We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for BBQ”
Review of Barbeque 152

Barbeque 152
Ranked #10 of 127 Restaurants in Gilroy
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Gilroy, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent place for BBQ”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had the tri-tip and pulled pork two meat meal. Both excellent and tender. Choices of two sauces at the table and both good. Will definitely be returning to this place. Side options are limited but good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chip144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    34
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Barbeque 152 in Gilroy”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Best BBQ I've eaten in a long time! I had the ribs and they just fell off the bone - really good food and the staff is very attentive and nice. The only comment I would suggest is maybe clean the air vents in the ceiling, we sat under one of the vents and you could see the dust and glime on them. We moved to another table just to make sure nothing fell in our food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Service; Great Food; Great Find”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Tripadvisor paid dividends on a recent trip; driving down through Gilroy at lunchtime we looked up local restaurants and on the recommendation chose 152. What a great place! The smell of the smoker as we entered was enough to pique our hunger and the food was all great. We had a mixture of ribs and pulled pork all of which were great. The beer selection is very good and they are happy for you to try them so you get a pint of what you actually want.

All of this was above expectation but the thing that really made this was the help of the manager, Gabrielle (hope I've got the name right, it was a few weeks ago). She could not have been more helpful in her enthusiasm around the food; common sense about recommendations and wonderful customer service. If you own this restuarant - don't lose her!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“pulled pork, yeah”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We drove through Gilroy looking for lunch and ran into this bbq place. Ordered the pulled pork and tritip sandwiches. We decided to share. Both fully loaded and great tasting sandwiches. Great choice, although I liked the pork better, they're both very nice. When you go, get the large for only a little more, bit twice as big as the small. You'll love it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paraplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, funky spot”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Good brisket and pulled pork, have an occasional musician in the corner and the best selection of micro brews in miles. Grab a plate and a pint, relax for a moment and get back on the road kind of place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbeque 152 also viewed

 

Been to Barbeque 152? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing