We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
CheapTickets
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
21
21
8
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
21
21
8
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 56 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this 1870 Victorian B&B two nights. Can't get in before 3:30, so don't try. We got a nice tour of the public parts of the home upon our arrival. Got good recommendations for dinner. The breakfast was scrumptious. We were able to enjoy the saltwater pool in the backyard with 95+ temperatures.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank geraldh463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018

The photos make this accommodation look charming but the reality is the place is run down. Holes in the wall paper, chipped paint, dusty pot pourri containers, antiquated plumbing, tired shower curtain, as well as traffic noise throughout the night . The killer is the price tag for a one night stay: $338 Canadian! Save your hard earned money and find a Best Western.
To be fair the hostess knows her wineries and gave us helpful sight seeing information. Breakfast was excellent.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018

The Hope-Merrill House in Geyserville is a quiet retreat from everyday life. The inn is set in wine country and is the source of award winning wines itself. One of the first things you notice as you drive up to the quaint bed & breakfast are the rows of grape vines growing next to the house. The owners of the inn hold an annual event, where guests can participate in the wine-making process. Wines produced by those taking part in this event are then entered into competitions.

Participants of the wine making program form groups and harvest the grapes, work together to create wine labels, and blend the wine. All meals are provided during the four-day event. Those who take part in the special event also receive a souvenir T-shirt and two cases of the wine that they make.

The décor of the Hope-Merrill House is exquisite. Great effort is made to keep the ambiance of the house in its original form. The front door of the historical building is secured with a 140-year-old lock. Upon entering the main hall, guests feel as if they are going back in time. The house was built in 1870, and furnishings, paintings, and other household items have been placed throughout the house to maintain the feel of the time period.

The house itself is a work of art. The wallpaper has been specially designed as close to the original style as possible. It is hand-made, silkscreen paper made by Bruce Bradbury. Bruce makes reproductions of paper developed by the original decorator, William Morris, for some of the rooms. He also creates original designs in the Morris style. Patterns are specially crafted to fit the unique structure of each room. The outside grounds are just as beautiful as the house. Besides the mini vineyard, a beautiful garden is maintained. A large pool and lounging area are also available for use.

A delicious hot breakfast is provided each morning at 9:00 a.m. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate are available 24 hours a day as well. When you stay at the Hope-Merrill House, Cosette will be happy to pack a picnic lunch for you. Make a day of wine tasting, a picnic, and a walk along the sculpture trail. Since the inn participates in the art tour, it is easy to start and end your day right at the house.

The Hope-Merrill House has eight amazing rooms, all of which have private bathrooms. WiFi is offered, as is a community computer, phone, and fax services. Beer, wine, juice, and water are available for purchase. Shopping, restaurants and six different wine tasting rooms are within walking distance.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cookie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

Hubby and I have stayed in our fair share of b&b's both nationally and internationally. As a lot of other reviews state, the host should not be in any sort of customer service position - she is probably the exact opposite of someone that should be running a B&B/greeting guests. BUT our interaction was fairly brief and we easily enough let it slide. The room/house really is (to me) adorable and takes you back to the Victorian era. Oh, and side note, the host will not approve of ANY adjectives you give to describe the place, so don't try. Anyway...we did not have time to even take a gander at the pool, so I can't give any opinion on that which others have stated was in less than desirable condition.
Pros:
Place took me back to Victoria era living and I loved that.
Cons:
Breakfast time is only once and at 9am. HOWEVER, I thought it very kind to have been left a little breakfast goody box in the refrigerator for our early exit.
Overpriced.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sheri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

This was my first time @ a B&B. I was hesitant primarily because I usually stay in hotels when traveling. There was a daily community breakfast served promptly at 9am and the food was wonderful.
I stayed in the Sterling room which had an external entrance and the room was beautiful. I would say the only downside was the night lighting to the room which could be much better especially if unfamiliar when you exited.

Room tip: This is the only room with an external entrance/exit.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews