We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food”

Carolina's Italian Cuisine
Ranked #8 of 422 Restaurants in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Carolinas we pride ourselves in offering the freshest ingredients possible we do this by ordering our vegetables, meat and seafood fresh receiving deliveries on 5 times a week bases. Our veteran chefs inspect our ingredients daily to insure only the best quality ingredients are used in the meals we serve our guest. So we invite you to come and taste the freshness!
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is good food. Very large portions. Nice attmosphere and good service. The price was reasonable and the dinners came with a salad. You could easily share a meal. We always come here when we go to disneyland.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    59
    16
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Italian food with outstanding, very attentive service near Disneyland”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were looking for pasta near Disneyland because my daughter was running in the Tinkerbell Half Marathon at Disney. We found just what we were looking for in nearby Garden Grove: Carolina's.

The food was good - not exemplary, but good portions at reasonable prices.

But what distinguishes this small restaurant is its outstanding service. Despite being very busy, each member of the staff made it his or her responsibility to provide service to all guests and tables. None of the weird "area" territoriality that we find in some restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing portions of average food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Got take-out here on one night of a Disneyland Visit. The portions were excellent (hint: one portion is enough for two regular people). The quality of the food was god enough - but nothing special.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank IrishWeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pricey but great food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We dined in their restaurant as well as had take out another night, and found coupons to help the bill. Our favorites were: Veal Alla Anthony, which was a breaded veal cutlet, sandwiched with eggplant with Spinach inbetween and then smoothered in Franchesca sauce, and a large portion of penne. Salad, garlic cheese bread, and spinmoni, are included if dining in. The other entree was Lasagna Fantasy, which is 3 types, vegetable, beef and chicken. Both were delicious and way too much food to eat at one sitting. The bill was $46, including 2 cokes, not including tip or coupons. Now, don't get me wrong, the food was very good, but the ambience was just not there. We dined, side by side with another 2 person table, and it was very loud.
The next time, we had take out and ordered Mayka's Eggplant, which is breaded eggplant with chicken and cheese, and the sauce on the side, and chicken alla anthony, which is the same as the above but chicken instead of veal. The total was approx $24 and included their garlic cheese bread. Highly recommend all the items that have been mentioned.
Tips:
Highly recommend reservations on Friday and Saturdays.
Look for coupons in local hotel ads. $10 off 2 dine in entrees with non alcoholic drinks.
Other coupons were there too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BHappynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“GREAT place to take the family”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a funky and fun old style Italian Restaurant. Think Olive Garden with a lot more homey charm. The staff is incredibly friendly and efficient and the food is good. You come here for the overall experience, happy people, good times and a lot of laughter. I ordered the penne arrabiata and loved it. TAKE NOTE: even though the menu doesn't say it, dinner comes with salad and ice cream and all the cheese bread you want so there is no need to order an appetizer because portions are big.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MasonsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina's Italian Cuisine also viewed

Garden Grove, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 
Garden Grove, Orange County
 

Been to Carolina's Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing