We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tom Bodet never stayed here!”
Review of Motel 6 Gilroy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Gilroy
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Reviewed July 5, 2009

What a pit. We supposedly upgraded to a room/suite with a refrigerator, microwave, and hot plate. The refrigerator was almost as loud as the freight train that came by in the middle of the night and the cooling/heating system was a close third. Our upgraded room was on the third floor and the elevator was broken 90% of the time during our visit. We had a lot of stuff and 2 dogs which made the trips up and downs the stairs a real joy. The one highlight was the best shower head I have ever used, it was fantastic. And, we felt the staff was working hard to do the best with what they have to work with. The cheaper price for the room was not worth it at all.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riderdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2009

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for the night and thought the Motel 6 looked nice for the price. This place was terrible.... the hallways and elevator smelled like cigarette smoke. no shampoo/conditioner/toothpaste in room. we called the front desk to get two more pillows and they said they didnt have any other pillows...what kind of hotel doesnt have at least a few extra pillows lying around?? i will never stay here again. the Ramada in Gilroy is much nicer for the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crayon143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We just got back from staying there for the Gilroy Garlic Festival...

Here are the things I found:
Pros
- price was right for place in town during garlic festival

Cons
- Had reservations for non-smoking room - they gave me smoking,,,,room was smelly
- air conditioning was broken,,,on one setting,,,freezing
- Graffiti on the inside of the shower curtain holder
- Filthy curtains with holes and tattered
- Not the best housekeeping - floors and bathroom
- Pool not heated
- Next to railroad tracks and fwy - noisy all night

More cons than pros...probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfamincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I tour by motorcycle, and normally stay in budget motels in order to save traveling money for fuel and nicer meals. That being said, the Motel 6 in Gilroy was great! Front service was courteous, the room was clean, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. I really could find no complaints about this site other than the fact that the walls are paper-thin...if you are modest, be careful of what you say, or do, in your room!

Overall, a great place to stay when traveling through the central coast area. I will come back!

Also, there is a cafe called the "Sunrise Cafe," which is adjacent to the motel, and the food was excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R1200rtpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We thought we would save a few bucks and try Motel 6. We asked for a room with two queen beds but I think all they had were double beds which they said were queens. The room was clean but on the small side. The bathroom was not all that well stocked with just a few thin towels and some bars of soap. No shampoo. The motel was on the noisy side and we could hear people bumping around above us and going up and down the hallways late into the night. I am not sure I would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

Where do I begin? Ok .. so first ... it was dirty .. the floors ... the sheets .. the towels .... just a big yuck. This place is suppose to be fairly new ... well they are not keeping up their place. Train sounds all night. Someone's car alarm going off till 9 AM. They don't tell you they are charging extra for WiFi. They lay this charge on you upon checkin. So, after I pay the extra 3 bucks it doesnt work. I call the tech number and came across one of the most rudest people I have ever encountered. Ended up having to give my spouse the phone because of his rudeness. And the WiFi still isnt working. Told the desk ... they said they were sorry. Thats it. Don't stay here. It's not worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank judedevereaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We stayed here for the Garlic Festival, July 2006. Even though we waited until the last minute, we were still able to get a room at this budget motel right off the 101, which shares a parking lot with the Hilton Garden Inn. We had a small, very clean room with a double bed and a very nice, very clean bathroom with what looked like a brand new shower. The staff was friendly, the room was nice, the parking ample...all for half the price of the Hilton Garden next door.
The restaurant on the property, however, left a lot to be desired. Don't bother. Drive up the road into town and find a couple of different options.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank talkinmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilroy
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Gilroy
Days Inn Gilroy
#8 of 9 in Gilroy
251 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Forest Park Inn
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 9 in Gilroy
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gilroy
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gilroy
12.2 mi away
Best Western Rose Garden Inn
Best Western Rose Garden Inn
#1 of 10 in Watsonville
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Gilroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Gilroy

Address: 6110 Monterey Rd, US 101/South Valley Freeway at the Monterey Road exit, Gilroy, CA 95020-9502
Location: United States > California > Gilroy
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Gilroy
Price Range: $72 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Gilroy 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Motel-6, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Gilroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Gilroy Hotel Gilroy
Motel Six Gilroy
Gilroy Motel 6
Gilroy Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing