We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good but”
Review of Sushi Omakase

Sushi Omakase
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Omakase is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 126 Restaurants in Gilroy
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 152
Transit: Greyhound & Bus Lines, Amtrack & Train station 1 mile away Local bus stop at shopping center
Gilroy, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very good but”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

very good but portion size has become smaller ,service was good. it is not a place for atmosphere

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank none60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Great food service and value.”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I had the kobe beef and Sashimi salad. Outstanding! The people were nice and made me feel right at home. Now I was early so it might be less attention with a full crowd but I imagine they will still be responsive. Full choice of items too!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freerstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good service, yummy salad dressing, hungry husband”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We ate here with extended family that included three children on a Saturday night. Located in a strip mall, the atmosphere was not the selling point. This was a first visit for all of us. I ordered a dinner combination bento box with 6 pc tuna sashimi and a california roll for ~$18. It was very good and was accompanied by some delicious oil with crushed vegetation in it. It tasted strongly of horseradish, but was a lovely green. The dinner included a sizeable mixed green salad with sesame dressing, rice, picked cucumber salad, a shredded seaweed salad, rice and miso. My husband ordered the spicy sashimi salad, which he was told would be enough for his whole dinner. It was not. Luckily, there were leftovers from the bento box and our son's "Japanese chicken strips" (panko breaded chicken breast, cut into strips and served with the sesame dressing) to fill him up.

The waiters were very good with kids, attentive, and efficient. The waiting time for our food was relatively short.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SubarcticHomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
1 review
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Love the food but the service can be a little inconsistent! The pricing is pretty good and they take restaurant.com certificates. Sushi is pretty hard to come by in this area so when a decent place is found you have to try it out. Can be busy on weekends so get there early...they take reservations but when you get there it has usually been given away(back to the inconsistent service)! Justin and Matt are both great servers!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jrcreate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Omakase also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Omakase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing