We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a Jewel”

Francis Ford Coppola Winery
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Geyserville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Francis puts it best, saying the winery is “a wine wonderland, a park of pleasure where people of all ages can enjoy all the best things in life – food, wine, music, dancing, games, swimming and performances of all types. A place to celebrate the love of life.”PLEASE NOTE: Due to our food preparation permits, we are unable to invite pets inside the winery gates (including our pool area), with the exception of service animals. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wow, what a Jewel”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have wine tasted for 40 years and been to wineries all over the world and this was one of the most surprising. It has a swimming pool! Outdoor bar, cabanas, it looks like a swanky hotel right out of Hollywood. Go inside and the wine tasting is great, they have some really good wines. But the BEST thing about this winery, it is like visiting a Hollywood museum, Mr. Coppola has his academy awards and other awards on view. The desk from the Godfather, the car from Tucker and lots of pictures of the Godfather movie. Such a treat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank christeenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    191
    65
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Daytime Resort for the Whole Family”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a destination in every sense of the word. There is a winery with the usual wine tasting and tours, both of which are excellent. Add to that an outdoor bistro next to a pool, bocce ball courts, and a world class restaurant--hard to ask for more from a day-trip excursion.

Haven't eaten in the restaurant yet, but have enjoyed excellent lunches in the pool area. Today we took the winery tour followed by a private wine tasting and that was unarguably the best ever--and we've done these all over the world.

Add to that the small museum featuring mementos of Coppola movie memorabilia, and you've got a winning combination. I agree with MegamomSeattle's review: "So go-eat-drink-and enjoy a few hours at Coppola's...."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobnClaudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"An offer you can't refuse"”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently I had the pleasant surprise of being invited to The Coppola Winery. After arriving on the property and meandering through the restaurant it happened. I fell in love! In love with the movie artifacts from all of Coppolas movies. In love with the vintage auto "TUCKER" ! And then the over the top luncheon that was served. Definetly an Italian food orgy of the senses. To review each course or each plate would take a day to write about. The wine, the food, the ambiance all make up the perfect place to visit. When I return to the Sonoma area I will again visit the Coppola Winery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rickramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not your typical Winery”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a day in Sonoma to visit wineries and chose Copplla, mainly because we knew the name, but also because we wanted to have lunch and their restaurant had good reviews. Our lunch was delightful, on the patio on a warm August afternoon overlooking the vineyard. All four in our party enjoyed their meal with a delicious glass of wine. We took the time to visit the museum which included the Godfather desk and chair (my highlight) and a number of Francis' oscars on display. We did a quick wine tasting, checked out the pool area (beautiful) and then had to leave for our next winery. Coppola is definitely not typical, more commercial than most, but is most definitely enjoyable. Highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRider_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yes-yes-yes”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This easy to find winery, off 101, sits on a hill with beautiful views of the area outside and Director Coppola's movie memorabilia inside. Even without a reservation, we enjoyed a patio table and attentive service. Didn't notice anyone unhappy with their meals as I surveyed the tables in hopes of eying what I might want for lunch. Went with a great salad and gave in to the zucchini fries :)
The displays and items for sale are unique and fun to peruse. Bought some colorful cups and saucers! Then we wandered the grounds and thought I was @ a Coppola resort. Seriously? A pool? The poolside serving was as good as main restaurant. Maybe you only have time to sit at the bar for a glass of something and enjoy. I am told its $125 for a cabana and $25 for "lawn" space, while using the pool. Bocce courts were not being used when we walked through but were enough to host 6 games I'd guess. They have a small open air stage where they have salsa dance lessons during the week and I imagine other activities.
So go-eat-drink-and enjoy a few hours at Coppola' s villas. He's a great host!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MegamomSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Ford Coppola Winery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Francis Ford Coppola Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing