We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab cake benedict...?!”
Review of Hoffman House

Hoffman House
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Geyserville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Jamestown, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Crab cake benedict...?!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ate breakfast at the Hoffman House on combined deal with the Inn next door. Breakfast was very good, staff was friendly and the building is very pretty. I had crab cake benedict with gruyere benedict sauce, and it was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient and Solid”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Food was good, though given the bar set by other eateries in the area, it was nothing to write home about. Had a pulled pork sandwich and sweet potato fries. Both were good. Went again for breakfast, and again, good...but just that.

The reason for the rating is mainly due to service. When the wait staff found out that we had a "voucher", the attitude changed markedly. They went from friendly to tolerant. The change was so noticeable that it made the meals a bit uncomfortable. I've never understood how a place can sign on for something like that, then be resentful when someone shows up to try it? So, because of that, I'll be looking for another place to try when I return...too bad really.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We were hungry on our drive from Napa to Eureka. I was also carsick. We stopped for breakfast. They had ginger ale! It was just what I needed. My hubby had the 3-egg omelet and I had the vegetarian eggs Benedict both were great. It was quiet and very clean. Prices seemed high but we haven't gotten used to California prices.

Helpful?
Thank Suzybee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent food, but a bit annoyed.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were eating there because of a Travelzoo voucher we had gotten with the hotel next door. The food was good, standard breakfast and lunch fare. The server we had both days seemed very annoyed. I know we were using a voucher, but they had put them out there and we still tipped over the automatic 18% gratuity. They would have gotten 4 stars with less attitude. They had solid food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food for Breakfast”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Enjoyed good service and excellent food for breakfast. Located in a old home this restaurant is a must for breakfast when in the Geyserville area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rickc316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffman House also viewed

 
Geyserville, Sonoma County
Geyserville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Hoffman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing