff was exceptionally nice and service oriented. The beds were like sleeping in a cloud. The rooms were very spacious and beautiful. The chef created a very unique breakfast each morning. Wonderful place to stay. We loved Glen Ellen as well as the Glen Ellen Star Restaurant so close by!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSPPlanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay this past week at the Olea. One of the most welcoming places we have stayed. The people at Olea are what make it special. From the moment you arrive you feel as though your business is appreciated and your stay is important to them.

We stayed in room 5 and thought the room was well done. Bed is comfy, the bathroom is nice and it is clean and well maintained. Breakfast was very good and the evening wine a welcome addition. We enjoyed sitting on the patio in the late afternoon and just relaxing.

I would recommend this establishment. The only reason I don't give it a 5 rating is more due to the size and amenities (lacks a pool, etc). But I would stay again and I think anyone considering this hotel would be very happy if they like small intimate places.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmth308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer1979
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We LOVED our stay at the Olea Hotel. The setting is beautiful and romantic and the grounds are perfect for relaxing and reading while surrounded by nature and views of the rolling hills of Sonoma wine country. The staff are also excellent and they help make you feel like your visiting with family in an intimate setting. The breakfast in the morning is first class and we found ourselves looking forward to it every day! In the evening they put out wine and coffee and tea for everyone staying with them to have free of charge, which was great after a day of sight-seeing! The rooms are clean and beautiful and the amenities are great! I loved the organic and sustainable soaps and shampoos! I can not heap enough praise on the Olea Hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
6.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
5.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
9.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,048 reviews
13.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Property: Olea Hotel
Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd, Glen Ellen, CA 95442-8754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing