We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No-frills” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No-frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

If you are coming here, the first thing you might want to do is to reiterate to your transfer agent/cab driver/etc that you are going to HGI and not Hilton Anaheim ("Big Hilton"). HGI is just down the same road but it is 1, 2 blocks away and you won't want to lug your bags that far.

Location-wise it is really average - about 15-20 minutes' walk to Disneyland (I am assuming most visitors come here for that). Then again, Big Hilton is just half that distance, plus there are a lot of hotels/inns here to choose from, so...

The area shuttle pops by the HGI block (a cluster of inns) but you might want to check out the very peaceful neighborhood instead which we loved for its serenity (it could have been the weather). Joe's Crab Shack is a street away and many eateries line the way to Disneyland and the intersecting W Katella Ave - so no worries about breakfast/lunch/dinner.

The hotel itself is sparsely-furnished but well-kept, and access to the business center is free for last-minute checks on the internet. Ample parking available right by the entrance. Rooms are a decent size with microwave ovens though an airpot or bottled water would have been great - apparently these are not the norm in hotels here.

Service is about as no-frills as the hotel. Directions and bookings are helpful but one of them was totally stumped when I asked for an adapter for my non-US chargers which don't fit the power sockets. I tried a couple of other names and descriptions so the blank and rather unhelpful responses weren't so nice.

If no one else has anything better to recommend around Disneyland then HGI could be it. Try online for sub-90/night deals which I thought was very good.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    286
    103
    36
    13
See reviews for
407
117
32
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Joaquin County, CA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

We chose this hotel primarily because of its proximity to Disneyland and its advertised special "comfort sleep" system beds. Both my husband and mother-in-law have bad backs and this seemed like a huge plus (also I am pregnant and need a comfortable mattress). Trust me- they are awful! Waaaay too firm despite having an adjustable dial. It's like sleeping on a sack of concrete. If you adjust it to "soft," instead of being 100% rock hard, the mattress will cave in somewhat, providing you with a little divot to sleep in (and yes- it still stays pretty hard).

If you wish to book adjoining rooms, be advised that they may or may not be able to honor your request even if you call ahead way in advance. We ended up moving rooms after one night in order to get adjoining rooms.

The free breakfast that was also a factor in our choosing this hotel was more limited than we thought- eggs/bacon/potatoes or pancakes/bacon only. The food is just OK- neither remarkably good nor awful (the eggs were a bit overcooked). The staff is nice and if you wish to substitute your hot breakfast voucher for the cold breakfast buffet (cereal, toast, fruit, etc.) they will let you do that. Also, the restaurant is breakfast only (but there are plenty of other places to eat nearby so that was fine with us).

The rooms are quiet, clean and nice with flat screen t.v.s but the bathrooms are tiny.

Front desk staff is adequate but we had one absolutely stellar guy from the afternoon/evening shift who went above and beyond the call of duty to provide us with excellent service. He was extra helpful and nice, even providing us with a great tip about a Mexican restaurant nearby (La Casa Garcia is within walking distance, has great food and is reasonably priced). Also, you get cookies at the front desk every night...yummy!

Overall- not a bad experience if you don't mind a super, super firm weird mattress.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LabTechMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

After a lot of research on hotels in the Anaheim area, decided to give the Hilton Garden Inn a try, we were not disappointed at all. We stayed 4 nights and our main purpose of staying here wasn't just for Disney, we wanted to have a day on the coast and also go to Hollywood.
Check-in was quick and efficient and we went to out room on the 3rd floor. The room was pretty much spotless and well equipped with fridge, microwave, iron & board, and 32" flat screen TV and neutrogena tolietries. The only thing I would say was missing was an in-room safe. Very comfy beds, a work desk with a cool chair and also another comfy chair.
We chose to have breakfast which was only an extra $6 per ROOM per day which worked out as a bargain as we got full cooked to order breakfast each day served by a very efficient and cheerful lady. You can also have coffee, juice, cereals, fruit, pastries and so on - all in the price. The retail price of this is $12.95 per person, so pre-booking it was a great idea!
The front desk has cookies every afternoon but coffee only in the morning which was a bit odd - better if it was on offer all day.
The pool area was fairly small but well kept and the water temperature was nice.
Wi-fi worked great.
Parking fee of $12 per day not so great, it used to be free as others have mentioned.
All-in -all couldn't fault it apart from lack of a safe and the parking charge.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

Our family and my brother-in-law's family came to Garden Grove to visit Disneyland. We chose this hotel over other hotels because they had a great bed and breakfast rate and free parking (at the time of booking). But FYI, the free parking is no more. I found out that they have started charging for parking ($12 per day) in March. They waived our parking fee because we booked in January. A downside was that sometimes there were not enough parking spots. But the hotel let us park in a curb spot.

We arrived late because we had an evening flight, but the hotel was speedy in checking us in. The rooms were clean and looked newly renovated. Service was friendly and efficient. There was a microwave and fridge in the room. The hotel was really quiet in that you couldn't hear noise from neighbouring rooms. Now the bed...wow...what a comfy bed. I could've slept till noon on that bed. It's probably the best bed I've ever slept in in a hotel (and I've stayed at many 5* and 4* hotels). The only negative with the room is that the bathroom is quite small. Not too convenient when a family of 4 is trying to get ready in the morning.

Breakfast in the lobby restaurant was very decent, with their cooked to order eggs, sausages or bacon or ham, and potatoes, coffee or tea. There was a serve yourself selection of pastries, fruits, juices, toast, cereals. Breakfast was $12.95 pp, but we didn't have to pay as we booked a bed and breakfast deal thru the hotel website. In the evening, there was always a big plate of cookies (the yummiest cookie was the oatmeal raisin).

Overall, this hotel is amazingly comfortable and exceeded all my expectations. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, KS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed here while vacationing at Disneyland. We arrived early on a Friday, but they had our room ready and allowed us to check in. We were able to drop off our luggage and head straight to Disneyland.

The room was very typical Hilton Garden, which I mean as a compliment. It was very clean and fairly spacious. Also, because it isn't a "Suites" hotel, there were fewer families with young children. This was a plus for us and made for very quiet evenings.

Because I'm a Hilton Honors Diamond member, our breakfast was free, but I think it is $13 for the full buffet (less if you go ala carte).

The shuttle to DIsneyland stops in front of the Embassy Suites next store, which was a very short walk. The Hilton Garden front desk sells the one day passes for the shuttle, but if you are using it for multiple days, you might want to pick up a multiday pass at the drop off area at Disneyland - it can save you a few dollars.

The hotel staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. I really felt like they took excellent care of us. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but we mainly ate at the Disney parks during our stay.

  • Liked — Location / Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Husker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

I booked the Hilton Gardens because they were fairly close to Disneyland(about 1.5 miles) and their pricing was very fair.

Parking is free but no free breakfast like Hampton Inn, which is a Hilton Hotel also. Hilton Gardens, Embassy Suites and Hampton are located on the same lot. Shuttle for Disneyland is $4 and leaves every 20 mins from Embassy Suites, it's an all day pass. Family staying at Hampton also received $25 gas card. I didn't book at Hampton because they were $159 per night vs $125 for Hilton Garden. Didn't know about the gas card otherwise I would have booked there!

Since we had a 14 month old, we requested a crib. The hotel uses Pack and Plays as the crib. Not too shabby. The room has a completely empty fridge for you to stock up on your own items. Target is two blocks down so very convenient to purchase drinks and such. Buca di Pepo is located right outside the hotel so you can have a great meal just steps away. I believe the last shuttle to the hotel from Disneyland was 12:20am.

Bathrooms offer Neutragena products. Room was very spacious, having an arm chair, ottoman, desk and pricey Herman Miller ergo chair. Nice LCD TV.

  • Liked — Proximity to Disneyland, shopping, shuttle service, free parking
  • Disliked — no free breakfast like sister hotel Hampton Inn
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willemchea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

PERSPECTIVE: My wife and I were here as a couple, so my comments do not look at this hotel from a family perspective.

LOCATION: Located on Harbor Boulevard, the hotel is less than two miles from Disneyland. It’s situated in a cluster with two other Hilton properties -- Embassy Suites and Hampton Inn -- an easy drive to the restaurants and shopping along and adjacent to Harbor Boulevard.

THE ROOM: The room with one king bed has adequate space -- a couple coördinating their movements around the room will have no problem. Every room has a coffee maker, microwave, and fridge. Drawers and closet space are adequate. USA Today is included in your room price. If you bring your computer, high speed internet access is available in the room and is included in the room price. The shower flow is steady. There was no problem with the hot water. Housekeeping was dependable and performed their duties well. The bed was extremely comfortable. There was a full-length mirror. There was no problem with counter space in the bathroom. The room was soundproofed to the point where you did not hear your next door neighbors and activities in the hallway.

BREAKFAST: The hotel provides breakfast in the dining area off the lobby. You can pay as you go or include it in the price of your room. It is a semi-buffet. You order your main course and beverage from a server. Items like toast, fruit, yogurt are accessed buffet style. We included our breakfast in the price of our room so both the buffet and main course were available to us. I do not know what is available and for what price if you pay as you go.

PARKING: Parking is included in the price of the room. Each hotel in the cluster has its own parking area but you can park anywhere in the cluster. My wife and I travel during non-busy times; we were here during the first week of November and always parked in front of the hotel within easy reach of the front door.

CHILDREN: A significant reason that we chose this hotel was that the reviews indicated that it was quiet without a lot of kids running thru the halls. I remember that another review referred to the hotel as “soulless”. Although the hotel does nothing to discourage families with young children, it doesn’t actively cater to them. The hotel could be moved as is to a location hundreds of miles from an amusement park or other family-oriented activities and be completely appropriate. Although you always run the risk at a Disneyland area hotel of encountering the situation of noisy children with parents unable or unwilling [“Hey, it’s Disneyland and they’re just being normal kids; if you don’t like it, don’t come to Disney.”], the hotel does seem to attract fewer than expected families with children.

FRONT DESK: Always friendly, always answering our local-area-info questions patiently, even researching the answer on line if they didn't know the answer on their own.

SHUTTLE: Whether you drive to Disneyland or take the shuttle is a matter of math and convenience. The shuttle leaves from the front of Embassy Suites three times an hour. The price is $4 per person for an all day ticket. Parking at Disneyland is $12. Shuttle tickets are sold at the front desk.

ELEVATORS: Very efficient -- never an unreasonable wait

INTERNET ACCESS: If you don’t have your computer with you, the hotel provides three computers and a printer in a small room off the lobby. Access is by your room key. The cost is included in the price of the room.

SUMMARY: A quality hotel for a fair price and definitely a place to which we’d return on our next visit to Disneyland.

  • Disliked — We were there for 5 nights -- I don't remember having a complaint
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanamarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Los Angeles - Anaheim - Garden Grove
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove
Address: 11777 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92840-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
#5 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Garden Grove/Anaheim hotel near Disneyland Resort and Anaheim Convention Center. Enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms, HDTV and large ergonomic desks. Other on-site amenities include heated outdoor pool, whirlpool spa and the Great American Grille serving breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove Hotel Garden Grove
Hilton Garden Inn Grove
Hilton Garden Grove
Hilton Garden Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing