We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living on past reputation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gasquet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patrick Creek Lodge and Historical Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gasquet
Reviewed October 7, 2007

The best part of our stay at this location was the drive through a beautiful redwood forest (Rt. 199) getting to it. We were not expecting the Ritz because we had read previous reviews however, we did expect a friendly staff and a clean establishment. What we found was a receptionist that was having to do it all. She was the receptionist, the hostess, the waitress in the restaurant with little time to be friendly. The carpet in the lobby was tattered and worn and did not appear to be clean. Our room was furnished with items that looked like they had been discarded from other hotels. The coffee pot in our room did not work and when we went downstairs to get a cup of coffee from the restaurant, we encountered a very surly, uncaring staff member who immediately began barking orders as to what we could or could not do without even asking if he could be of assistance.

We were pleasantly surprised at the menu choices and the quality of our dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReeceBrandon_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2005

For the part of you, that wants to go back in time and slow life down a few notches, Patrick Creek Lodge is like going back to the sixties when people were friendly and life was simple. Walk in to a rustic lodge setting where the staff goes out of there way to make you feel at home complete with tips on the local attractions like Howland Hills Drive and Stout Grove.

Enjoy draft beer and cocktails sitting at a great bar with fabulous 60's craftmanship, gorgeous views of the creek and buttes surrounding the inn. Dinner is superb and is priced right, only slight blemish was that breakfast seemed expensive although plentiful. Rooms were decent, no TV, no phones, no internet. Remember, this is the 60's! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lakedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Penngrove, CA
17
Reviewed March 31, 2005

I have been staying at Patrick Creek Lodge for a number of years now; almost always in the winter during the steelhead season.
This is a blend of a beautiful, historical old log lodge with some of the most sought after amemities of today's travelers.
From the huge fireplace in the very abundant lounging area, to the invitingly comfortable couches and chairs to sit and prop your feet and enjoy the fire, to the gourmet meals and helpful, friendly, knowledgeable staff, you can't go wrong here.
The grounds are beautiful and clean. The rooms are well appointed and they have a varied selection depending on your needs or tastes.
For the fisherman you are in the heart of some of the best wild steelhead country in the nation.
For the nature enthusiast, outdoors lover you will be in heaven. In either the summer or the winter or in between, this is a little piece of paradise on the banks of Patrick Creek.
Try it, you'll go back!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2004

I had read a lot of disappointing reviews of lodging in Crescent City, but I was having trouble finding a place for my family of 5 to stay en route from Ft. Bragg to Crater Lake. I thought I had it figured out when I read about the Patrick Creek Lodge's two-bedroom cabin. Sadly, when I called to make a reservation, the cabin was booked. However, the owner/manager/mom of the lodge offered me two adjoining rooms for the price of one.

The rooms were just big enough for the king-size beds plus a small couch. Nothing too fancy, just "Up North" style decorating and fairly old bathroom fixtures. There are no TVs or phones in the rooms, but we were on a no-TV vacation anyway, so it really wasn't an issue. We had a "lovely" toilet-overflowing experience which freaked out my 11-year-old germ-freak daughter, but the staff was quick in cleaning everything up.

There is a nice lighted, paved path along the river which starts at the lodge's parking lot and runs into the campground next door. In the daytime there are lots of nice spots to sit by the river.

The restaurant was surprisingly good for this spot in the middle of nowhere. We all had huge gourmet-style breakfasts, and the waitress was helpful and friendly.

In summary, this is no Ritz, but a pleasant, friendly place that's a great stop if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank hoffman_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Djamaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thoschdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Julieparis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patrick Creek Lodge and Historical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patrick Creek Lodge and Historical Inn

Address: 13950 US Highway 199, Gasquet, CA 95543-9611
Location: United States > California > Gasquet
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gasquet
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Patrick Creek Lodge And Historical Hotel Gasquet
Patrick Creek Hotel And Historical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing