We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine making made easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Geyserville B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wine making made easy”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently finished the 2 nd weekend of our "pick and press" stay at Hope Merrill. Our first weekend was in September to pick and crush grapes to make our own wine. We shared this project with 3 other couples.
Last week we went back to taste, blend, bottle, and label our wine. Not only was it a great time, but our hosts Ron & Cosette were great! Ron took us out to the grapes on the property, to pick and press the grapes, then instructed us in the art of wine making.
Then came our hostess Cosette! What a gourmet experience she provided us! Legendary breakfasts and remarkable dinners.all of this on the grounds of a restored Victorian 1870's mansion. Need a recommendation for you free time? Cosette was there to point you to whatever you were looking for. We also received "VIP" tours of a different local winery each trip after experiencing a private tasting from the wineries personnel the night before at our dinners. Oh ... And all the tasting was included. ,!
All in all a great experience

Room Tip: Take your pick, it's wallpaper heaven. The Stirling suite is the premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverrat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

From our check in to our departure we were treated to a unique experience by proprietors Ron & Cosette. Their friendliness and knowledge of the area were true assets an added to our enjoyment of the weekend. Room was very nice, large and well appointed. Comfortable bed. The town is small but close to a number of areas with just about anything one would need. Our stay included a pass to free tastings for a huge number of local wineries. Breakfasts were almost too much but excellent in variety and quality. Even made gluten free for one of the other other guests. Local eateries are limited but Rustic at the Francis Ford Coppola winery is close and outstanding. Many more in Healdsburg, about 8 miles away. Hard to say when the opportunity to return might come around but we would definitely choose the Hope Merrill House again and would likely adjust our plans to stay there. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Victorian Room is at the front of the house on the street however, traffic is almost nonexistent so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTouchOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Geyserville is the perfect location for wine tasting in the Dry Creek Area. Quaint town and friendly town folks. Checked in and were rudely treated by Innkeeper Cosette. I agree that she is odd and judgmental. On a very busy weekend event Annual Winter WINEland the four of us were the only ones in the Inn. Very bad sign. This place should of been all booked. Bedding dated, carpet dirty, very long wait for hot water. I understand with a fully booked establishment we would have to wait for hot water. With only 4 people in the Inn this should not of been an issue. At breakfast we were giving the wine tour lecture. She scuffed at the wineries we had planned to visit. She was rude to her husband and admonished him in front of us. I have never had this type of experience in my life at a B&B. The breakfast was the only thing that was great. We all laughed about it and did not let her ruin our fab weekend in Sonoma County. Come to Sonoma County just pick a different B&B

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blueoceandesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a random wine country trip. It was great. Our breakfast was awesome, not just for the food but our hostess Cosette gave us all sorts of good info about the wineries in the area. We were in the downstairs room with the jacuzzi bathtub which was great to say the least. And their hose wine was great. I read some bad reviews on this place which made me weary at first but it turned out great. I would recommend this B and B to anyone.

Room Tip: Get the room with the jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had the same experience as shgr8escape describes. Cosette is odd and judgmental. She came out to lecture everyone at breakfast, while she was holding the fruit bowl (which made it impossible for anyone to access to fruit!) She seemed to take a lot of joy in making negative comments about pregnant women she had observed at winetastings, and how much she wanted to tell them off. This subject had nothing to do with anyone at the table, and was not raised by anyone there. It was unpleasant. The husband, however, was a very pleasant man and had good recommendations for restaurants for dinner. The location is extremely convenient and quiet. There was a large tub in our room, which was luxurious & much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We saw this inn on Eye of the Bay SF Television
Could not have been more different
The hosts were very cold, the property, inside and out leaved much to be desired
We saw at least a couple of K$ of upgrades that were needed
Maybe we were hooping for more, but we can not recommend this B&B at all
Although, the breakfasts were wonderful
I think there are many other B&Bs well worth considering

Room Tip: Avoid The bedding is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Hope-Merrill house definately needs some sprucing up, to the outside paint and gardens. Our Room had spotted carpets and and air conditioner that was loud all night. Taking a shower meant you were either freezing or scalding when someone else used the shower. The sheets were thin as was the comforter. Couln't use the fireplace since there was no key to turn it on and it had rained that day. Hopefully the pool will be operating in a month as it gets hot up there during the summer. The breakfasts were good and the hostess was very knowledgeable about the winieries in the area

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank odette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geyserville
0.5 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
277 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
6.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
7.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
480 reviews
6.6 mi away
Calderwood Inn
Calderwood Inn
#5 of 15 in Healdsburg
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 21253 Geyserville Ave, Geyserville, CA 95441
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Geyserville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Geyserville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in Geyserville, a small town in the fertile Alexander Valley, where the traveler will enjoy some of the most spectacular views of the wine country in California. Nothing is more beautiful than the vineyard scene, and the vineyards of the north coast of Sonoma County are some of the most magnificent in the world. The Inn offer a grand view of Geyser Peak, the worlds largest geothermal field, and the steam clouds rising from the Geysers are prominent above the surrounding hill area. Guests enjoy the rural atmosphere and wine buffs can take advantage of the wine tasting at small wineries located along the back roads of the Russian River Wine Trail. Other diversions await the guests -- the river, the redwoods, Lake Sonoma and Warm Springs Dam are just a few miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing