We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Certificate of Excellence
fresno
1 review
“Would not stay again.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in a 2 queen bed.Small room for family of 2 adults 1 baby. Restroom door opens inward towards toilet. You must edge against wall to enter and exit restroom. Smell of Garlic is overwhelming 6 days a week, got sick. Only Sunday is no smell of garlic. The Staff was great. But Hotel not so great. Stay in Morgan Hill. Worth avoiding the smell of continous garlic and restroom entry/exit challange. Pool had loud people past allowable time of 10pm. Rules not enforced. Hard Beds! Not soft enough for those who enjoy soft beds. Doors make loud slam noise so close carefully. We would not stay here again. Breakfast is ok.

Room Tip: Stay in morgan hill and fork out the extra money for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FresnoRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I would like to apologize for your unhappy experience in the City of Gilroy and at our hotel. With respect to the smell of garlic, there is really not much we can do. Gilroy is known as the Garlic Capital of the World, and is the home of the Gilroy Garlic Festival which is now in its 33rd year. The processing of the garlic is done a large part of the summer and most of our guests seem to enjoy it. And, if the wind is blowing a certain way, you can smell it sometimes in the City of Morgan Hill. I am sorry you felt ill because of the garlic smell.

With respect to the room itself, I am also sorry you felt the room was too small, there was difficulty using the bathroom and that the beds were too hard. Since we do receive compliments on how nice our rooms are and how comfortable the beds are, I believe it must be each persons preference regarding these issues. I am sorry you did not find ours to your liking. Where you choose to stay on your future visits is most certainly your choice, but I don't know that you can speak for others.

And, with regards to the rules of our hotel. We do enforce our rules, but there are times when guests using the pool and spa lose track of the time. We will usually check the area and if someone is still in the pool we do ask them to return to their rooms. If there were people in the pool past 10pm and we did not realize it, a simple call to the front desk would have taken care of it.

With respect to the breakfast, I feel this is also a personnel like or dislike amenity. We offer the hot continental breakfast to our guests and it is their choice to enjoy it or go to a restaurant.

If you have any other concerns, please contact us at (408) 848-5144.

Thank you,

Sandy Lee, Senior Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    194
    95
    40
    22
See reviews for
229
140
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times on our trips between San Diego, where we live, and San Francisco, where our son attends college. On our last two trips, we decided to take our dog with us. We discovered that this is truly a "pet-friendly" hotel! When we checked in this last trip, we were presented with a very nice canine care package which included dog food, a bottle of water, dog treats, and a clean-up baggie. Our room was on the first floor right next to the exit at the back of the hotel -- very convenient for those early morning/late night walks! With or without a dog, this hotel is quiet, conveniently located, and very comfortable and clean. The complimentary breakfast is very good and the hotel service, overall, is excellent. We have at least three more trips before our son graduates and we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggiedad4418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

we travel often to gilroy area and have found forest park inn wonderful. the beds are amazing and the service and breakfasts are outstanding. we sometimes forget phone chargers and computer outlets and they manage to always have a solution to our problem. we will continue our stay here when in this area.

Eduardo

Room Tip: rooms with hot tub are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was so close to the outlets. There are ample restaurant options close by and the hotel is a very comfortable bonus. There were tour buses that came in late in the evening creating a bit of noise but once all were settled it became quiet and peacful again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCHockeymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Best Western PLUS Forest Park Inn for your stay while in the Gilroy area. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to your next visit. In the future our friendly front desk agents can assist you with coupons and information on our Shop & Stay Package with the Gilroy Premium outlets.

Sincerely,

Jasmina Patel
Sales and Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our experience with this hotel was excellent! Until we got home and realized that we had been double billed for our stay. We booked and paid through a travel site. The Hotel didn't "see" this on our reservation and billed us again. We called the booking travel company, who in tern called the hotel manager and got it straightened out. A hassle we didn't need in time or finances. Would I stay here again? ABSOLUTELY! But I would be all over the payment booking situation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymypossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Please let me apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with respect to the double billing during your stay at the Best Western. On occasion, it is not always clear that the reservation has already been paid for at the time the it is made through a travel company. We are extremely glad you did enjoy the hotel and will be coming our way again. The issue has been discussed with the desk agents and we will make every effort to keep this from happening again. To you or any other customer.

If we can do anything else, please do not hesitate to contact us and (408) 848-5144.

Sandy Lee, Senior Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

ok, i know gilroy is not the first place one thinks of when one wants a get a way, you must LOVE garlic:) stayed at the best western forest park inn this past weekend while attending the garlic festival. super, super nice owners/staff. upon arrival, told them my name to check in and i was told that i was "best western member of the day", had my name on the wall and everything, how fun is that!!! they gave me a little gift basket with misc items but i thought it was a very nice touch. would have still rated them great without that little surprise.

nice enough room, really comfy bed and feather pillows. traveled with a friend so we appreciated the seperated toilet/sink/shower area, very convenient when two of you are trying to get ready. quiet room, at least where we were located, room 339. i didn't go down to the breakfast area but my traveling friend did and she said it was very busy, but that's to be expected on this type of a weekend. she did say everything was replenished which is more than i can say for most of those kind of free breakfast things. overall, if i were to return to gilroy, i would definetly stay at this best western, it is by far the best of the offerings in gilroy. the rate was just ok, but i'm sure that was also a little hight due to the festival weekend.

Room Tip: get a room on the back of the building, facing the hills, nice views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for staying at our establishment in Gilroy,CA. I am so glad that you enjoyed being our
"Rewards Member of the Day"! We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

-Ranger Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have stayed at hotels where the air conditioner hums quietly, not this one though. Fortunately I had ear plugs. Also the smell of the food from the Black Bear next door was awful. I don't like the smell of greasy food. That said, I still give it a VERY GOOD rating because it was spotless, spacious with a very comfortable king bed. I like the way the top and bottom sheet was wrapped around the comforter so it didn't touch me and I didn't have to toss it into the closet like I often do. I really liked the shower, perfect pressure and the rounded out shower rod made it roomy. The breakfast was fine for that sort of "feed the masses" thing. The person in charge of the breakfast room was so pleasant and cheerful while she worked so hard to please everyone. Tasty fresh fruit, awful juice. Real eggs! If I come to Gilroy again, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: The rooms either face the parking lot with hot morning sun, or the pool with possibly more noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onenightstay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwforestparkinn, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western PLUS Forest Park Inn. My staff enjoys providing our guests with top quality hospitality and the best amenities. I look forward to visiting with you when you are in the Gilroy area. Ask the friendly front desk agents about me -- Ranger Roy Parks - the Best Western's newest forest ranger mascot!

Sincerely,

Ranger Roy Parks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilroy
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gilroy
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gilroy
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gilroy
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgan Hill
Hampton Inn Morgan Hill
#1 of 13 in Morgan Hill
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Gilroy
Days Inn Gilroy
#9 of 9 in Gilroy
231 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Morgan Hill
Comfort Inn Morgan Hill
#5 of 13 in Morgan Hill
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn
Address: 375 Leavesley Road, Gilroy, CA 95020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Gilroy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Gilroy hotel offering all the comforts and conveniences of home and near key area attractions and businesses.Whether traveling on business or staying for a relaxing getaway, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn is the ideal place to stay. Located in Gilroy, California, guests staying at this hotel will be treated to all the comforts of home while being conveniently located to a variety of area businesses and attractions.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn offers beautifully appointed guest rooms all with private balconies to enjoy the peaceful Gilroy nights. Each warm and spacious guest room at this Gilroy hotel comes fully equipped with a refrigerator, coffeemaker, cable satellite television with HBO®, in-room movies, Nintendo® and high-speed internet access. Guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, spa and steam room, exercise facility and meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 150 guests.Within a short car ride from the hotel, guests can enjoy spending the day touring a variety of area wineries. Families especially will enjoy being located just three miles from Gilroy Garden Theme Park. Shopping enthusiasts will appreciate this hotel's close proximity to the Gilroy Premium Outlet Mall. Gilroy also hosts a variety of events year round including the Gilroy Garlic Festival and Hollister Biker Rally.Make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Forest Park Inn and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Forest Park Hotel Gilroy
Best Western Forest
Best Western Gilroy
Gilroy Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing