We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick and Press Thumbs Up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Geyserville B&B and Inns
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pick and Press Thumbs Up”
Reviewed September 26, 2007

My wife and I attended the Pick and Press event in Sept '07 and had a wonderful time! Cosette and Ron are wonderful hosts and we were sad to leave. The property is kept up very nicely and is perfectly located for exploring the upper Sonoma Valley. I would recommend the Hope-Merrill or Hope-Bosworth Inns to anyone.

  • Liked — Comfort and location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NoSlackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Geyserville is not a large place, just a short section of old store fronts along a road that dances along side 101. An advantage of the location is quick access to the Alexander Valley and the north end of Dry Creek. The notable Santi restaurant is a five minute walk and highly recommended.

The Hope B&B is actually two properties on either side of the road. The east side has 4 rooms. The main property on the west side has 8 rooms and is easily the best victorian property on the street. Two story, maintained, nice gardens. It is also quite easy to pick out numerous items needing attention. Signage indicates year 1870 construction.

On the main property you will find: an ample sized parking lot, a backyard vinyard, a clean pool with furniture, a large vegetable garden, the original front house and a second structure appended to the backside. The main property size is likely around 1/2 acre. The front house ground floor has the a front parlor, the dining area, perhaps one guest room, the kitchen and office and an enclosed veranda with comfortable seating. Another four guest rooms are upstairs with 10ft ceilings. The appended building has a suite downstairs and two rooms upstairs with 12ft ceilings. Rooms are basic with no TV, mini-fridge or romance ammenities. My room had a wicker sofa and lounge seat suitable for reading.

We arrived during a stretch of unusually hot weather and it was evident that house cooling was a problem. Most likely the walls and ceiling lack modern insulation, consistent with other reviews about winter heating and noise control. Retrofitting modern insulation can be difficult and installing modern environmental systems are often blocked by preservation zealots. The owners had taken temporary measures for cooling which we found acceptable and adquate.

As noted elsewhere, breakfast is served at the common table at the fixed time of 9AM. So on a busy weekend you can be sharing food and chatting with many other guests. A little later into this the host will come in to provide some recommendations for winer touring. Conversation easily diverges into local folklore and personalities. The host appears to be plugged into the community and occasionally organizes mini social events. On one evening, a free wine tasting with a guest speaker from a local winery. That got a turnout of 20 guests. On another evening, a BBQ, which I could not attend due to a conflicting booking at Cyrus.

This B&B provides a victorian environment for people who don't need to be downtown Healdsburg, 12 minutes away. I can recommend it for those who can appreciate or tolerate the rustic. For those truly in the slow lane, it is sort of possible to treat it as a mini-resort and hang out all day.

  • Liked — Easy access. Victorian property.
  • Disliked — Hot room during hot summer weather. FIxed breakfast time.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank J_Robison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2006

Spotted by driving out of Healdsburg , its out of the way, & you will have to travel
into Healdsburg for food & entertainment.
Excellent Victorian style inside .
Owner is nice, prehaps slighty manic .
Breakfast is unusual but all home cooked; communal table , with required
introductions may not suit all .
Other visitors seem from SF, on wine tasting weekends .

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2005

First, I have to say that I have never felt more "at home" or comfortable at any other lodging -- whether B&B or hotel, and the owners weren't even there! The lady who was running the inn in their absence was extremely nice and inviting to my husband and I. Whenever she saw us (either leaving or coming in), she made a point to ask us how we were and if we needed anything, and then just chatted with us for a bit. Without her, I think this inn would have been on the average level.

The outside of the inn is beautifully decorated, with a side area for sitting and a heated pool in the back. The inside of the lower part of the inn is nicely decorated with a lot of "period" touches. Lots of antiques. They provide free internet accesses on the veranda, and an "honor" bar for wine, beer and sodas. They even provide a communal refrigerator for the quests.

Our room was nice, but a bit too much for me. We stayed in the Victorian room, and the wall paper is an obnoxious blue. The rug was very worn, and some of the decor didn't match each other at all. The bathroom has a clawfoot bathtub w/overhead shower. I really liked the charm of the bathroom (which was very large, by the way). Our room didn't have a TV, but I knew that was going to happen -- but if you're a TV person, you should rethink staying here. The room is extremely cold in the morning/night, and although there are lower floor heaters, the room takes a long time to warm up.

We had a good room position for the inn because we were right at the beginning of the hall. The walls are pretty thin, so we could hear people coming up the stairs. We had someone next to us on our second night, and I didn't really hear much, but if anyone decided to be noisy, then you'd have a problem. You can also hear people downstairs during the communal breakfast.

When we arrived, the light above the stairway was out, so it was hard to see anything up there. It wasn't fixed by the time we left, either. The stairway is really steep, so we were concerned about this.

Overall, I would recommend this inn because what it lacks (in my opinion) is made up in so many other ways. It was a pleasant experience, and I think based on the price we paid, we got a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jzarate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2004

B&B's are a relatively new lodging experience for me but Hope-Merrill was outstanding. Beautifully decorated with an inviting heated pool in the backyard. It's in a quiet location (no highway/street noises) but close to large number of great wineries. The hosts truely make you feel welcome. Breakfast was delicious and filling. At the end of the meal, Cosette shares her knowledge of the areas wineries with her guests and will make reservations for you. Her recommendations were excellent; don't miss the tour at Michel-Schlumberger!

Helpful?
5 Thank anne408618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geyserville
0.5 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
289 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
6.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
487 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
570 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 21253 Geyserville Ave, Geyserville, CA 95441
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Geyserville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Geyserville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in Geyserville, a small town in the fertile Alexander Valley, where the traveler will enjoy some of the most spectacular views of the wine country in California. Nothing is more beautiful than the vineyard scene, and the vineyards of the north coast of Sonoma County are some of the most magnificent in the world. The Inn offer a grand view of Geyser Peak, the worlds largest geothermal field, and the steam clouds rising from the Geysers are prominent above the surrounding hill area. Guests enjoy the rural atmosphere and wine buffs can take advantage of the wine tasting at small wineries located along the back roads of the Russian River Wine Trail. Other diversions await the guests -- the river, the redwoods, Lake Sonoma and Warm Springs Dam are just a few miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hope-Merrill House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing