We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy spot, flavorful food---plenty gluten-free items”
Review of Yeti

Yeti
Reserve with OpenTable
Yeti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Glen Ellen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cozy spot, flavorful food---plenty gluten-free items”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

There's a feeling of stepping into an exotic yet rustic place as you enter the Yeti, which seems perfectly sited within the Grist Mill, a historical building on the edge of Glen Ellen. The restaurant is decorated in the saffron and red Himalayan colors, with Buddhist thangas hanging on the walls, The dining area overlooks an outside dining deck, which overlooks Sonoma Creek. High ceilings and dark woods reminded me of tea lodges in the Himalaya.
The food: None of the dishes are cooked with afsaetida (an Indian herb that often has wheat as its binding agent), which has to be avoided by those with gluten issues. My chicken tikka masala was yummy (not the best but definitely above average), served with basmati rice and a small salad. My husband had a flavorful lamb curry, basmati rice, masala khulcha (naan stuffed with potatoes and peas), and mango chutney. Naans, raita, and chutneys are extra and priced ala carte (at least at lunch time). For seniors, they offer a 15% off coupon, which is usually in the bi-monthly free Kenwood Press, which you can pick up at the Glen Ellen Market..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawaiibased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    47
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fresh Fusion Fare”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stopped at Yeti's after touring Jack London State Park, famished and without other eating options in the Jack London Village. We settled into a window table with a view and enjoyed a samosa appetizer, the tandoori chicken lunch special and an eggplant/potato combination. Even the chef in our group who doesn't usually select Indian food liked the presentation, the fresh fare, and the just right spice combination.The brass food carriers/chafing dishes on display added to the ambiance of an almost authentic dining experience. We definitely would go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGypsy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant, but needs more staff.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Wonderful food, wonderful tastes, decent atmosphere. However, as friendly and professional as the staff was, there were too few of them! They were consistently harried and took much time to attend to us, replenish water, take our order, etc.

Also, we ended up getting a table on the landing by the door - not good on a cold winter evening, especially with arriving guests practically sitting on our laps waiting for their turn to be seated. Try to get a table in the main seating area downstairs.

But we will definitely be back - the food is just too good to ignore.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and comfortable atmoshpere”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I found out when going to this restaurant for the first time that there is a community of Nepalese people living in the Sonoma Valley, and this is Nepalese food, which is similar to India tikka-type food. Love it and will be back many times. the location is in the Grist Mill, which is a very cool area to walk around.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbmoore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Almost a home run but the ball ended up going foul.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Yeti came close to hitting a grand slam tonight, but ended up leaving the bases loaded with only 1 run scored to tie the game in the 9th. I will go back to give them another chance in the future (extra innings), but they blew their opportunity for the walk off win.

A $25 gift certificate brought us in, and we were required to spend $40 for it to be honored... after having occasionally dined at their other restaurant in town (Himalaya), we had heard good things about this place and made the 20 minute drive to get there.

We ordered the Eggplant and potato masala, Vegetable curry, Kashmiri Pulao, Garlic cilantro naan, mango chutney and indian pickles.

Eggplant and potato masala: Delicious, and best dish we had. The eggplant was perfect.
Veg curry: Pretty standard, but veggies seemed high quality and flavors were nice.
Kashmiri Pulao: A disappointment as it wasn't pulao, but was a rice dish acting as pulao. Pulao is supposed to be made from rice, but beaten first. They just used regular grain rice... I just got back from India, and was excited for real pulao.
The naan was tasty, but was lacking in garlic. Beautiful presentation however.
Mango chutney: Kind of watery, nothing impressive.
Indian pickles: Authentic, though a bit soft in spicing. Overall enjoyable.

The food would have earned them 4, possibly even 5 stars tonight... but the following happened:

All of our food arrived, except for our naan. Naan is very important with Indian food, as you use it to eat everything else on your plate when eating traditionally. We ate about half our food somewhat frustrated, but finally put down our forks and waited. They obviously forgot to put the order in for our naan's. Ten minutes later or so, our waitress showed up with 1 naan instead of the 2 that we had ordered. Our food was cold by this point.

She didn't apologize, wouldn't admit to forgetting to order it, and didn't comp it on our bill later. All she could do was offer to order the 2nd naan that she forgot, which we declined. What a bummer.

Then on our bill they tried to over charge us for the chutney and pickle, and we had to point out the correct prices on the menu (this however is very authentic India so no stars lost), and then our waitress left our bill with my credit card waiting in it on our table for 10 minutes before collecting it to run our card so we could leave.

After talking to my parents later in the evening, I found out the last time they dined at Yeti their server also

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yeti also viewed

Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing