We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of Beltane Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beltane Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winnipeg Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Our first night at Beltane was cancelled due to power outages. The staff found us a very suitable place to stay in Sonoma but we were so pleased to be able to go there for our second night when power returned. The rooms are homey, very clean and comfortable. The next day it poured rain and Alexa lit a fire in the living room and we read all morning. The views and grounds are outstanding and breakfast delicious and varied. We had smoked trout/vegetable pancakes one morning and it was yummy.

Rather than head into San Fran for our planned next night in the midst of the financial district, we stayed an extra night and didn't want to leave. It is a little expensive, but worth every penny. We will definitely make it our home on our next and hopefully longer trip to Sonoma. Thanks Ann and Alexa!

Bob and Louise Winnipeg Canada

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louchaboola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    24
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed in the cottage in June 2010. The grounds were beautiful and our daughter loved the cows and horses. The fresh baked cookies were a nice touch! The cottage was nice and quite clean. I was a bit disappointed in the lack of attention to detail at the ranch given the rates. The bathroom in the cottage could use a new floor and shower as they are funky and not in charming way. Some nice Aveda toiletries and complementary bottle of wine would have added the bit of luxury I was looking for. If you are planning to visit, I would recommend staying in one of the cheaper rooms where you could enjoy the ranch but at a more reasonable price. If you are looking for a great meal head to Saffron in Glen Ellen.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabbatical2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Its hard to sum up Beltane in just a few words. I stayed there for my 40th birthday with my entire family and we all agreed that it was an almost magical place. The rooms, grounds, staff, food, and experience were all amazing. I stay at quite a few B and B's and this one tops them all. Hats off to the staff at Beltane for making all of their guests feel at home and like family while staying with them.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VallyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The Beltane was absolutely excellent. We stayed in the main building in a lovely room overlooking the gardens and fields of grapes and Bob the cow, the a ranch pet. The owner and all of the workers were nothing short of fantastic. The chef, Laura, was schooled in cullinary arts and creates the best breakfasts using all natural ingredients directly from the ranch. The rooms were clean and well appointed. No TV which is just fine. The evenings on the balcony with the neighbors, some cheese and wine were much better than a heavy meal at a resturant. And Laura's fresh baked cookies were to die for. The location is also perfect for visiting both Sonoma and Napa. Book in advance because they are full most the time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamburgbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed in the Cottage for 2 days at the beginning of our trip in California.

Positive: clean, quiet and simple accomodations, excellent service, great breakfasts delivered to the cottage, beautiful gardens.

Negative: nothing we can think of...

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The Beltane Ranch exceeded our expectations in every way. The location is wonderful and the grounds are beautiful. We rented two of the upstairs rooms, #3 and #1. BOTH were perfect and had seperate sitting areas that turned into a twin bed if needed. We sat out on the porch after tasting wine during the day and enjoying a nice dinner at the Glen Ellen Inn. What a nice way to wrap-up the day. It is like taking a step back in time.

Very clean, very comfy and breakast was delicious.

Be sure to walk the grounds - there are surprises around every corner.

We loved our night at the Beltane Ranch and can't wait to go back some day!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We fell in love with the property and atmosphere. The ladies operating the Inn are warm and friendly. The location was great and the rooms comfortable. It was sort of like staying at grandma's house but only in all the good ways! We will stay here again to soak in the relaxing beauty of Beltane Ranch.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thezestytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
1.8 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
8.2 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
634 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beltane Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltane Ranch

Property: Beltane Ranch
Address: 11775 Sonoma Highway, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beltane Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the wine country and surrounded by estate gardens, vineyards and orchards, the historic Beltane Ranch sits on a hill overlooking the breathtaking Valley of the Moon. Guests enjoy walking trails, a tennis court, home grown produce and olive oil and incomparable sunsets on the sprawling grounds. The historic wineries, extraordinary cuisine and boutique shopping of the Sonoma Valley make for endless opportunities for adventure and exploration. Winner of Congressman Huffman's North Bay Sustainablity Award, Beltane Ranch is also a 100% Certified Sustainable Vineyard & Winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Beltane Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beltane Ranch Hotel Glen Ellen
Beltane Ranch Glen Ellen, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing