We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast place, everyone knows OD's!”
Review of OD's Kitchen

OD's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 127 Restaurants in Gilroy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great breakfast place, everyone knows OD's!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food is always fresh, staff always friendly. Great omelettes on the menu, but lots of fruit, yogurt etc available. Food is served right away, always hot and breakfast can just make your whole day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calicoRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would eat here again.”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had an excellent 15 bean soup, a good spinach salad and an azzkicker chicken sandwich with a salad that was also good and two big mugs of hot tea. The bill was under $20 for two of us. The waitress was very friendly and prompt and we had the place to ourselves for about 1/2 hour until two tables of locals came in. (Always a good sign.) This place looks a little rough from the outside, but I'm glad we gave it a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelaunt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, Usa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Big Food Diner Style”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Located in old town Gilroy. We stopped in about 3:00 on a Saturday and had no problem getting a table. The staff greeted us at the door, handed us menus and we seated ourselves next to the front window. The menu is huge with a lot of diner style choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. He ordered the country fried steak and eggs and I ordered a grilled chicken sandwich with green chilies. The food was good, but not as great as I expected based on the reviews I read before arriving. The service was excellent and all the staff was helpful and friendly. The prices were very reasonable for the large portions. The country fried steak was large and tasty, but the hash browns were overdone, nearly burned. The chicken sandwich was good, but the bread on the bottom was pretty soggy. Based on other reviews I would go back again and try the Rib eye steak and eggs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You haven't lived until you've had "The Kitchen Sink"!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you want to eat the BEST breakfast in town, you'll find it here! I've had just about everything on the breakfast menu, and I haven't had anything that I didn't like. The prices are very reasonable, and the service is great. They are VERY busy on weekends, and there is at least a 20 minute wait. This place is a "seat yourself" place when it's NOT busy, and they'll call you by name if they are busy. If you don't feel like waiting to eat there, you can always order out, or call in and order takeout. It can be VERY hard to phone it in when they're busy, so have patience...It's worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elissa516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast > No Garlic Chunks, Just "Spread"”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a very good bang for your buck. The best prices for breakfast in town. The service is generally very attentive and they keep the coffee refills coming. When we've managed to arrive in time to sit in the front part of the restaurant, we've found it to be a completely different experience than if we are forced to sit in the back area. Kind of like a big impersonal, uncozy room. As if one was at the local Catholic church hall to play bingo.
If you arrive past 9:30/10:00ish you will have to wait outside, and forget weekends > lots of waiting.
Breakfast all day so if you want to wait 'til lunchtime when it's quieter that might be a better decision. Their lunch menu looked adequate and quite a few choices but we always eat breakfast. Their bacon is awesome!
My disappointment was that the garlic omelette had a garlic "spread" consisting of olive oil and pureed garlic smeared inside the omelette which just made the food oilier and greasier than it already was. I expected garlic chunks on top, as in most other restaurants. Gilroy is known as "Garlic City" and is famous for its Garlic Festival every summer. So why be ashamed of it?! Come on OD's live on the wild side and show your city pride by sprinkling fresh, raw garlic on top of your "garlic" dishes! I dare you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OD's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to OD's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing