We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice Cream Heaven”
Review of Joe's Italian Ice

Joe's Italian Ice
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Heaven”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

There are plenty of flavors to chose from and you can sample it. It is the creamiest ice cream I have ever had. Gelato from Italy has nothing on this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bacong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    29
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best place in America for their italian ice/cream”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I want to own one of these! I am bummed I didn't try it until the last day of my visit. It would have been my daily spot! how can I get one of these in Eugene Oregon?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GetWisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Long Line but Goes By Fast”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

There's always a long line here, but it goes by pretty fast (the line as your drive on Harbor Blvd is what drew our curiosity to this place). I had no clue what to order here, so I just had a Rocky Road Ice cream on a cone. I tried my brother's Joe Latti, and it was pretty good. Apparently, it tastes the best with the vanilla whipped and some other flavor, so maybe I'll try that next time. Very good stuff. It was different. Special, almost. And to think it came here all the way from Philly!

I think they only hire high schoolers or college kids because they're all very nice and none of them seem embittered by life. Just let them know it's your first time if it is. Otherwise you'll be sitting there in line clueless as to what to get or do. There's a few seats outside and very little parking (there is a neighborhood close by that you can probably park at real quick). Reasonably priced and tasty treats. Plus free samples! And they take credit cards. Score!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buffy0182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't miss !”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Hyatt down the street for the last 4 years and I am sad to say have never tried Joe's until this last trip. We tried the brownie sundae which is loaded with brownie bits, hot fudge and a soft serve ice cream to die for. For my taste I would have liked less brownie and more hot fudge sauce. Sundae big enough for 2 -3 people to split. Service is quick and staff is very friendly. So many choices, so little time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shermansj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love Joe's”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

There's nothing better to ending a day on a high note than hitting up Joe's at the end of the day, or in the middle of the day either. Finding Italian ice is really hard and finding a Mom+Pop shop that has it is even harder. Flat out, they're right outside of the Anaheim Resort and are staffed with some of the most awesome and friendly folks you would want to encounter. The quality of the ice is just out of this world and Mike, the owner, I swear, he could do now wrong with the location and amenities. Parking kind of isnt the best, but the associates keep the lines flowing and I have never been there when it's completely dead. I think I might order them for my next office meeting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Italian Ice also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 
Garden Grove, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 
Garden Grove, Orange County
 

Been to Joe's Italian Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing