We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, but forget about the shuttle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Garden Grove/Anaheim South
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but forget about the shuttle”
Reviewed June 27, 2005

We stayed at the Ramada Plaza hotel in June 2005. We chose this hotel because it looked decent and was priced about $30 to $50 less than other Disneyland area hotels. We are not looking for anything special as far as hotels go, since most of our time is spent at Disneyland.

The hotel is easy to find and is in kind of a run down neighborhood. There was plenty of parking, including an underground garage which we didn't use. We were only staying one night (Sunday). We got there Sunday morning at 8:45 AM to catch the free Disneyland shuttle that runs once per hour.

Bad idea. First of all, they have one 15 seat shuttle that operates once per hour to serve the entire hotel. I had called the hotel a week prior to our stay to make sure we would have room on the shuttle. The lady that answered assured us that she put our name down for the 9:00 AM shuttle. I went to the front desk to check in and the clerk had no idea who we were. He showed me the shuttle reservation list and we were not on there. So instead of twiddling our thumbs for an hour (we couldn't check in that early, and there is nothing else to do there) I decided to just drive and pay the $10 parking fee at Disney. My advice for those who are thinking of staying here is to forget about the shuttle and just drive yourself if possible. It's not worth the headache.

Other than that, the hotel was very decent. We got back to the hotel at 11:00 PM and checked in right away. Plenty of parking. The room was spacious and clean. The television only receives about 10 channels but we were too tired to watch TV anyway. The airconditiong worked fine and there were no musty smells or anything. We received a pass for a complimentary continental breakfast but didn't use it. We did not use the pool, which was laughable. I swear these hotels could take photos that would make a bathtub look like a large lake. The pool was tiny but looked clean. Checkout was a breeze.

By the way, we drove ourselves the second day as well (Monday). You have to make a reservation for the shuttle in the morning AND the evening. With our luck, the shuttle would have been full, had not shown up, we would have been late, etc. The ART (Anaheim Resort Shuttles) are much better for the Disney area hotels. They cost $3.50 per person per day I think but they operate every 20 minutes. Disney is already crowded and stressful enough without having to worry about being stranded there.

Good luck and have fun.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    51
    48
    37
    38
See reviews for
107
20
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2005

It was very slow to check in. Two people were helping one person check in and they did not even bother to acknowledge that we were waiting. We finally had to say something so we can get checked in.
The room was relatively clean. Most rooms on the upper floors had a balcony. Our closet door was falling off the hinge. The worst was that the AC was extremely loud.
Breakfast was bad. We didn't bother after the first day (especially with so many restaurants just down the street on Brookhurst in Little Saigon: Lee's Sandwiches and Boulangerie Pierre). All they had was apples, cheap bread, cheap juice (tampico type OJ), cheap muffins and croissants if you woke up early enough to get some. The only thing good was the boxed cereal.
We didn't bother w/the vietnamese restaurant in the hotel, nor with the small swimming pool and jacuzzi. They had a karaoke lounge which also serves as the breakfast room. They had 2 computers w/internet access but people were always hogging the computers so we didn't use them.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garden Grove hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 2, 2005

I stayed at the Ramada Plaza Hotel Anaheim Area this past week during my Disneyland vacation. The staff were helpful and accomodating half the time, however, several of them did not speak very good English and this was occaisionally a problem. Also, the "Spring Garden Restaurant" advertised no longer exists - instead, there is a "Rex Restaurant" where, again, I had problems with the servers who spoke very little English. Be warned - the continental breakfast consists of toast, cheerios, milk, coffee, and tang.

Also, several of the front desk staff where helpful, others were not, and gave incorrect information (such as when our airport shuttle would pick us up, and where the location of pop machines in the hotel were). It was clear that many of the workers in the hotel did not speak very fluent English.

The staff who did speak fluent English were very helpful and accomodating, and it is unfortunate that others whp worked there did not do the same. With this in mind, the hotel was fairly well-kept, and the rooms were quite nice. But I do not recommend the dining!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2004

This is a good value for the money. We stayed a Tuesday, Wednesday in early June and paid $45./night. I thought it was worth the money and although it wasn't fancy by any stretch, it was clean and reasonably quiet and kept up. It's an older property, so there is a slight mustiness about it, but once we turned the AC on it blew out the stale air and was just fine. If you are used to three star or better, you won't like this...but if you're a motel 6 type (like us) this is right up your alley. It is on the very edge of the Korean district, but that's not a big deal- parking lot and location was very safe and we weren't bothered at all by it. I would stay here again...

Helpful?
1 Thank yayhasplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 30, 2004

stayed here several years ago but my other family have since returned, it is situated in the oriental part of town staff very helpful hotel very clean and breakfast very good would definetly return

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#1 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Garden Grove
#12 of 19 in Garden Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#27 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Palm Garden Inn
#2 of 10 in Westminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,263 reviews
The Colony
Ramada Anaheim Maingate North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Garden Grove/Anaheim South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Garden Grove/Anaheim South

Property: Ramada Plaza Garden Grove/Anaheim South
Address: 10022 Garden Grove Blvd, Garden Grove, CA 92844-1621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Plaza Garden Grove/Anaheim South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Garden Grove/Anaheim South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Garden Grove
Garden Grove Ramada
Ramada Plaza Garden Grove/Anaheim South Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing