We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Glen Ellen”
Review of Olea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Oasis in Glen Ellen”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been to Wine Country several times over the years and the Olea Hotel has surpassed our previous experiences with its fabulous service and beautiful grounds, Right from the moment when we made our reservation to the check-in and through the lovely wine tasting and delicious breakfast to the late night deserts , the whole experience was 5 star. We would like to thank the owners Sia and Ashish, who were hands on and to the staff, specifically Julie who made it seem like we were the only guests at the hotel. Normally, my wife and I like to try new hotels but for the Olea we would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    47
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
356
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Polson, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Olea in early June on a wine tasting excursion. We were automatically upgraded from a queen size room to one of the adorable little cottages on the property with a king size bed. The cottage was fabulous. The bathroom was huge and had heated floors - heaven! The bed was better than a heavenly bed, I slept like a rock. They offered complimentary water and snacks in the room which was a nice touch. The evening dessert bites were so good, and a perfect ending after our dinner at The Fig. Breakfast the next morning was incredible! The pastries, yogurt and fruit were wonderful but the scrambled eggs on blue corn tostada with avocado mousse and garlic creme fraiche was spectacular. The only reasons I didn't give it 5 out of 5 were the lack of blinds in the upper cottage windows - we were wide awake by 6am when the sun was shining in, and we had no batteries in the remote for the heat/cooling system. We didn't really need it as the bed was incredibly warm, but we also didn't have a lighter for the fireplace. We would have asked for these things but didn't realize it until after 9pm when the lobby closes. Oh well, it wasn't a big deal and it didn't deter from the spectacular stay. We will definitely stay at the Olea again when we are in the Sonoma/Glen Ellen area! One thing to note - the parking is a bit tight and limited. I wouldn't recommend a big truck trying to squeeze in there, but our Ford Edge did ok. Oh, and the almonds as a parting gift were so yummy!

Room Tip: We didn't see any other rooms, but the cottages are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We visited the Sonoma/Napa wine country for the first time and stayed at the Olea after being given two nights there as a Christmas gift by our children. It was wonderful in every way, the included breakfasts were a delight, and everyone on staff was gracious and helpful. Whether it was the exquisite breakfasts or evening desserts, or sitting under the incredible oak tree during sunset, or the helpful and friendly staff everything was perfect. The room was simple but perfectly appointed with a very comfortable bed. Even though the hotel is right in the middle of wine country, it is on a quiet street in a quaint and picturesque little town. The only small suggestion I would have for improvement would be to have a mini refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was great with two windows. There are only twelve rooms and I think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A lovely little boutique experience in the town of Glen Ellen, the property is peaceful and absolutely gorgeous, with apple and pomegranate trees right outside your room you feel a million miles away from the city. The care and attention to every detail is evident from the welcome at check-in. Breakfast is a whole other story....I wish we could have stayed another week to enjoy the gourmet food prepared every morning!!!! Delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were amazing...Ashish and Sia you have done an incredible job! We wish we lived closer...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotmama007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexidog18
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! My sister and I visited in July for 5 days. We both commented on how comfortable to the bed was and how soft the sheets were. The breakfast in the morning is amazing...best breakfast I've had at any hotel/B&B I've stayed at. Loved the homemaid chai tea! Complementary coffee, tea, water, juice and wine all day long. Remember to ask for complementary dessert at night! Hotel owners and staff were great and always willing to provide suggestions on where to go/eat. Nice relaxing patio area with comfy couches/chairs. Olea also offers a service for shipping wine. Would definitely recommend this hotel to family/friends!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lexidog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a perfect way to start our trip in California. We loved everything about it. The gourmet breakfasts were amazing! The rooms a little small, but it wasn't a concern at all. It was very close to many wineries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My boyfriend picked this hotel and surprised me and I was totally happy. The front desk people, Chris and Julie, were outstanding, helping us with wineries, restaurants, hikes and everything. The breakfasts were so different (no buttermilk pancakes here!) and were delicious, like nothing we had ever had before. I would come back here just for the nice people and the small but fine room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
6.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
5.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
657 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
6.4 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
9.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Property: Olea Hotel
Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd, Glen Ellen, CA 95442-8754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing