We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wine, friendly staff, nice setting”
Review of Geyser Peak Winery

Geyser Peak Winery
Ranked #14 of 28 things to do in Geyserville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of California's oldest and most award-winning wineries, Geyser Peak was founded in 1880, a pioneer in Sonoma County. Our winery consistently garners some of the most prestigious awards in winemaking, including Winery of the Year and Winemaker of the Year honors. Its outstanding team of winemakers and viticulturalists are noted for fruit-forward,food-friendly wines from prime vineyard sources in Sonoma County. We invite you to visit our new winery location on Magnolia drive in Healdsburg and experience Geyser Peak wines first hand.
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good wine, friendly staff, nice setting”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've visited Geyser Peak several times and we always find it to be an enjoyable tasting experience. The winery is in a nice building, the staff has always been friendly and there is a large selection of wines, many of which aren't found in stores. The wines are good. They will be moving to a new location close to Healdsburg within a couple of months so we are glad we made this one last visit to the current site.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good wines here.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Many of the Geyser Peak wines are available in stores, but the winery has some that aren't, and they are very good quality. Tasting room is not crowded and service is friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chazkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great fun.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We dropped in to Geyser Peak's tasting room during our recent Sonoma County trip. Very friendly service, and excellent wines. The wine-tasting fee was within the usual range for tasting rooms in the area. BUT: we had a copy of Wine Country magazine (free at many area hotels), and took advantage of a 2-for-1 tasting offer in the discounts/special offers section of the magazine. Wonderful offer, and much appreciated by us. Our server was very informative and enthusiastic about the wines, and very friendly. Altogether, a very pleasant stop on our trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryJZemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geyser P, Director of Sales at Geyser Peak Winery, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mary,
Thank you for such a positive review about your tasting experience at Geyser Peak Winery. I'm thrilled to hear you received such great service from our Wine Educators and that you were able to take advantage of our 2For1 tasting. We strive to make each Guest's visit a memorable one.
We look forward to your next visit to Wine Country!

Regards- Tanya Seibold
Director of Consumer Direct Sales
707-265-1481
tanya.seibold@accoladewinesna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting w/ Excellent Wines”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Geyser Peak, after being a fan of their store-bought labels for a while. While we prefer the Alexander Valley appellation, their Napa grape Atlas wines were also yummy. Linda was engaging and helpful! A beautiful outdoor setting, even on this very cold, California winter's day. Be aware, lots of stairs to the tasting room (not sure if there is an elevator).

Helpful?
Thank MistyFog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Really Glad We Stopped In”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

First, I would give the give Geyser Peak Winery a 4.5, if it was available. We stopped at Geyser Peak on a whim after visiting the Silver Oak Winery just up the road. The visit and tasting were very enjoyable. Our server, Nancy, was very energetic and informative as she served us several of the 30+ wines Geyser Peak bottles. The wines ranged from ok (the California Pinot Noir) to very good (the smokey 2008 Petit Verdot) to excellent (the 2007 Reserve Alexandre). Nancy allowed us to taste some of the wines twice to see if there were any we would like to purchase. In the end, we did buy a bottle of Petit Verdot to enjoy later in our trip and we were able to apply the cost of our tastings to the price of the wine. Definitey visit the Geyser Peak if you're in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SheddVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geyser Peak Winery also viewed

Geyserville, Sonoma County
 
Geyserville, Sonoma County
Geyserville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Geyser Peak Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing