We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were looking for a place that was close to wineries and downtown Sonoma, enabled a one night stay (as many places required two nights), allowed small dogs, and was clean, comfortable and inviting. This was definitely the place. The sweet inn keeper personally showed us to our room, where we were welcomed with a cute little gift basket of treats for both us and our pup. The room was modern and incredibly comfortable. We eventually donned the plush bathrobes they provided (to stave off the cold outside) to make our way to the hot tub across the way, which was another nice treat. We also took full advantage of the evening wine and desert pairing and gourmet, plated breakfast, which was delicious. Definitely recommended (especially for those traveling with pups)!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    45
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
341
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first time to the area and we were celebrating my birthday . We stayed three nights and we still didn't get to do what we wanted . The hotel is very nice, but the workers is what makes this place. Everyone is so helpful with reservations and where to go. We liked the rooms and the snacks were a nice touch. I thought we would drink more of the that was offered, but we were "wined out." We really enjoyed the Friday wine tasting with a food pairing. They also have a port tasting with dessert in the evening. We enjoyed running in the area and Glen Ellen is close enough to everything. Thanks again for a wonderful birthday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micht123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Olea is a gourmet B&B with exceptional service and amazing food... Complete with its own in-house chef, Olea is the perfect getaway. We took our first family trip here with our 5-month old baby, and stayed in the upper cottage (which has the larger bedroom). The room was spacious enough for a Pack 'n' Play (Olea has one to lend out), fireplace and king bed, and the bathroom was new and modern, with a massive bathtub! The only one minor complaint I had with the room was that there were tiny flying insects inside, which I guess comes with staying in the middle of nature...
The staff were extremely accommodating and personable - it was so nice walking into the lobby morning and evening. Every afternoon, they have hot drinks, wine and olives, and each night they offer complimentary dessert with a dessert wine.
Don't skip the breakfast!! Luckily, they serve breakfast until 10:30am, so you can still sleep in and enjoy a 2-course meal plus pastries prepared by their in-house chef (who also happens to be a trained pastry chef). It's quite delicious, and probably the best food I've had at any B&B. Oh, and their house-made Chai is awesome!!
There is also a little deck area, which would be great when it's warm enough to eat outdoors.
This is a fantastic alternative to Gaige House (the other popular hotel in Glen Ellen) - service is on par, and food is definitely better... Plus, it's totally baby-friendly!
Would definitely choose to stay here again next time we're in Sonoma Valley.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cottages - much larger, more private and comes with its own patio and fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlee9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This new boutique Bed & Breakfast has all the things you love about B&B's-gourmet breakfast, snacks, dessert, wine service-without the things you don't love-sharing a house with strangers. My husband and I stayed in their exclusive cottage, which was private and peaceful. The decor is modern so it's not the rustic, country cottage you may be looking for. Instead imagine heated floors, a modern sink, and central heating. The bed itself was like sleeping on the cloud. The only other place we stayed with a bed more comfortable was in Arizona and that one was hard to beat. It rained most of the time we were there. But that suited us just fine. It gave us an excuse to sleep in. My husband did take advantage of their jacuzzi. It was tiny, but he said nice and private. The owner was kind enough to give us the Groupon deal though we booked after it came out. All in all, it was a perfectly romantic vacay!

Room Tip: I can't speak for the other rooms, but the cottage was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newlyweds608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at Olea Hotel over Thanksgiving weekend. Neither of us are into the old fashion B&B's that remind you of grandmas house and from what we could tell by the photos on the website this was not at all their style. We stayed one night in the main building (Room #2) and two nights in a private cottage. All of the rooms have recently been remodeled and have all the amenities one would need including heated bathroom floors which are a nice treat on a cold November morning and a wood burning fireplace in the cottage.

Overall I cannot come up with one negative thing to say about Olea. The staff was incredibly friendly and treated us like royalty. The two course breakfast which was included in your nightly rate was amazing and you could eat anytime between 8am and 11am. The rooms were very clean, newly remodeled and surpassed our expectations. The hotel itself has a beautiful hot tub and outdoor common area situated under a huge tree on the property. The property was very well cared for and had lots of outdoor space to relax and take in the scenery. From the hotel its a short 10 minute walk to downtown Glen Ellen which has several restaurant and grocery options.

I highly recommend this hotel and hope to make this an annual trip for the Holiday Open House.

Thanks again to Clay, Linda and the other employees at Olea who helped make this a very memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Top floor in the main building means you wont hear people walking around above you. Cottages are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwoolfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Beautifully re-modeled and I loved the laid back, but so helpful attitude of all the staff! We stayed in rooms 2 and 3, which were simple but elegant 1 King bed rooms on the first floor of a 2 story building, with I believe a total of 8 units. Heated bathroom floors took the edge off of one of their first cold mornings. We only stayed 1 night, but will definitely be returning. The complimentary wine and olives when we arrived, lovely 3 course breakfast and departing gift of almonds were the thoughtful touches that will create loyal customers. The outdoor elevated lounge area and hot tub were great relaxing locations on site. We visited the Glen Ellen Star less than 1/2 mile up the road, and had an AMAZING meal. To top it all off the Hotel is located within 1 mile of my favorite winery, Benziger which is bringing the fine art of Biodynamic wines to the forefront.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We took a quick getaway using a groupon, and had a wonderful stay! Kent was a gracious and welcoming host, personally showing us to our room and also being available to help us whenever we went down to the reception area. The dessert wine and food tasting was wonderful, as was the incredible breakfast! We loved the sheets, the lovely bath and heated floors. The architecture of the building is charming, and the details of the room enhanced our experience! Thanks for providing such a tranquil retreat!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauravdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
6.9 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
5.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
9.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olea Hotel

Property: Olea Hotel
Address: 5131 Warm Springs Rd, Glen Ellen, CA 95442-8754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into a hillside and surrounded by oak and olive trees in the heart of Sonoma wine country, Olea Hotel is a small boutique hotel with unique amenities, modern guest rooms, and an exceptional breakfast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Olea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenelly Inn & Cottages Hotel Glen Ellen
Glenelly Inn And Cottages
Olea Hotel Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing