We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olea is bliss”
Review of Olea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at the Olea and wished we had been able to stay longer. The staff were wonderfully obliging and we even had two deer turn up on our doorstep (room 8) one afternoon. The breakfasts were the best we've ever had and we will be back on our next trip to CA.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 507 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife, Ruth, and I booked a four-night stay at the Olea Hotel via SniqueAway. Based on TripAdvisor reviews, it appeared that this would be a special place. We were not disappointed! The staff was SO friendly and helpful (Kent Sorensen helped us so much with dining options, places to go and see, as well as waivers of the tasting fees at a whole host of Sonoma Valley wineries). The kitchen staff let us use their freezer and refrigerator for storing some perishable purchases, gave us some ideas for where to purchase some specialty groceries we were looking for, and the executive chef (Khambay Khamsyvoravong) graciously warmed up a leftover pizza for us (in her oven, not the microwave!) from the nearby Glen Ellen Star restaurant. The other staff (Chris, Julie, and Devesh) were also very friendly and helpful with sightseeing ideas, detailed directions, and serving our every need with care and thoughtfulness. Julie was very helpful and prompt in e-mail correspondence prior to our visit.

We stayed in one of the two cottages (#10) which was delightful - impeccably clean and so nicely furnished. The cottages have high peaked ceilings which give them a very large "feel." The cottages have a real wood-burning fireplace (with DuraFlame logs provided). The bathroom is very stylish with a heated tile floor, the best shower head we've ever experienced, and an elegant all clear glass wash basin and counter. Two pairs of bathrobes (one pair for trips to the hot tub and one for inside the cottage) are provided. Complementary snacks and bottled water are provided in the rooms (not to mention evening complementary wines in the reception area!). The cottages are "down low" on the property so they don't have the same view as further up on the hill (for example, the top floor of the building housing Rooms 1 through 8). They are, however, just a few steps away from the gorgeously landscaped and furnished hot tub area (see the accompanying photo).

The breakfasts included with the room rate were worthy of an elegant upscale restaurant. Each breakfast included a "continental breakfast" (I'll call it an appetizer) consisting of (while we were there) yummy miniature strawberry ginger scones, lemon poppy seed muffins, berry Dutch crunch coffee cake, house-made honey granola (verified - we saw Chef Khambay making it!), and assorted local yogurts. These were all served buffet style. The reception area had a wide selection of juices, coffee, and tea. After sitting down and enjoying the "appetizer" we were served by the very friendly and helpful Devesh Patel (the brother of the owner): a first course of an Olea olive oil rosemary muffin, house-made marmalade and seasonal fruit (different each day) followed by the main course (see the accompanying photos). All the entrées (as well as the first course) were elegantly plated and delicious. A nice touch was the handsomely laid-out menu provided at each place setting. Some of the other reviews have suggested that the portions are small. We did not find this to be the case. We both found the breakfasts filling and so satisfying. The only disappointment was that the breakfast entrée on our fourth day was a repeat of the first day's entrée - it was just as delicious the second time around, but we were looking forward to a fourth example of Chef Khambay's artistry.

Finally, if you have not previously visited the Sonoma Valley (as we had not), the Glen Ellen area is extremely picturesque and the Olea Hotel and its grounds are snuggled into the Sonoma hillside so very smartly making this a superb location for spending your time here.

Bottom line: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. We could not have received any better service nor a better lodging experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the two cottages. Number 10 is further from the street than Number 9. We heard n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A quiet, yet conveniently located hostelry nestled in Glen Ellen, found via T.A. and "Snique Away". We stopped one night w/c 15th. April on our trip through Sonoma Valley.
From the moment we arrived late afternoon; the experience was nothing short of excellence in many aspects; including the "welcome" from Chris and immediate help/assistance on the choices of dining, approx. 6 minutes walk from Olea. (Chris also helped on Winery choices/visits).
We stopped in Room 7 on the second (top) deck & the lookout, from the porch furniture, enjoying a complimentary glass of chilled wine went down very well, following our drive north from San Francisco that afternoon!
The room was well appointed and bed/pillows VERY comfortable. The "Californian Breakfast" of freshly baked Scones/Buns, followed by fruit/yogurt or a hot plate (European portion) was ideal start to the day!
Cannot forget Julie, who also provided a warm/professional charm @ Breakfast that topped off a very pleasing stop-over. We spoke to a couple of guests from Washington State, who had stopped @ Olea for 3 nights & their experience mirrored our sentiments above.

Room Tip: Room 7 on top deck was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTET96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I spent four days at the Olea Hotel and had a fantastic stay. Our room was clean and quiet with a great view out to the mountains and a semi private lounge space. It also had those little high end details you always look for including a rainfall shower head and heated floors in the bathroom.

Olea also provided a rotating plated gourmet breakfast each morning that made you never consider leaving the hotel for breakfast and wine / desert tasting each night. Both of these treats were very social in nature and led us to meet other people staying at the hotel.
The hotel is very much the boutique style hotel so only had 10 or so rooms. This allowed us and the staff to get to know each other on a first name basis. Made us feel like we were staying with friends.

It goes without saying but I must say it… We were spoiled and can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strickland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a last minute choice that could not have been luckier. Well located to walk into town. Kent at reception was beyond helpful and very interesting individual. His recommendation for dinner was just right. The reception area is chock full of information on things to do from spa to active pursuits and they will assist you with it all.
Beautiful setting in town but you feel like you are in a park as you enjoy a good glass of wine and snacks. The decoration of the main hotel and the rooms are really lovely. The bed is amazing like sleeping on a cloud.
Breakfast was superb with fresh juice, rosemary muffins with pear butter, eggs on grits and bacon.
We did not get to use it but there is a hottub that looked inviting.
i can't say enought. Thanks Olea for a wonderful stay. You have a great future. I think many will return over and over for this experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlacatNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Olea Hotel over the spring break and we could not have picked a better place! The rooms were totally updated, with a modern decor and many little extras which made the stay more enjoyable (ie. heated tiles in the bathroom, large TV, rainbow showerhead etc). The breakfasts were very gourmet and delicious! I can see how some may complain about the portions of the breakfast fare served not being big enough, but there are plenty of free extra muffins and scones to appease one's appetite. The owners were extra helpful and the area of the hotel could not have been better. Glen Ellen has many gourmet restaurants and, away from the more touristy Napa Valley, you never had to wait to make a reservation. Overall, it was the perfect romantic getaway. Even the wine tasting around the area are ;more generous and many were free.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 333Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I agree with the reviews already posted. This is an wonderful peaceful hotel - terrific staff, welcoming environment. Breakfasts were delicious! Wine & welcome available in reception. Kent was very helpful in guiding us to wineries. Chris was very helpful in checking us in. The rooms were very nice - modern bathrooms with warm tiled floors

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iris330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
6.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
6.6 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
666 reviews
13.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
9.5 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd, Glen Ellen, CA 95442-8754
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range: $271 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing