We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites North Orange County
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
USA
Level Contributor
306 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a nice 2-niught stay here - came into town specifically for a Yankees game and the TMZ tour as well as a trip to Ikea. We were welcomed by Tyler, who was friendly and helpful. (Just surprised he didn't know which suites had a connecting door!) Our suite featured a large flat screen TV and DVD player (great for watching Red Box movies!), full size fridge w/ice maker, dishwasher, 2-burner stove, nice bathroom, recliner, queen bed and lots of cupboards/drawers/shelves. Table service was also provided for 2. Housekeeping does not clean daily but you are welcome to obtain more towels and supplies from the front desk. There are free self-laundry, workout room and honor sandwiches and drinks. No pool - which for us meant less kids. There is a grill area outside. For me, the height of the computer chair and the height of the table area were not a good match.

Traffic note - there's a median out front so you need to think of an alternate way around the block so you are on the right side of the street to pull in. You can only turn right out of the parking lot.

One thing noticed - housekeeping used parking spaces near the lobby door, which I believe should be reserved for guest use. Something for management to consider. Most employees are required to give the best parking areas to their guests, not their employees.

Room Tip: The above rating system wasn't working very well - as noted above there was no pool or restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    35
    14
    16
See reviews for
41
21
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O Fallon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hotel was under renovation, clerk said was on the Candlewood site but I booked through the parent IHG site and it was NOT indicated. Paint & carper glue smell everywhere. Painters decided to paint the onsite pantry area so could not use my $3.00 coupon, nor would they take it off the bill. No remote control to TV, the one delivered had no back (the batteries kept falling out). Toilet ran all night, shower pressure very low. Admittedly, a Candlewood isn't a Hilton, but even by that standard, this was a miserable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TWC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidal Junction, California, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have stayed here about a dozen times in the last 3 years. The stay is great and always the same folks. The are renovating rooms (Dec-Jan12) which means the rooms will be even nicer. Parking is good and well lit. Freeway close.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boots K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Rooms are well stocked.small gym,and food products available.okay for long term.but watch outt if you have allergies.rooms need a major renovation,and housekeeping needs to get strong smells under control.maybe clean carpets? I would rate this 2 stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolaqueen
Level Contributor
384 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I spent several months at this candlewood suites. Good area and lots to do close by. Staff was accomodating and helpful. I only had one true issue where someone would prop open back door allowing ppl without a key to come inside. I also had my credit card used on a website and products shipped to LA. This hotel is the only time I had used this new card and they made an impression of card for any incidentals. Maybe they had nothing to do with it but too much of a coincidence for me.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nolaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

-'s - The hotel carpet could have been a little cleaner on all floors, both in the rooms and hallways. They accept pets, but the pet area ran out of poop bags and were not replaced during my entire 2 1/2 week stay. Housekeeping only cleans the rooms on specific days - not often enough - and if you need clean towels you have to take the soiled ones to the front desk before they replace them. They are not specific or clear enough on when, and how much your credit card will be charged. The charges come totally by surprise.

+'s - It's free to wash and dry your clothes, you need only purchase detergent and fabric softener. They accept pets, up to 2 and the cost is not that expensive. The concession/laundry/exercise area is very convenient, espcially when you run out of stuff, though the prices are a bit inflated. Complimentary coffee is an added perk. Parking is easy with plenty spaces.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdonawho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Candlewood Suites in Garden Grove California is one of those hotels that you start off by trying to convince yourself your choice wasn't that bad. At $100/per night you try to say its a good value. It isn't. I asked for a king suite. I got a double queen room. I asked for non-smoking. I got a room that smelled of something between a chemical mix of cleaner spray and rancid cigarette smoke. The clerk at the front desk put on a good show of disgust and distain, mid her throaty smokers cough. But at least they were kind enough to say that my credit card wouldn't be charged. I departed with a lie, stating that I may stay there sometime in the future. Sorry Candlewood. Your hotel sucks. That was my short and vivid experience.

Room Tip: A full hotel leaves only the worst rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racerd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
2,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove
#13 of 19 in Garden Grove
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
1,747 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Meridian Inn & Suites, Anaheim-Orange
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Garden Grove - Anaheim South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites North Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites North Orange County

Property: Candlewood Suites North Orange County
Address: 12901 Garden Grove Boulevard, Garden Grove, CA 92843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites North Orange County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Anaheim South is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy it in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). Candlewood Suites Anaheim South is located in the Anaheim Resort Entertainment district. We are close to all the excitement of Disneyland and California Adventure, only 2 miles from Downtown Disneyland and the Anaheim Convention Center. Sports fans are only 3 miles from Angels Stadium and Honda Center. The Block at Orange and the Garden Walk offer dining and shopping are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites North Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites North Orange County Hotel Garden Grove
Candlewood Suites Garden Grove
Candlewood Garden Grove
Garden Grove Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites North Orange County Garden Grove, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing