We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Recommended experiences in and around Geyserville
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
35
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
35
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visiting the area take pictures great guide nikki horses horseback oaks heritage barn ride trail helmets novice trees landscape hospitality birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile


We were camping in Cloverdale over Labor Day 2019 and decided to take a drive out to check out Lake Sonoma. Stopped at the visitors center and drove out to the lake to take a look. Spotted a building from the road sitting above us on the hillside and decided to explore. What a pleasant surprise when we pulled into the parking lot and saw “Bar open Sign”. There’s a sign over the entrance to the compound that says “The Ranch”. It was hot and a cold beer sounded like just what we needed. The bar is in the large 2000 SF barn that caters to weddings and music events during the summer. Great owners David and Nikki were warm and friendly. We ended up spending over two hours just chatting and having a couple of beers. Nikki takes riders from novice to seniors over ninety on horse back rides on trails around the lake. The barn accommodates large events like weddings and music events. The beer was cold and the conversation with owners David and Nikki was an enjoyable break in our day. David and Nikki, thanks for the great conversation, the cold beer and a chance to just relax and enjoy a very pleasant afternoon! We will definitely keep you in mind the next time we’re up that way. Wishing you much success on your new venture!!! Thanks guys!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank livingitupoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Great experience. Lovely views of the lake. Suggest going during the week. Remember this is a horse ranch not a night club so dressing appropriately is important.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019

This week we went for our second ride at The Ranch at Lake Sonoma. It was fantastic. We chose the Heritage Oaks Ride for the views, the fun and because it was the longest ride available. Nikki (owner along with her husband David) was our guide again. Nikki is an excellent leader. She knows her horses, her equipment, the trails and the entire Lake Sonoma complex. She knows plants and critters on the trail, in the trees and in the sky and history of the area.

My friend and I are experienced riders and we could have ridden all day long. The trail was secluded, but well maintained and had views and lovely groves with shade.

If you like to ride, you will love the guided rides at The Ranch. If you are tentative about riding, but want to have an adventure, relax. You are in good hands and you will have a memorable experience.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank gcgal1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

My sister & I grew up riding my cousin's horses in Marin County, and have gone on organized trail rides much of our lives. Riding at David and Nikki's The Ranch at Lake Sonoma was a highlight. We were taken aback by the quality of The Ranch, the horses, the trails, most of all, by our informative, experienced guide, Nikki. We will return!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiB2356, Manager at The Ranch at Lake Sonoma, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We look forward to seeing you again on the Heritage Oaks!

Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

It was a loveley trial and the views are gorgeous.
My husband were a little nervous as he only been sitting on a horse 3 times.
As soon as we met Nikki all the nervousness disappeard.
She was easygoing and loveley.
The horses Roney and Snickers were well mannered.
We could not go on the trial we had booked, because of a tree had fallen down, but we got the money back as that one was longer.
Thank’s to Nikki my husband conscidering continue
horsebackriding.
Afterwards we stopped at wineries along Dry Creek

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 794anettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiB2356, Manager at The Ranch at Lake Sonoma, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Thank you so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews