We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginger Cafe

Ginger Cafe
Ranked #20 of 126 Restaurants in Gilroy
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

have been going there for years, i think it is the best chinese food in Gilroy

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie7462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The menu is so great as it has a wide variety which I love and which isn't so common in Gilroy. Lunch menu has lots of dim sum options and soup. I used to get the wor won ton soup and was never unhappy. I have liked everything I have eaten there. The rice in lotus leaves is really nice. It has Chinese sausage and the leaves give the rice a nice tea-like aroma - delicious.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Quasibonko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get the catfish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We love Ginger Cafe. When my husband and I can't decide if we want Chinese, Vietnamese or Japanese we go to Ginger Cafe. They have a great blend of everything. Sometimes I find food from Chinese places to be really dry and no flavor, but Ginger Cafe never disappoints. We love all the vegetable dishes because they are fresh and crispy. We love the Catfish. We have never been disappointed with any of the dishes there. So if you live in Gilroy or are passing through town I would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookeBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot in Gilroy for Outlet shoppers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

Five of us met for lunch. Parking is fair as Ginger Cafe is next door to Fresh Choice so at lunch both restaurants filled the parking lot. Ginger was about 1/3 full on a Wednesday at noon. We were able to choose where we wanted to sit and arrange tables if we wanted. Restroom was clean and attractive. Restaurant has modern Asian decor, very appealing. We chose to order from the lunch menu so our meals were around $8 each which included soup and rice, either white or fried. However, NO substitutions! So soup was egg drop with a little chicken and corn. You can add a small salad for $1. Portions were perfect, no leftovers! I bought Mongolian Beef which was tasty and spicy. Many of their selections are double chilis for spice. However, one friend ordered Kung Pao chicken (which we all agreed should be spicy by definition!) with NO spice and the kitchen did it. I shared with a friend who had the curried chicken. This was made with coconut milk and was delicious, having veggies like cauliflower and eggplant. Both of my dishes had just the right amount of spice (2 chilis) for us. The minced chicken in lettuce cups was huge considered it is a small plate. We all tasted it and deemed it very good. The white rice was a good choice so we could eat us all the yummy sauces!

The price is a little higher than norm for the area for Chinese lunch but we were OK about that, given the atmosphere and food. I would have preferred some choice in soup. The lunch menu does not show off the kitchen. For example, the vast majority of the dishes are chicken and beef with one sweet and sour pork and two prawn entrees.

There is also a location in Sunnyvale.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 7continentKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great eats in Gilroy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

The Ginger Cafe is a gem tucked away in the Gilroy outlet. They also have a Sunnyvale location. On this occassion, my husband and I dined after outlet shopping and we were pleasantly surprised! The food was excellent, the service was fantastic and the price was right. And to top it all off, they offer quite a few vegetarian options. We'll definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate3370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ginger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing