We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for family trips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area to your Saves list
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Garden Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must for family trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

So I stay at a lot of hotels. A LOT. The hubby and I like to take the kids on a lot of local vacations and Disneyland is the number one spot for us since it's close to home and we have season passes. I've tried at least 10 different hotels around the Disneyland park and this one is by far the best.

First off, the rooms are CLEAN. We found this hotel because my husband's job put him up for 2 months here about a year ago. During his stay, they steam cleaned the carpets at least twice.

The rooms have a full kitchen and by this I mean a stove top (sorry, no oven), a full sized fridge, full sized dishwasher and all the pots, pans and utensils you need to cook and eat in the room.There is also a table that seats 4 and a good sized livingroom that has a pull out sofa bed. The internet access is free.

In the room we stayed in, there was only one bathroom which was through the master bedroom. I'm pretty sure they have bigger rooms with two bathrooms but we had to take what we got since it wasn't us paying the bill.

Parking is free. There are ample restaurants within very close walking distance (Joe's Crab Shack, Oggies, Bucca Di Peppo, Del Taco, Frutti Tutti frozen yogurt, Coco's ect). Also across the street in walking distance is Target. Nice. You can also walk over to the Starbucks located in the Hyatt. There's a secret entrance through the pool area (;

The pool area is nice with a basketball court, shallow children's wading pool, full sized adult pool (not heated FYI) and a nice jacuzzi. There are tables and chairs and a BBQ area that guests can use. We actually saw one family having a birthday party out there!

The staff is super friendly. They have fresh baked cookies in the lobby at the registration desk.

Now for my favorite part. The breakfast buffet. Every morning from 6:00-9:30 they have a free HOT breakfast buffet. And it's the BOMB. They have scrambled eggs, scrambled eggs with ham in it, bacon, sausage, all the fixings to make breakfast burritos (salsa, tortilla's, cheese, sour cream). Breakfast potatoes and toast, bagels and hard boiled eggs. They have cereal, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, hot chocolate, juice and an assortment of flavored creamers. The best part though is the waffle maker. Every day they have a make your own waffle station and they change the waffle flavors. One day it's a chocolate waffle. Then the next day it's blueberry. OMG. Sooo good!

Here's the tip with the breakfast. Get something to use as a makeshift tray- we used the shallow box from a pack of bottled water. Then grab the pitcher that you get in your room and/or the coffee pot. Leave all the kids in the room watching cartoons and go down and get breakfast for everyone. Use the tray to load up and fill up the pitcher with juice or milk to stock the fridge in your room. Don't feel bad about doing this. Everybody will be doing the same thing. Everyone comes down to breakfast with their pitcher and tray. Trust me. We stayed there two months.

Another great perk to staying at this hotel is the dinner nights that hotel hosts. I think it's done Monday-Thursday. The hotel offers a free dinner. It's really basic- baked potato bar which is potatoes with all the fixings like chili, cheese ect. Then another night they had burgers by the pool. It was hot dogs and burgers with chips and soda. They did a fast and fresh salad buffet. It's not great, and you might have to run out for something more filling later but it's a nice gesture and it's good if the kids are hungry and you need a quick fix. And it's free.

They also have a little movie area where they have movie night for the kids. We never went to this but I know they do it.

This is a great hotel and the value is wonderful. I've priced this hotel against others in the area and for what you get it's the best. I highly recommend staying here, especially if you have kids or an extended stay. Very kid friendly. And I can't stress enough how great the staff is.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilypad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Palm Desert, CA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed one Friday night in a two bedroom suite on the 3rd floor in February while attending the Bon Jovi concert at the Honda Center. The room and breakfast were very satisfactory. And the free parking is an added bonus. However, the front desk exprience needs improvement.

Upon arrival at 11:30 AM, there wasn't anyone present at the front desk. After a few moments passed, another employee saw us waiting and said he would find someone. We requested early check in on our reservation because we live only 90 minutes away and wanted to shop, have an early dinner and then return to the hotel for a break before leaving for the concert at close to 5 PM. We also requested High Floor on our profile.

The desk clerk told us we would not be able to check in prior to 4 PM. We made a comment about how we needed to freshen up and change prior to the show. She took the cell phone number and said she would phone when we were able to get into the room. During conversation, she mentioned the hotel wasn't very busy and I said "oh, I guess then we should be able to check in earlier". She replied that the two room suites were very popular and it took time to clean them. I think maybe not enough housekeepers on hand was closer to the truth.

Around 3 PM, after a wonderful meal, we went to the hotel and we were able to check in. So much for the cell phone call. We didn't mind the 3rd floor, even though we prefer the higher floors.

During check out at about 8:30 AM Saturday AM, there was only one person at the front desk. She was helping a gentleman and on the telephone. It was obvious she was on hold, but she never said "can I help you?" to me while she waited for her caller. After witnessing another man just drop his key card at the desk, I did the same without comment.

One note......the parking lot is fairly small, and I had read another reviewer's comment about having to park in the Hyatt's overflow parking lot at night when the Residence Inn's was full. Nothing was mentioned about the parking by the clerk at check in, and when I brought it up, I was told that we'd need a voucher to give to the Hyatt if we ended up in their lot. Fortunately, we were able to find one spot at the back when we returned about 11:30 PM, but we would not have known to ask for a voucher without previously reading the Trip Advisor's review.

The staff were friendly, but additional training is needed to bring them up to Marriott's usual high standard.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in January and it was like a home away from home. I did so much research before booking this as I wanted our holiday to be just perfect and this hotel did not disappoint! It was clean and comfortable and addressed all of our families needs - a laundry, grocery service, swimming pool, spa, fitness centre and basketball court. The hot buffet breakfast was fabulous - it really is of a high standard with a great selection including make your own waffles which our children enjoyed! The little homely touches like complimentary apples and warm cookies offered at the reception desk made this a lovely place to come back to after our special days at Disneyland. Also other little extras include social nights where they offer appetizers and kids movie nights with complimentary popcorn! I was concerned about the location originally as you cannot walk to Disneyland but we were happy to drive especially with a 2 year old and parking was only $14 per day. The hotel is located next to the Hyatt and Hilton Hotels about 3 miles from Disneyland. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any family looking for a welcoming, comfortable home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltime017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Very nice hotel - breakfast being included in the rate is an added bonus. Good selection at breakfast buffet and we stayed at peak times over Xmas & New Year but always got a table at breakfast time.
We had a 2 bedroomed suite which was much larger than I thought it would be and is more spacious than it looks on the website. Popcorn and toilettries always replensihed every day and housekeeping was very good. Kitchen facilities in the suites was very good and plenty of crockery, pots etc and large stove and microwave.
Pool and jacuzzi close at 10pm prompt everynight and pool does not open until 8am - not so good if you wanted a swim before breakfast.
Never had to wait too long for lifts - and at busy times we used the stairs!!!
If you want to use the internet and computer at the hotel it will cost you $5 for 15 minutes but free connection in the rooms if you bring your own laptop.
Coin operated laundry - although quite a few machines out of order during our stay, but didn't have to wait too long.
Reception staff very friendly as were the breakfast staff - in fact all staff we encountered were very friendly!!!
We only had one night when the hotle car park was full and we had to park in the next door hotel which our hotel organised.
All in all a Great stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack-is-back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Califonia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We go to Disneyland once a year and have stayed at quite a few of the nearby hotels. We got a great rate at this hotel so it was definitely a good deal for us this trip. There is free parking which is nice, so many of the hotels have a steep parking fee now. .They also have a breakfast buffet which is better than a continental breakfast but not much better and having a suite with the kitchen is helpful. The down side for us was the noise of the heating/air ducts. There was a loud humming noise that was always present. I found it very difficult to sleep. I would recommend the Homewood suites right down the street instead. Their breakfast is better, it's much quieter and just an all around higher quality hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbuttersnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Our 3rd stay here. We love the family suite, the fact that the kids have their own room, TV and bathroom. We utilize the full kitchen, get groceries @ Target which is a block away or down the road @ Vons or Albertsons. The rooms are large and spacious but need updating. One of our TV's did not work and the pull out bed for our 12 year old was rickety. The breakfast is consistently good, well maintained and stocked, lots of variety, patient and attentive staff. Some families and kids are out of control - feeding frenzy with unsupervised kids at the buffett lines - drives me nuts! Christmas time was very busy, we often tried to be @ breakfast by 7:15, ate downstairs, then took breakfast upstairs for our kids who were sleeping. By 7:30 it was extremely busy. Pool towels need to be replaced. Pool was closed Christmas Day which was a bit disappointing. Close to Starbucks @ the Hyatt! Evening Hospitality Food & Beverages could be improved. Super slow elevator!!! Free Parking is excellent!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights during a recent trip to the USA. We arrived into the country at 8am and after the 14 hour flight from Australia we were all exhausted. Not only did the lovely lady at front reception let us check in super early ( think her name was Katherine ?? ), they also checked in on us the next day......and had cookies delivered to the room , complimentary. Rooms were great, breakfast was good and plentiful, we never had a problem finding somewhere to sit . An overall fabulous experience. I don't normally write reviews but felt I had to share my experience.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kimandgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden Grove
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#1 of 18 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#3 of 114 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#4 of 18 in Garden Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 2,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
Wyndham Anaheim Garden Grove
#3 of 18 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area

Address: 11931 South Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Garden Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garden Grove
#2 Business Hotel in Garden Grove
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garden Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Anaheim Resort Area suites are so well equipped and fully furnished, you’ll never have to set up house twice. Tastefully decorated, our guest suites are as comfortable as they are clean. With all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable and convenient they are the perfect home away from home. We offer a mix of 200 suites that fit your every need. Our suites feature a king or two queen beds and queen-sized sofa sleeper with a large living area and full kitchen. Two-bedroom kid's suites feature a bunk bed in a separate second bedroom. A queen sofa sleeper is available in the living area adjacent to the kitchen. All suites offer complimentary high-speed Internet and fully equipped kitchens. In our Anaheim Resort Area Suites we Offer:• Coffee and Tea Makers• Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access• Dual Line Phones with Voice Mail and Wake-up Service• Full Kitchens with Stove, Microwave, Toaster, Refrigerator and more• Hairdryer• Individual Climate Control• Iron and Ironing Board• Kids Suites Available w/ Bunkbeds• Pillow Choice (Feather Down/Foam)• Pool Views from 50% of the Rooms• Sofa Beds• Silverware, Pots, Pans, Serving Dishes, etc.• Work Stations with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Hotel Garden Grove
Residence Inn Garden Grove
Garden Grove Residence Inn
Residence Inn Anaheim Resort Area Garden Grove, Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing